We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stonehaven Open Air Swimming Pool

Queen Elizabeth Park, Stonehaven AB39 2RD, Scotland
+44 1569 762134
Website
Save
Review Highlights
A classic!

This is an old-style open air pool - but that doesn't mean it's not good. It's well run, the... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
RealYstyck
Great experience

Visited towards the end of the season. Lovely sunny day made it all the better. It did get quite... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
mrsgav
,
Stirling, United Kingdom
Read all 205 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Huge, Olympic-size open air swimming pool and lido with clean sea water heated to 29°C (85°F). Open daily 27 May - 3 Sept 2017. Quiet swims for adults, inflatables sessions for kids, toddlers' paddling pool, midnight swims in peak season (1 July - 21 Aug inc 2017). Chute (swimmers only) open daily. Sheltered sun terraces, on-site cafe, ample free parking. Day tickets valid all day! 2017 prices: Adult £5.40, child/senior/student with ID/spectator £3.30, family £14.65. Midnight swims £7.10/£4.85/£18.40. Family 2+2 or 1+3. 12-session & season tickets also available.
  • Excellent67%
  • Very good24%
  • Average7%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“salt water” (22 reviews)
“sea water” (32 reviews)
“changing rooms” (23 reviews)
Suggested Duration: 2-3 hours
LOCATION
Queen Elizabeth Park, Stonehaven AB39 2RD, Scotland
CONTACT
Website
+44 1569 762134
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

This is an old-style open air pool - but that doesn't mean it's not good. It's well run, the facilities are quite acceptable, the water is warm and it's good fun.

Thank RealYstyck
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited towards the end of the season. Lovely sunny day made it all the better. It did get quite busy though and we ended up not staying very long because it was so busy.

Thank mrsgav
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

Love my annual visit here! Visited on a Monday afternoon just before it closed for the season so wasn't too busy as kids back at school. Everyone very friendly.

Thank LizD_ABZ
Reviewed 8 September 2017

We found this place and decided it was a great idea to swim,it was very cheap and it was heated.When we got there we got in the pool and it was heated although not hot just warm the salt water was kind of a problem...More

Thank AriPadilla
ElmaMc, Public Relations Manager at Stonehaven Open Air Swimming Pool, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

We're so glad you enjoyed your experience at the Pool but, er, we would suggest the water is not for drinking! Even swallowing the chlorinated fresh water in an indoor pool, or the salt water in the sea anywhere would upset anyone's stomach. Certainly, we...More

Reviewed 1 September 2017

Just wonderful place to be on a sunny afternoon, all the benefits of sea swimming without the worry of pollution or strong tides. The warm water is very relaxing, the only slight downside is that the changing and shower facilities are now a bit old...More

Thank peternI6763DX
Reviewed 22 August 2017

Pool is great for the kids and adults alike. The pool is heated but to be fair it doesn't feel like it when you first go in. All public areas are kept clean but feel the changing facilities could be done with an update. Café...More

Thank KimMacD86
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

Went here as last day of holidays. First time here. Pool is cold but refreshing. We all had a great day here. Great for all ages.

Thank Laurence B
ElmaMc, Public Relations Manager at Stonehaven Open Air Swimming Pool, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Glad you enjoyed your visit Laurence B, but the pool itself should not have been cold! The water is kept as close to 29°C as can be managed but unfortunately we can't do anything about the air temperature!

Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

Fantastic heated pool in a great location, a must visit place for families. Facilities are clean, great value for money if you take a family pass. Only 14.95 for a family of 2 adults 2 children

1  Thank Garvla132
ElmaMc, Public Relations Manager at Stonehaven Open Air Swimming Pool, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Thank you for your kind words and taking the time to write us a review. Much appreciated.

Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

Brilliant day out - regardless of the weather. Took my daughter and a couple of her friends for a swim. There is free parking in the onsite car park. Pricing was good - one adult & 3 kids was priced at £14.35. The pool is...More

Thank RenateBelle
ElmaMc, Public Relations Manager at Stonehaven Open Air Swimming Pool, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Thank you RenateBelle for your detailed review and kind words - very much appreciated

Reviewed 14 August 2017

Swimming here was a real experience, with the Art Deco and old fashioned changing rooms and decor etc. However, we only managed 20 Minutes in the pool as it was far too salty and full of flies. I'm not exaggerating when I say full! Enjoyed...More

Thank minx28
ElmaMc, Public Relations Manager at Stonehaven Open Air Swimming Pool, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

We're sorry your experience was spoiled by flies in the water, minx28. Although we can't do anything about the salty water (how many people complain about the saltiness when swimming in, say the Med? We all expect it in the sea, but perhaps not in...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Bay Fish & Chips
678 reviews
.14 km away
the villa
179 reviews
.90 km away
Station Hotel Restaurant
193 reviews
1.02 km away
Soul & Spice
127 reviews
.60 km away
Nearby Attractions
Stonehaven Beach
270 reviews
.69 km away
Stonehaven Habour
35 reviews
1.06 km away
Stonehaven VisitScotland iCentre
31 reviews
.60 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Roy D
2 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from caroline s | Reviewed this property |
No just turn up. On the dates of the midnight swim
0
Votes