We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Explore Orkney Tours

Unit 3 Quarry Road, Finstown KW17 2EN, Scotland
+44 1856 761159
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Beautiful Orkney

We had 9 people in our group. We found Kevin via phone call when we got off the ship. We wish we... read more

Reviewed 28 July 2017
Fcf57
,
Vernal, Utah
Wonderful day

The tour got off to a rough start...there was one other couple and we both had emails from Susan... read more

Reviewed 24 June 2017
J H
,
Castle Rock, Colorado
Read all 86 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent91%
  • Very good4%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
LOCATION
Unit 3 Quarry Road, Finstown KW17 2EN, Scotland
CONTACT
Website
+44 1856 761159
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2017

We had 9 people in our group. We found Kevin via phone call when we got off the ship. We wish we would have found him before our cruise. He took us all for a tour of the sites we wanted to see, and then...More

Thank Fcf57
Reviewed 24 June 2017

The tour got off to a rough start...there was one other couple and we both had emails from Susan saying that the guide would meet us at 8:30..,. we waited and waited. Trevor showed up and realized we were not happy. He was very apologetic...More

Thank J H
exploreOrk, Owner at Explore Orkney Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2017

My sincere apologies for the mix up for the start times for this tour date. On investigation an initial email was sent stating an 0830hrs start which was changed by request from one of the guests to 9am. Trevor arrived at 0845hrs as he always...More

Reviewed 10 June 2017

I would not recommend this tour group for cruise groups, given the frequent times cruise ships are unable to dock. It sounded like a great tour, and we were disappointed to miss. I am sure if we had the opportunity we would have expressed the...More

1  Thank Faroffplaces1
exploreOrk, Owner at Explore Orkney Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2017

Explore Orkney likes to acknowledge all reviews both positive and negative to enhance and improve our tours. The issues appear to be our refund policy and the ability of ships docking in bad weather. We make it very clear to all our guests what our...More

Reviewed 21 May 2017

Our May 1st Caribbean Princess cruise was unable to dock in Kirkwall. The ship's Captain reported high winds and the unavailability of tug boats to provide docking assistance as the issue. Explore Orkney Tours reported no such conditions and the problem lay with the ship's...More

2  Thank clmom
exploreOrk, Owner at Explore Orkney Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2017

Explore Orkney likes to acknowledge all reviews both positive and negative to enhance and improve our tours. The issues appear to be our refund policy and the ability of ships docking in bad weather. We make it very clear to all our guests what our...More

Reviewed 2 March 2017

We had only one day to visit Orkney and we hired a car and driver to make the most of the sights we were interested in seeing. Sue from Explore Orkney Tours met us at the ferry and drove us around the island, making stops...More

Thank Mary Pat D
Reviewed 11 December 2016

We took this tour November 22, 2016. Our guide was very knowledgeable, very personable, down to earth and genuine! We learned so much and a had a great time. We would definitely recommend this tour to a friend. The forecast for Orkney in November is...More

Thank Scrabby2016
Reviewed 28 October 2016

I spent my two days in Orkney with Explore Orkney tours, and I could not have asked for a better experience. It was the end of the season, and I was the only person on the tours both days, but the tours were still run...More

1  Thank JoCombs
Reviewed 27 October 2016

We spent a magical day near Stomness on Orkney with Trevor as our guide. We learned an incredible amount that day about the early peoples who inhabited that area. Trevor was an absolute gem of a guide. We couldn't have asked for a better experience.

Thank Kelley C
Reviewed 20 October 2016

Explore Orkney requires 100% prepayment of the tour cost. The Explore Orkney website indicates that 50% of the tour cost will be refunded if a cruise ship does not call at Orkney. In August 2016 the Caribbean Princess did not call at Orkney due to...More

2  Thank HappyTravels2511
exploreOrk, Owner at Explore Orkney Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2016

Explore Orkney would like to apologize for the delay in processing this persons refund. However this review is not truthful or accurate. We tried on several occasions to contact this person whose emails were being returned. Contact was eventually made and the above explained. At...More

Reviewed 10 October 2016

Wonderful experience! Great to have a small tour and avoid the timing and locations of the larger groups. Family-run business. Our guide, Trevor, was knowledgeable and personable and we enjoyed our day tour. Growing up in the community, he brought a good perspective on life...More

Thank Halekauwila
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Explore Orkney Tours staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit