We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Atlantic Beach Golf Club

1 Fairway Drive | Atlantic Beach Golf Estate, Melkbosstrand 7441, South Africa
+27 21 553 2223
Call
Website
Save
Review Highlights
great golf ...great food

what a wonderful time we had here...a most interesting golf course with the springbok wondering... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
peejay030
,
moira northern ireland
Bare fairways and large ugly sheets of plastic on fairway.

Course is in very poor condition. Fairways are bare and large sheets of plastic to encourage grass... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
londoneagle
,
london
Read all 95 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good32%
  • Average8%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“pro shop” (4 reviews)
“links course” (4 reviews)
“golf balls” (3 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
Hours Today: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
LOCATION
1 Fairway Drive | Atlantic Beach Golf Estate, Melkbosstrand 7441, South Africa
CONTACT
Website
+27 21 553 2223
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

what a wonderful time we had here...a most interesting golf course with the springbok wondering around...if you are senior , big discounts on a Tuesday....also, try and eat here in evenings..at 99 rand ...and double for 99 r. on Saturday's !!!....you cannot beat that...and the...More

Thank peejay030
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Course is in very poor condition. Fairways are bare and large sheets of plastic to encourage grass growth litter the course making it look more like a tomato field. Took helicopter trip next day and saw plenty of lush fairways elsewhere so somehow others courses...More

Thank londoneagle
ABGC d, Public Relations Manager at Atlantic Beach Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Many thanks for your review, our course is a Links style course and typically has hard dry fairways however, we too have been affected by the water shortage. We have identified areas on some of the fairways that required re-grassing and have reseeded with a...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The course was in pretty poor condition with grass missing on large areas. Also the surrounding is quite dull with just about all houses painted in a dull grey color. Nothing to return to.More

Thank Rolf H
ABGC d, Public Relations Manager at Atlantic Beach Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Rolf Many thanks for your review, our course is Links style and as such we do typically have hard and dry fairways. However, recently we too have been affected by water shortages due to the province-wide drought. Where possible we are regrassing areas on...More

Reviewed 14 January 2018 via mobile

Went to the clubhouse for a couple of drinks yesterday evening and unfortunately the waiter just seemed like he couldn't wait to get home and shut up. Would not return. Beautiful views though.

Thank AnnieMch
Stephan V, F&B Manager at Atlantic Beach Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi there, our restaurant closes at 8.30pm and the bar at 9.00pm. We hope that you would join us again soon and we do apologize for any inconvenience.

Reviewed 2 January 2018

We ate here twice whilst staying at a local guesthouse on a visit from the UK and I would highly recommend it. The views of Table Mountain across the golf course as the sun went down were stunning. There were also loads of springboks on...More

Thank Sc0utFinch
Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

We love Atlantic Beach Club restaurant. After they got to know us the service and friendliness went from a 5 to a 10:) The hamburgers are spot on. Husband had fish and chips which he loved. Had some Lamb curry which was excellent. One of...More

Thank ZeldaBotha
ABGC d, Public Relations Manager at Atlantic Beach Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Many thanks for your review Zelda, we will pass your feedback onto our F&B team and look forward to seeing you both again very soon.

Reviewed 3 October 2017

We dined here with friends and found the experience very pleasing. The venue has a view over the golf course and has modern decor. The Service was great and the food very good at reasonable prices. Portion sizes were adequate and of high quality. It...More

Thank Aeraille
Stephan V, Manager at Atlantic Beach Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Hi Aeraille, Thank you for your compliments. We appreciate your feedback at Atlantic Beach Country Club and we hope to see you back again soon!

Reviewed 27 August 2017

.....We were so looking forward to celebrating our 41st Wedding Anniversary here with a Groupon Three course meal voucher but was Disappointingly turned away on Saturday 12th November 2016 as they Informed us then on the spot; that they were no longer honouring any outstanding...More

Thank Vernon W
Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

Loved staying on the edge of the golf course. Took a long stroll and encountered birdlife and 4 friendly springbucks. The clubhouse dinner and service were highlights, with large, deliciously prepared meals.

Thank Pro-romance
Reviewed 29 June 2017

It's really a top class golf club and I can't wait to spend two nights in the resort in September for my daughter's bday.

Thank 637madelynj
PreviousNext
1234567
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Melkbosstrand Hotels
Atlantic Beach Hotel
62 reviews
1.62 km away
The Gregorian on the Sea
29 reviews
2.15 km away
Blouberg Manor Boutique Hotel
55 reviews
6.09 km away
Blue Peter Hotel
110 reviews
6.33 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Cafe Orca
440 reviews
1.88 km away
Damhuis
488 reviews
1.70 km away
The Hart Breadhouse And Eatery
66 reviews
1.69 km away
Castella Amare Restaurant
197 reviews
1.81 km away
Nearby Attractions
Surf Big Bay
86 reviews
6.68 km away
Loisico Tours and Excursions
57 reviews
7.69 km away
Cape Town Surf School (Pty) Ltd
8 reviews
6.24 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
RobinsonRussell
27 December 2017|
Answer
Response from ABGC d | Property representative |
Hi Robinson, many thanks for your message. We have new Taylormade sets available for hire at R450 per round. We hope to see you in the near future and should you have any further queries or booking enquiries please feel... More
1
Vote