We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Golden Bay Air

State Highway 60 | Takaka Airport, Takaka 7182, New Zealand
Share
Save
Review Highlights
A “must do”

What an amazing experience! The area is so beautiful, this is a perfect way to see even more of... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
DavidandDorothy S
via mobile
Stunning - That's it...

While visiting the Nelson area, we thought about doing something different - a scenic aeroplane... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Kyle M
,
Auckland, New Zealand
Read all 220 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Let us introduce you to the magic of Golden Bay! Take a stunning scenic flight over the great sand-dunes of Farewell Spit, the golden beaches of Abel Tasman, the ancient mountains of Kahurangi National Park or the wild West Coast. Or simply enjoy a direct scheduled flight between Wellington and Takaka and wrap your transport and scenic flight all in one! We also offer flight and shuttle packages to the Heaphy Track and Abel Tasman for both walkers and bikers. Rental Cars available in Golden Bay.
  • Excellent96%
  • Very good3%
  • Average1%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“scenic flight” (34 reviews)
“heaphy track” (60 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Suggested Duration: 1-2 hours
LOCATION
State Highway 60 | Takaka Airport, Takaka 7182, New Zealand
Write a ReviewReviews (220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"marlborough sounds"
in 16 reviews
"scenic flight"
in 34 reviews
"heaphy track"
in 60 reviews
"great service"
in 18 reviews
"golden bay"
in 53 reviews
"great flight"
in 15 reviews
"friendly pilot"
in 6 reviews
"personal service"
in 5 reviews
"these guys"
in 10 reviews
"bad weather"
in 7 reviews
"entire flight"
in 3 reviews
"icing on the cake"
in 3 reviews
"phone call"
in 3 reviews
"wings"
in 7 reviews
"farewell spit"
in 9 reviews
"en route"
in 3 reviews
"booking process"
in 3 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

What an amazing experience! The area is so beautiful, this is a perfect way to see even more of it. Recommend to anyone visiting Golden Bay.

Thank DavidandDorothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

While visiting the Nelson area, we thought about doing something different - a scenic aeroplane tour. Weather generally was OK, not as good as what I am sure it would be in summer but good enough. We got convinced to do a combination flight, joining...More

1  Thank Kyle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018

For our trip in Feb, we booked flights Nelson --> Takaka flight to walk the Heaphy Track, then Karamea --> Nelson four days later. We were asked to pay for everything up front. The second flight was cancelled due to weather. No refunds. Be aware...More

3  Thank MCinAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa S, Owner at Golden Bay Air, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi MCinAuckland - thanks for your review. We do in fact have a refund policy when it comes to weather disruption. In your case, as you say the weather was very poor on the day of your return flight (actually not just affecting Karamea, both...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

My parents and I booked a scenic flight with Golden Bay Air - this was a special occasion to celebrate their 60th wedding anniversary. My parents are from the UK and we visit Golden Bay every year and love the diverse scenery. To see it...More

2  Thank hazelshuttleworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa S, Owner at Golden Bay Air, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Hazel - thanks for your lovely review, I'm glad you and your parents were able to share a special experience for their anniversary. And what an inspiration your parents are - 60 years married is an amazing achievement!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

We just completed a trip to the Heaphy track. We flew Golden bay air from Wellington to Takaka and were then shuttled in to the start of the track. The flight over was great, our pilot Vince was friendly and very capable which helps in...More

1  Thank W2466XYfrankm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa S, Owner at Golden Bay Air, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for your great feedback - looks like every part of your journey went just the way we like to provide it - we agree that we are lucky to have such an amazing dedicated team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018

Thank you Richard, Lisa and pilot David for a stress-free and enjoyable start to our Heaphy Track experience. Great customer service, awesome inflight commentary and "nothing is a problem" mentality. Even lent us a lighter for the huts on track! Highly recommended and would fly...More

1  Thank liz l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa S, Owner at Golden Bay Air, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

You are very welcome Liz - thanks for your wonderful review, glad you had such a good time and an easy experience with us, this is what we strive for with all our passengers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018 via mobile

Very happy with the service provided. With the Takaka road being closed they came through at last minute and dropped us off at the Heaphy Track, without raising their prices. I know that we wouldn’t have been able to do it without you guys.More

1  Thank matthewpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa S, Owner at Golden Bay Air, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks Mathew - yes the time after Cyclone Gita was an intense time for everyone involved, we appreciate your feedback, and we are glad that we still managed to get you to the track. The road is now open, so luckily it is not affecting...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018

I love the little plane that does the route from from Wellington to Takaka. It's basically the size of a Honda Odyssey with wings and it's got all these retro details inside, like the red velvet trim on the doors. It scurries down the runway,...More

1  Thank Erica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa S, Owner at Golden Bay Air, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks Erica - I'm so glad we were able to help in a small way to get to your Dad after the cyclone closed the Takaka Hill road - this is why we offer our service and why it is so rewarding for us to...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

Wonderful service by great guys n girls under VERY trying conditions after cyclone Gita........much appreciated

1  Thank boldy51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa S, Owner at Golden Bay Air, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks Chris, thanks for your review - we were very pleased we were able to help during this difficult time. Luckily the Takaka Hill road is now open again and everything is back to normal - See you again another time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2018 via mobile

Very good communication, excellent customer service, very happy with the offered service. Chrissy is a great pilot, kept us informed and even shared her “secret” fishing spot with us. Thank you

1  Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa S, Owner at Golden Bay Air, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Dan - great review, thank you so much - yes, Chrissy is a gem!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 4 hotels in Takaka
Anatoki Lodge Motel
61 reviews
5.05 km away
Mohua Motels
193 reviews
5.65 km away
The Rocks Chalets
147 reviews
6.27 km away
Pohara Beachfront Motel
137 reviews
8.78 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Wholemeal Cafe
319 reviews
5.23 km away
Dangerous Kitchen
413 reviews
5.25 km away
Takaka Infusion
100 reviews
5.30 km away
The Curry Leaf
79 reviews
5.40 km away
Nearby Attractions
Adventure Flights Golden Bay
189 reviews
.11 km away
Anatoki Salmon
314 reviews
7.52 km away
Pupu Hydro Walkway
109 reviews
5.28 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
_liz_burbage
6 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Lisa S | Property representative |
Guidelines in the TripAdvisor Help Centre confirm you can post a review for an attraction three months after the publication of your last review. And you may write an unlimited number of airline reviews for any given... More
0
Votes
;