We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bolton Castle

Features Animals
Nr Leyburn, Leyburn DL8 4ET, England
+44 1969 623981
Call
Website
Save
Book In Advance
More Info
US$59.65*
and up
Yorkshire Dales Day Trip from York
More Info
US$42.61*
and up
Full-Day Yorkshire Dales Tour from York in Winter
More Info
US$65.33*
and up
The Yorkshire Dales Tour from Windermere
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Now one of the country’s best preserved medieval castles, Bolton was originally built, by Sir Richard Le Scrope, to rival the finest and most luxurious homes in the land. Completed in 1399, its scars bear testament to over 600 years of fascinating history including involvement in the Pilgrimage of Grace, Mary Queen of Scot’s imprisonment and a Civil War siege. Bolton Castle was a luxurious family home as well as a defensive fortress and, despite being partially ‘slighted’ by Cromwell’s’ men during the Civil War, the Castle is preserved in outstanding condition with many interesting rooms and features to discover including the Old Kitchens, Dungeon, Solar, Nursery, Armory, Great Chamber and Mary Queen of Scots’ bedroom. About one third of the rooms are fully intact and the rest of the Castle is almost completely accessible giving visitors great insight into its turbulent past. You will find a raft of sights, sounds and smells which bring the castle to life and make for a truly memorable visit. There is something for everyone to enjoy as you discover what life was really like during the Castle’s heyday through our authentic room displays, wonderful falconry experience, archery demonstrations, children’s trails and costumes and hands on medieval games and activities. Daily Activities 11.30: Bird of Prey Display 13.45: Archery Display 15.00: Bird of Prey Display 16.00: Wild Boar Feeding Time Tea Room Situated in the beautiful and atmospheric Guest Hall, our tea room serves a selection of homemade and locally produced hot meals, soups, sandwiches, snacks and freshly baked cakes. Afternoon tea is served from 2.30pm and our Yorkshire Tapas board is always a popular choice with visitors. Experience a friendly welcome and excellent service in the castle’s impressive Guest Hall, where visitors have enjoyed hospitality for over six hundred years. Gardens The Castle gardens have been restored along medieval lines and include a well-stocked herb garden, rose garden, walled vineyard, bowling green and maze as well as the birds of prey on their weathering ground and our bee observation hive (seasonal). Children will love finding the centre of the maze or trying our Garden activity trails.
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good32%
  • Average9%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“wild boar” (114 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Suggested Duration: 2-3 hours
LOCATION
Nr Leyburn, Leyburn DL8 4ET, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1969 623981
Write a ReviewReviews (818)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"wild boar"
in 114 reviews
"falconry display"
in 57 reviews
"mary queen of scots"
in 56 reviews
"birds of prey"
in 119 reviews
"tea room"
in 70 reviews
"aysgarth falls"
in 17 reviews
"herb garden"
in 13 reviews
"bee house"
in 12 reviews
"re enactment"
in 9 reviews
"car park"
in 45 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 54 reviews
"information boards"
in 21 reviews
"gift shop"
in 33 reviews
"cakes"
in 23 reviews
"entrance fee"
in 24 reviews
"yorkshire dales"
in 13 reviews
"family ticket"
in 11 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 804 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited for first time, what a fantastic place. Stunning castle, scenery is amazing. Unfortunately too early in the season to watch any falconry displays and the gardens were a little empty, but that was to be expected. Will definitely be back during the summer months.

Thank shaunparkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017

I had researched local catles to visit and found I liked the look of this one, it was a lovely castle with parking right next to it. It was very interesting walking around especially the outside areas which were set up with props to show...More

Thank Mia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline N, General Manager at Bolton Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017

Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit to Bolton Castle. We take all feedback seriously to endeavour to constantly improve on our visitor experience. Our caterer is looking at the menu prices for next year to attempt to make the pricing as realistic as...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017 via mobile

A beautiful castle stunning grounds. The only down fall was not enough information in some of the rooms as how it was like other castle we have visited. The other downside was the smell of the kitchen when you entered the castle. Overall not a...More

Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline N, General Manager at Bolton Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2017

Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit. We take all comments seriously so we can strive to continuously improve our visitor experience. We hope to see you at Bolton Castle again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2017

Visited as part of a group tour. It was interesting walking through the castle especially during the Renaissance Festival. This added flair to what would've been just another boring castle tour. Nice to know Mary, Queen of Scots lived there for sometime. Overall, an educational...More

Thank KCC09876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline N, General Manager at Bolton Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Thank you for your feedback, I am so pleased you enjoyed your visit to Bolton Castle. We hope to see you here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017

We did not go inside as was closed for the winter. So it was free of charge to look around outside and go into the maze and some of the gardens. Not bad for free! Gorgeous setting with wild boar to look at. Public loos...More

Thank SaraMann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline N, General Manager at Bolton Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Thank you for visiting our lovely gardens. We hope to see you again when the Castle is open so you can enjoy the full experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017

Brilliant castle, lots to see and do. Nice gardens, birds of prey, lovely cafe and nice views. My son also went on a school trip there which was very exciting, they did a medieval banquet etc. We didn't get one when we visited 😂 But...More

Thank Leighrache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline N, General Manager at Bolton Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Thank you for your lovely comments, I am so please that you and your Son enjoyed your visits to the Castle so much. We hope to see you all again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

Really enjoyed my visit here there were a range of attractions such as falconry (although this was canceled because of wind when I went) and the castle was really exciting with lots of information. Only point was that if you can't walk far it is...More

Thank ERusto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline N, General Manager at Bolton Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Thank you for your feedback, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to Bolton Castle and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile

Great castle that has lots to do, from wild boars to birds of prey and lots of history with spectacular views

Thank hull123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline N, General Manager at Bolton Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Thank you for your lovely comments, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to Bolton Castle and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017

I didn't want to leave the Dales without visiting Bolton Castle in fact it was high on my 'must do' list for visiting & painting. I got there despite detours due to flooded roads only to be turned away with my assistance dog as he...More

1  Thank Siobhan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline N, General Manager at Bolton Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

I am so sorry you were disappointed with your visit. Unfortunately we cannot allow dogs due to the Falcons being on site. We do allow dogs in the tea room area and have facilities such as a water bowl for them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017

Very interesting to see al the things there. Some of the castle has fallen down but some is preserved. Well worth a visit. Some old stairways to climb. Could be exciting for children to see the exhibits

Thank seebee1609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline N, General Manager at Bolton Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Thank you for your comments, I am so pleased you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PreviousNext
12345681
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Leyburn Hotels
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
509 reviews
3.96 km away
Burgoyne Hotel
266 reviews
8.37 km away
The Buck Hotel
286 reviews
8.38 km away
The White Swan Hotel
444 reviews
8.68 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Bolton Arms
341 reviews
.29 km away
The Wensleydale Heifer Restaurant
1,267 reviews
2.88 km away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
110 reviews
4.02 km away
Mill Race Teashop
231 reviews
4.33 km away
Nearby Attractions
Fox and Hounds Inn
44 reviews
2.95 km away
Aysgarth Falls
1,460 reviews
4.34 km away
West Burton Falls
129 reviews
5.18 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
kezza582
28 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Rache 2 | Reviewed this property |
I don't think dogs are allowed unfortunately.
0
Votes
Lynne M
1 June 2015|
Answer
Response from Katie S | Property representative |
Hello, Thank you for your interest in visiting Bolton Castle with your family. The Castle is a slight walk downhill from the car park however you could drop your mum off at the front door if you wished. The only issue is... More
1
Vote
opinionated_bucks
8 April 2015|
Answer
Response from Katie S | Property representative |
Thank you for your enquiry, The roads in the village are public highways and are not privately owned. My understanding is that it would not be illegal to park on them, unless it was causing an obstruction. However the... More
0
Votes