We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Fagurholsmyri 785, Iceland
Phone Number:
+354 894 1317
Website
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Description:

We specialize in Ice cave's and glaciers

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 102 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 67
    Excellent
  • 3
    Very good
  • 1
    Average
  • 2
    Poor
  • 0
    Terrible
Very Accommodating and Great Guide

We booked a tour through Local Guide a few weeks before our trip. I had been in contact with the headquarters before coming because I had a large group. When it came time to book... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
rhyamb
,
Boston, Massachusetts
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

102 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 73: English reviews
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We booked a tour through Local Guide a few weeks before our trip. I had been in contact with the headquarters before coming because I had a large group. When it came time to book, there weren't enough spaces open for my party, so Local Guide opened a few more spaces for us and allowed us to book anyway. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank rhyamb
Aron F, Owner at Local Guide of Vatnajokull, responded to this review

Dear Rhyamb, Thank you for this very kind review. We know the weather isn´t always on our side so where possible we will always try and be accommodating so I am glad my team were able to help you. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, or perhaps some of your friends. Thank you again for taking... More 

Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2017

It was a highlight of our Iceland trip. Staff at Local Guide was very friendly and truly experts / helpful about moving around people on the glacier. Ice caves are a must see if it´s winter and you are in Iceland. We had bad luck with the weather prior to our tour date, so we got to visit a "back... More 

Helpful?
Thank ManeGazzo
Aron F, Owner at Local Guide of Vatnajokull, responded to this review

Dear ManeGazzo, Thank you for this lovely review of your experience with Local Guide. Whilst the weather isn´t always on our side, we try our best to offer alternatives when we can and I am pleased we were able to offer an alternative for you on this occasion. I am glad you got good photos and I will pass on... More 

San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed 22 March 2017

The ice cave was VERY crowded, but we felt like VIP going to such a restricted area. Off-roading in the van just to get to the cave was really exciting. Our tour guide, Guðný, was so adorable! She is so passionate about her beautiful country and is excited to share this experience with others. She was always concerned for our... More 

Helpful?
Thank 123_j_bear
Aron F, Owner at Local Guide of Vatnajokull, responded to this review

Dear 124_J_BEAR Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are pleased to hear your kind words of our guide Guðný and will make sure she sees this. As you mention, the cave can be busy, unfortunately despite starting the tours some years ago, the popularity has increased and other companies are also operating in the... More 

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2017

The main ice cave was super crowded (we did the 13:45 tour), but we were already warned about this. I guess it was also this crowded because the late tour was cancelled due to the stormy weather. But we were still happy to have visited, it's a rare and special place. And the tour guide, Aron, did his best to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amanda L
Aron F, Owner at Local Guide of Vatnajokull, responded to this review

Dear Amanda L, Thank you for your review of the tour you took with me this winter. I am so pleased to hear that I was able to offer you informative information and also I am pleased you liked the second cave we visited. Unfortunately when working with nature the weather conditions can be against us but we will always... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2017

We spent a week driving the southern coast of Iceland, and we made sure to go on one of the ice cave tours that we'd heard so much about. Local Guide seemed to be the most recommended, and after our tour, I can see why. We had Aaron as our guide, and he has been doing this for 8 years... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brian M
Aron F, Owner at Local Guide of Vatnajokull, responded to this review

Dear Brian, Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback of the tour you took with me this winter. We really enjoy taking the 17.00 tour as we find that we are often one of the only companies here at this time and sometimes as in your case we are lucky enough to be alone. I am... More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2017

Apparently, the ice cave has dwindled over the course of several years and the number of folks visiting has risen. Our guide, Snorri, was knowledgeable, fun, personable and showed a love of Iceland's ecology. He also had a real knowledge of digital photography. The cave itself was fairly short and filled with other tours but was interesting nonetheless.

Helpful?
Thank Mark C
Aron F, Owner at Local Guide of Vatnajokull, responded to this review

Dear Marc, Thank you for taking the time to review your tour with us and also to give feedback on our lead guide Snorri who is a very experienced and enthusiastic guide. Unfortunately there has been an increase in tourism to the ice caves over the last few years and despite being the first company to go there, there are... More 

Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2017

Our guide was very nice and told us lot of interesting stories and facts about Iceland. The cave itself was very beautiful and definitely worthy to see even though there were also people from other tours. We had enough time to enjoy it and we took some cool pictures. I would recomment to book the last trip of the day.

Helpful?
Thank Barbora S
Aron F, Owner at Local Guide of Vatnajokull, responded to this review

Dear Barbora, Thank you for taking the time to leave this positive review. We are glad you had the opportunity to view the stunning blue cave and that you enjoyed the last trip of the day with us. Thank you again for taking the time to leave us a review, we appreciate all feedback. More 

Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
155 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

We did look forward to visiting the icecave. I saw many pictures and wonderful reviews. Steini was our guide. A happy guy with a positive attitude. The drive towards the cave was nice. We learned about flattening the tires of the huge jeep. When arriving, Steini made a positive note that "only" 6 or 7 other tours were there. It... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Sander_Yoho
Aron F, Owner at Local Guide of Vatnajokull, responded to this review

Dear Sander_Yoho, Thank you for your review. We have previously contacted you through trip advisor to discuss this with you. If for any reason you did not receive the communication, please contact us at info@localguide.is and we will be more than happy to assist. More 

1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

I booked a 2.5h tour to the crystal cave and was happy i didn't have to spend more time in it... It's for sure wonderful, especially the blue colours of the glacier if there wouldnt be a hundred other people walking around. You have to be happy that you can take a picture of a small piece of the wall... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank petereC2364KG
Aron F, Owner at Local Guide of Vatnajokull, responded to this review

Dear Petere, Thank you for your review. We have previously contacted you through trip advisor to discuss this with you. If for any reason you did not receive the communication, please contact us at info@localguide.is and we will be more than happy to assist. More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

It was one of the best experience in our Iceland trip. Our Guide, Gunni, was too good. She explained everything well. Gave us ample time to explore the cave! A perfect driver! She also clicked pictures of us. A perfect activity for those who dare to explore and walk on glacier!

Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya A
Aron F, Owner at Local Guide of Vatnajokull, responded to this review

Dear Tanya, Thank you for this glowing review of our guide Guðny, I am so pleased to hear such lovely feedback, we are very proud of our guides. Thank you also for the photo of the cave. We really appreciate the time you took to write a review and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. More 

Travellers who viewed Local Guide of Vatnajokull also viewed

Vatnajokull National Park, East Region
 
Skaftafell, Vatnajokull National Park
 

Been to Local Guide of Vatnajokull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Local Guide of Vatnajokull and other visitors
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Local Guide of Vatnajokull staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?