We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Unit 3 Quarry Road, Finstown KW17 2DF, Scotland
Phone Number: +44 1856 761159
Website

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 80 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 71
    Excellent
  • 4
    Very good
  • 0
    Average
  • 0
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
Two Wonderful Days

I spent my two days in Orkney with Explore Orkney tours, and I could not have asked for a better experience. It was the end of the season, and I was the only person on the tours... read more

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 October 2016
JoCombs
,
Florida
Add Photo Write a Review

80 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 78: English reviews
Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2016

I spent my two days in Orkney with Explore Orkney tours, and I could not have asked for a better experience. It was the end of the season, and I was the only person on the tours both days, but the tours were still run just for me. Orkney is a beautiful, magical place, but the thing that will stay... More 

Helpful?
Thank JoCombs
New Glasgow, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2016

We spent a magical day near Stomness on Orkney with Trevor as our guide. We learned an incredible amount that day about the early peoples who inhabited that area. Trevor was an absolute gem of a guide. We couldn't have asked for a better experience.

Helpful?
Thank Kelley C
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2016

Explore Orkney requires 100% prepayment of the tour cost. The Explore Orkney website indicates that 50% of the tour cost will be refunded if a cruise ship does not call at Orkney. In August 2016 the Caribbean Princess did not call at Orkney due to weather. More than 24 hours in advance, we advised Explore Orkney we would not be... More 

Helpful?
Thank HappyTravels2511
exploreOrk, Owner at Explore Orkney Tours, responded to this review

Explore Orkney would like to apologize for the delay in processing this persons refund. However this review is not truthful or accurate. We tried on several occasions to contact this person whose emails were being returned. Contact was eventually made and the above explained. At no time did we say we were too busy to process a refund. We do... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2016

Wonderful experience! Great to have a small tour and avoid the timing and locations of the larger groups. Family-run business. Our guide, Trevor, was knowledgeable and personable and we enjoyed our day tour. Growing up in the community, he brought a good perspective on life in the islands. Highly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Halekauwila
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2016

We would highly recommend contacting this tour company rather than a ship's agent as you will get to see things the ships agents can not because of bus size. They are very friendly and knowledgeable about the Neolithic and Iron Age history of the area and can weave a story of Orkney's Nordic heritage that was truly eye opening for... More 

Helpful?
Thank JohnSMacNeil
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2016

We recently stopped in Orkney Islands on our cruise ship and they did not offer the shore excursion we wanted. We contacted Explore Orkney Tours to see if they could meet us off the cruise ship (info@exploreorkney.com) and take us to the location we wanted to visit. While organising this we discovered that we could not buy entrance tickets on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Martin D
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 attraction reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2016

Tour included visits to the Italian Chapel, Churchill Barriers, Tomb of the Eagles and Tomb of the Otters. All admissions and lunch were included which made it excellent value for money, particularly as we were the only ones on this tour on this particular day. Our guide was very knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. Would thoroughly recommend this company to anybody.

Helpful?
Thank tony2ft
Inverness, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2016

We were delighted (and fortunate) to have a personal tour with Kevin while visiting Orkney Islands while on our cruise. His professionalism and knowledge were quite evident in his guidance throughout the day as well as his love for the island he calls home. He became an integral part of our lasting experience of Kirkwall and of our memories. Thank... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark k
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2016

We had Trevor as our tour guide on 6th June.We had a great time; not only was Trevor a happy and informative guide but a great storyteller as well. Depending what you what to learn from a tour ; we wanted to learn not only about the sites Skara Brae, Maes Howe etc but also of the Orcadian people and... More 

Helpful?
Thank wijffelsik
Hazleton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2016

I feel very sorry for Pamela H, because none of the 8 of us who were guided and driven by Kevin Flett-Susan's Son, would have complained like she did!! It was grand from the start. Kevin was full of information as he took us to the different interesting and beautiful wonders. He informed us about everything and he also allowed... More 

Helpful?
Thank harriet776

Travellers who viewed Explore Orkney Tours also viewed

 
John O'Groats, Caithness and Sutherland
 

Been to Explore Orkney Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Explore Orkney Tours staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?