I had booked a one bedroom apartment and we were put in Grancio. It was nicely decorated, but it not only didn't have a view, but also it was right next to the swimmingpool and people on their way to the pool had to walk around it. It sometimes seemed like we were staying in the middle of a playground! The only way to avoid people looking inside the apartment, was to close all the shutters. So we didn't have any privacy inside the apartment, but the outside space was right next to the way to the swimmingpool, so no privacy outside either. A few hours after we arrived, we wanted to leave, especially after I found out that one of the two other one bedroom apartments did have nice views, a quiet location and on top of that a whole private lawn complete with chairs and a marvelous view for exactly the same price as our apartment. When I complained to the manager, all they gave me as compensation was the possibillity to sit in a garden of an apartment that wasn't booked. What I also didn't like was the fact that the cleaning ladies who lived in the house right in front of us, stayed up till midnight talking very loudly on their terrace. Something like that is to be expected when you book an apartment in a town, but not in a location that is advertised as quiet and peaceful. When I tried to communicate with the cleaning ladies, I didn't like the fact that although I tried to speak Italian, they treated me as if I were an idiot for not speaking their language properly. Maybe all this wouldn't have mattered as much as it did if we would have been able to escape from the fattoria during the day, but as we didn't have a car we were not able to reach civilisation during our stay. We did have mountainbikes to our disposal, but we soon found out that it was too hot and the mountain too steep to use those bikes as means of transport.
눇The pool was nice and we appreciated the fact that we got a lift from the busstation in Marsciano on arrival and that the owner was kind enough to bring us to our next destination, Perugia.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Response from Paola A, Proprietario at Fattoria Aquilone
Responded 7 Sep 2018
Dear Caroline, we are very sorry to read your considerations arising from the stay in our farm, but we want to clarify that our structure consists of apartments located in the medieval village of Poggio Aquilone, a small village nestled in the green hills of Umbria from which you really enjoy a beautiful view. Your booking was in August, therefore despite our availability for a change of accommodation, this was not possible because the others were all booked; if at the moment of booking you had specifically requested (as you did for example to ask for information on bicycles) the presence of a garden, we would have assigned you an apartment with outdoor space reserved for you. We have tried to meet your request anyway, making you use the garden of another apartment. Usually our customers arrive with their own car or a rental car; we provide guests with free bicycles to make small excursions nearby and enjoy the natural beauty of the area. During the period in which you stayed, other customers have actually used bicycles. We regret to note that our courtesy and willingness to pick you up at the station, to do the shopping for you and to bring you to the next destination has not been taken into consideration. Best regards. Fattoria Aquilone
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC