We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Phillip Island Nature Parks - Penguin Parade

Certificate of Excellence
Features Animals
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 1019 Ventnor Rd | Summerlannds Estate, Summerlands, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
Phone Number:
+61 3 5951 2800
Website
Book In Advance
More Info
US$49.43*
and up
Phillip Island Ultimate Penguin Eco Tour or Skybox Experience
More Info
US$33.16*
and up
Phillip Island 3 Park Pass: Penguin Parade, Koala Conservation Centre and...
More Info
US$125.48*
and up
Phillip Island Tour Including Phillip Island Penguin Parade

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 3,418 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 1876
    Excellent
  • 720
    Very good
  • 266
    Average
  • 117
    Poor
  • 89
    Terrible
Bring Binoculars for an Excellent Experience

We loved the Penguin Parade even though we sat in the grandstand. But our experience was increased exponentially by bringing a good set of binoculars. Since the penguins emerge... read more

Reviewed 17 March 2017
Alexandrasmom817
,
Lexington, Massachusetts
Add Photo Write a Review

3,418 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 3,068: English reviews
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
161 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2017

We loved the Penguin Parade even though we sat in the grandstand. But our experience was increased exponentially by bringing a good set of binoculars. Since the penguins emerge from the ocean down the beach from the grandstands, you'll be able to see a lot more if you bring binoculars. Also, dress warmly (we were there in February) and get... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alexandrasmom817
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2017

Disappointed at the cost of entry for the penguin parade. Unless you pay the premium rate you are too far away from the main action as the penguins arrive to beach. Very costly and aimed at overseas visitors. Hundreds of visitors every night reapin g a huge income - where does money go? Can't possibly be in research. The centre... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank keith t
PhillipIslandNP, Manager at Phillip Island Nature Parks - Penguin Parade, responded to this review

Dear keith t Thanks for taking the time to post your feedback and we appreciate your comments. We're sorry to hear that this is the impression you had from your visit and you did not have a positive experience. We believe that for less than the price of a movie you have the opportunity to be part of a unique... More 

Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2017

Philip Islands is a two hour drive from the city and my partner and I booked AAT Kings half day tour for this. The driver was our guide and very very informative and entertaining. Kept us throuroughly engaged all the way through and kept pointing at natural wildlife along the road as we went along. The attraction itself is way... More 

Helpful?
Thank Madel T
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2017

We took an overseas visitor to the Penguin Parade and paid the extra to enter the bunker ($60 each). This was money well spent as it gets very cold outside even on days that reach over 30oC. You get to see the penguins through glass and can go to the outside viewing area and hear them calling to each other.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul0411
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

We did the tour with Grayline and it was excellent. Certainly recommended for families with kids. The bus was roomy and comfortable with some videos to kill some time while traveling. Our driver guide gave lots of interesting and helpful info and seemed to go out of his way to ensure everything was done right. The moonlight sanctuary is great... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank David R
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

I visited the Penguin Parade over 20 years ago. It was a very simple affair. Went back last December and was horrified how commercial it has become. All sorts of different prices and they really pack in the tourists. I just hope that all the money they take in goes to caring for the penguins. But we did indeed have... More 

Helpful?
Thank Liesl132015
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

My husband & I attended the Penguin Parade on a mild evening in March 2017. The weather was beautiful while we were on Phillip Island, hot days & mild evenings. We booked Underground tickets so regardless of the weather we could get up close to the little penguins while being comfortable. As it turned out, the night was very mild... More 

Helpful?
Thank Helena B
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Took four grandchildren to see the parade. Did the undercover experience and was then able to see the penguins arrive above the deck. Parking and viewing was terrific, and spending the extra for a great view was well worth it. The weather helped add to a very enjoyable evening.

Helpful?
Thank Neville C
Blackburn North
Level Contributor
11 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

I haven't been here for almost 30 years. Great for kids to see the penguins. Only downside are some of the tourists who come in large groups on buses. They either ignore instructions not to take photos and stand up blocking views for others or the tour group operators don't inform them. Either way they come across as inconsiderate and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Modman68
Santa Monica, Ca.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Those were the words from my adult daughter who has literally travelled the world. She was our biggest skeptic. Having lived in South Africa and seen the penguins there not to mention all the zoos, she had enough of them. Plus it was raining and cold the night we attended the parade. And even in those weather conditions, she still... More 

Helpful?
Thank calalak

Travellers who viewed Phillip Island Nature Parks - Penguin Parade also viewed

 

Been to Phillip Island Nature Parks - Penguin Parade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Phillip Island Nature Parks - Penguin Parade and other visitors
31 questions
Ask a question
Egham, United Kingdom

See all questions (31)

Questions? Get answers from Phillip Island Nature Parks - Penguin Parade staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?