We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at Albany Guest House

Room/Suite (6)
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Room review highlights
... seemed only interested in money and not customer service. Room was very clean. But after a rude welcome wished we stayed...
... are always very welcoming and make you feel at home. The room was spotless, on the first floor and facing the front which...
... in making sure my wife & i are completely satisfied with our room and there breakfasts are always hot & plentiful we have...
Featured room amenities
Internet
Wifi

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
Justkeepswimming55 wrote a review Mar 2017
London, United Kingdom7 contributions2 helpful votes
We stayed here and felt very awkward Rooms are large but cold. The owner seemed only interested in money and not customer service. Room was very clean. But after a rude welcome wished we stayed elsewhere
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: March 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Christine B, Owner at Albany Guest House
Responded 3 Mar 2017
Thank you for your comments. Such a shame you didn't tell me that there was a problem with the heating in your room because I would have either sorted the problem or moved you to a different room. When you book a room with us I always say to guests that we are cash only for payment, payable on arrival. In the past not all our guests have been honest.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith T wrote a review Jul 2016
1 contribution
Just spent another excellent weekend in South Wales and as usual we chose the Albany as our base. Steve and Christine are always very welcoming and make you feel at home. The room was spotless, on the first floor and facing the front which wasn't a problem as the double glazing does an excellent job. Breakfast times had been extended as the place was full and they make sure you get your own table, nice touch I thought. Good breakfast is always available well cooked by Steve. Free wifi is also included, very important in this day and age. We will be booking again as soon as I find out the relevant dates.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: July 2016Trip type: Travelled with friends
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Christine B, Owner at Albany Guest House
Responded 16 Jul 2016
It was a pleasure having you to stay. We look forward to seeing you next year. Thank you for a lovely review
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keithhford wrote a review Jul 2016
Basingstoke, United Kingdom1 contribution1 helpful vote
Christine & Steve have always made are speedway weekend that much more enjoyable they have always gone that extra mile in making sure my wife & i are completely satisfied with our room and there breakfasts are always hot & plentiful we have stayed in other B&Bs but this one is a class above the others and this year was our 5th consecutive year hear and as soon as the date is announced for next years event ill be emailing Christine to arrange another great weekend stay with them
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: July 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: we always stay in the annex @ the back and always slept well
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Christine B, Owner at Albany Guest House
Responded 12 Jul 2016
Thank you for a lovely review. It is always a pleasure to have you and Dawn to stay. We look forward to seeing you next year. Steve & Christine
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matt_le_cock wrote a review Jul 2015
chester37 contributions19 helpful votes
I was visiting the Celtic Manor Hotel for a conference, but wasn't keen on paying the room prices, so I consulted TA for the best B&B's in the area. The Albany was ten minutes down the road so an obvious choice; booking in was easy through the website and I had a call from the Landlady to confirm the booking.

On arrival I found it easy to locate from the Motorway, the welcome was friendly without being overbearing and I was advised of breakfast times etc.. They are not happy about you eating fast food in the room, which is fair enough and I was told that I was welcome to use the large dining room and a plate would be warmed if I wanted to eat.

The room was on the top floor, and I had an excellent view over the City and could see the "Transporter Bridge" glistening in the sunset.

A quirk of the Albany was the well stocked library in the communal toilet! - Another point to reference was the absolute cleanliness of the place! I used to have a cleaning business so I know what i'm looking for and I would say that a lot of effort goes in on a daily basis turning the rooms around.

Steve cooked the breakfast which was good of him as he did it before he went to work, I was watching him and thinking, could I be bothered doing that for a stranger before I went to work?, the answer was no :-)

Overall - two genuine people working really hard to offer an affordable, comfortable stay in Newport.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: June 2015Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: If your a light sleeper ask for a room towards the rear of the building as it's on a main road.
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Christine B, Owner at Albany Guest House
Responded 30 Jul 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments. It was a pleasure having you to stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne H wrote a review Jan 2015
Cambridge, United Kingdom25 contributions14 helpful votes
I phoned The Albany following extensive/exhaustive research for a comfortable, clean place to stay in Newport on Sunday evening. I was greeted on the phone by Christine, proprietor, who, on meeting her was as lovely as the voice on the phone! Her welcome made the difference to me at the end of an exhausting journey from Cambridge and I was made to feel 'at home' as soon as I crossed the threshold. The room was a single but had everything I could have needed: wardrobe, tv, desk space, shower, comfy bed and lovely warmth of radiator plus courtesy tea/coffee making facilities. Apart from the comfort of the environment, Christine gave me the 'upshot' of local facilities with regard to pubs, shops, etc. I have to confess that Christine's husband, Steve, cooked me the MOST AMAZING full English breakfast the following morning and he clearly has same dedication and caring attitude as his wife. If ever there was a couple who know how to look after guests, these 2 very special people were perfect! I've booked to return twice in February and it makes visiting, for business, feel like a holiday! Summary? Excellent value for money and service way beyond expectation!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: January 2015Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: I suspect that all rooms are excellent value here!
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Previous
12