We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Ye Old Ferrie Inn, Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6BL, England
Phone Number: +44 1600 890027
Website
Today
09:00 - 17:30
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 09:00 - 17:30
Description:

Based in beautiful Symonds Yat on the banks of the Wye at the 15 century...

Based in beautiful Symonds Yat on the banks of the Wye at the 15 century pub Ye Old Ferrie Inn, Wye Canoes are the Premier Adventure Company in the Wye Valley and provide highly Experienced and Professional Canoe and Kayak Hire, River Guiding, Paddlesport Instruction, Climbing, Caving, Bushcraft, Gorge Walking, Mountain Biking etc. With the best location and the most experienced Instructors we have everything you need for an unforgettable experience for a half day, full day or multi-day trip anywhere along the Wye Valley and both Bunkhouse and B&B accommodation is available. We hold an AALA license for Youth Groups and are an approved BCU Centre and Duke of Edinburgh Activity Provider.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 96 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 70
    Excellent
  • 12
    Very good
  • 3
    Average
  • 6
    Poor
  • 5
    Terrible
Row, row, row your boat...

This was just great fun! We got lucky as we walked up (two of us) and were able to nab a place, but they have three set off times a day and it gets busy so it might be safer to... read more

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 August 2016
Lydia H
Add Photo Write a Review

96 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 96: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2016

I texted Wye Canoes, as advertised on their promo material. No response. Perhaps they had a full complement of tourists that day. Perhaps they don't need the business. Whichever the case, they're lacking in common courtesy.

Helpful?
Thank Vim-igar
Stuart W, Owner at Wye Canoes Ltd, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your feedback, I'm afraid that at this time of year (i.e. school hols) we get hundreds of emails, phone calls and texts every day and unfortunately there simply isn't enough time in the day to respond to all of them, we do however try really hard to make sure we return every phone call every... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2016

This was just great fun! We got lucky as we walked up (two of us) and were able to nab a place, but they have three set off times a day and it gets busy so it might be safer to book. You can also hire by the hour. The price (we did the half day) was great! They kit... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lydia H
Stuart W, Owner at Wye Canoes Ltd, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed your trip and thank you for the feedback, we hope to see you again sometime. More 

Essex, Vermont
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

Had a terrific time. Really helpful team who kitted us out, bussed us to the start and gave a clear and concise safety/directions talk - they love what they do and want you to love it too and have a great experience

Helpful?
Thank Suzanne B
Stuart W, Owner at Wye Canoes Ltd, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed your trip and thank you for the feedback, we hope to see you again sometime. More 

Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2016

Camping in the area and decided to try canoeing for first time with our 13 year old son and dog 'Splash' for the first time. Really friendly and helpful staff from booking process to end of the day. Exceptional value and can't wait to do it again.

Helpful?
Thank Kerry G
Stuart W, Owner at Wye Canoes Ltd, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and really glad the whole family enjoyed the experience including the dog. Hope to see you again sometime. More 

Church Stretton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2016

My wife and I pre-booked a full day's canoeing down the River Wye and paid £53 to cover the canoes, kit and transport back to our start point...Kerne Bridge. We arrived early as we had never visited this start point before. We parked in the car park of the Village Hall but fortunately were warned that their gates would be... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Bigjohn2016
Stuart W, Owner at Wye Canoes Ltd, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and apologies again for the delay in the meeting at Kerne Bridge, school holidays are so so busy and sometimes unexpected delays unfortunately happen, but I am thankful for your patience and really glad you had such a good day in the end and we look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Ruardean, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2016

Had a fantastic afternoon with two friends and their two boys. The trip was really well organised with a great safety briefing and advice on paddling (we were novices) and it was brilliant being dropped off at our departure point so we could canoe back to where the car was parked. Really helpful and friendly team supervising us on the... More 

Helpful?
Thank justinebold
Stuart W, Owner at Wye Canoes Ltd, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed your trip and thank you for the feedback, we hope to see you again sometime. More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2016

If we had actually canoed down the Wye as planned this would have been a totally different review despite the poor customer service. Unfortunately, my friends and I were accused of drinking (at 9am!) and turned away.. In the instructors own words 'you've all clearly been drinking this morning, we've been watching you' which we found offensive to say the... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Mark J
Stuart W, Owner at Wye Canoes Ltd, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We do not cancel trips lightly and I am sorry that it ruined your trip but we have a very strict policy on alcohol consumption, I was the person that finally decided not to allow your group to paddle after having 3 other members of staff express their concerns independently about the alcohol issue). It... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2016 via mobile

Took our four year old daughter today, she had a blast. Can't tell you how beautiful it was all along the river, takes around about an hour and a half, but there are plenty of little places to stop and have a snack. Thank-you again, we had a wonderful time.

Helpful?
Thank Siân P
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2016

Had a great day canoeing down the Wye *despite* surprisingly terrible customer service from the Wye Canoes team. Other than collecting our money, there was compete disinterest in our experience. No meet & greet (how easy would it be to say hello?!). Left hanging around for 45 minutes at the start with no explanation. Reluctant advice on where to find... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Murky14
Stuart W, Owner at Wye Canoes Ltd, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and I'm really sorry that you didn't enjoy your experience but I feel you may have the wrong company! there are quite a lot of canoe companies on the Wye with the word "Wye" in their name, We always say hello to everyone that arrives, if we are really busy such as a Saturday morning... More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2016

We hired a two man canoe for three day trip from Hoarwithy to Redbrook. It was the first time we had done something like this and any worries or doubts were soon put to rest by the professional way that the staff at Wye Canoes welcomed us. The equipment was in good condition and staff very helpful, giving loads of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
Stuart W, Owner at Wye Canoes Ltd, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed your trip and thank you for the feedback, we hope to see you again sometime. More 

Travellers who viewed Wye Canoes Ltd also viewed

 

Been to Wye Canoes Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Wye Canoes Ltd staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?