We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Gym
at Corallia Beach Hotel Apartments

Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Expedia.com
US$65
US$61
View Deal
SAVE US$4
Booking.com
US$65
View Deal
Hotels.com
US$65
US$61
View Deal
SAVE US$4
Trip.comUS$61
TravelocityUS$61
CheapTicketsUS$61
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Gym review highlights
... in.. or you will have to shower in the cold showers by the pool and get changed there in full view of everybody. My husband had asked to use the gym facilities so that we could shower our baby daughter in private and he was refused because we had checked out...it is worth mentioning here that...
... never been charged on the numerous previous occasions we have stayed there, we then asked about a shower and changing room which we know was the gym to be told they don’t have one we can shower using the pool side showers so couldn’t have a proper shower in full view off other guests and I...
... meal and I think I would liked to have been able to have one. The rooms are great as is the service, everyone is cheerful. I used the free gym everyday which for me was a bonus. The Hotel faces the sea and had beautiful views the front aspect has an equally beautiful view of Cyprus Fir...

Reviews that mention gym

Write a review
Dilly S wrote a review Oct 2018
Derbyshire, United Kingdom3 contributions5 helpful votes
Do not stay here if you want somewhere that actually cares about its guests. I don’t even know where to start! The reception area looks like Bates Motel but not as nice, this gives a negative first impression, but not to take things at face value, we overlooked this... until we got to our room. They had put my husband, 16 month old daughter and I in what I would describe as a glorified cleaner’s cupboard with no balcony or terrace (even thought it is advertised that all rooms will have one or the other). We had booked self catering and there was no kettle, no toaster, one giant pan and a tatty two ring travel hob that was balanced on an old and broken fridge. This travel hob had been crudely wired into the fridge wiring and gaffer taped up and left to dangle over the side of the fridge! It doesn’t take a genius to figure out that this is a major safety hazard, and with a toddler it’s just unthinkable.
The cot they had provided was broken, stained and smelly with a big hole in the side. They brought us a better one when we complained, why not just put the decent one in there in the first place?!
Our family who we travelled with paid the same as us, yet got a room with a balcony and slightly more self catering equipment. Though they didn’t get a dodgy wiring job in their room, they did get the pleasure of a mouldy and leaking ceiling that dripped onto the electrics in the ‘kitchen area’. They immediately traded with us for the night as our room was UNSAFE to stay in with a baby. They did this as when my husband asked to be moved to the type of room we had booked and paid for the receptionist said there was nothing he could do and check in the morning to see if anything was available...as if we hadn’t booked with them 9 months ago!!
After a whole day wasted and at the insistence of Jet2 (who were great and very helpful) we were eventually given two rooms next to each other that were acceptable. The rooms were generally shabby and in need of a good deep clean and improvements... cable tied light fittings, limescale round the taps and shower head, yellowing fixtures and thick dust and grime in some areas to name a few things.
The majority of the staff are rude and unhelpful. If you have a late flight you are expected to pay 50 euros only IF there is a room available for you to get ready in.. or you will have to shower in the cold showers by the pool and get changed there in full view of everybody. My husband had asked to use the gym facilities so that we could shower our baby daughter in private and he was refused because we had checked out...it is worth mentioning here that anybody can walk in off the street and use the hotel pool...but hotel guests cannot use the gym. When we complained about the lack of facilities for guests with a late flight we were told, ‘if you care about your child you would have booked another night’!!!!!
If you want a sea view you are expected to pay an extra 30 euros A DAY. The first place we have ever been to that charges extra for this...it would almost make sense if the accommodation was luxurious.
Some staff members at the poolside restaurant are rude and keep your change without being told (even when it’s 10 euros) this led to an argument and resulted in being picked on poolside for drinking water we had bought ON SITE.
The only good thing about this place is the location...the beach is lovely.
In short, do yourself a favour and avoid this place. I wish we’d never chosen to stay here. Vile.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Room 105 is disgusting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from HotelCorallia, General Manager at Corallia Beach Hotel Apartments
Responded 19 Oct 2018
I know that you have added this headline not from your heart but because you have kept your anger as your behavior against the hotel and the staff was not appropriate since you arrive. When we say that customers are always right this does not go with all cases. You have started your vacation very badly and you have continued until the end of your holiday. that was not our fault and your behavior has been dragged on by the rest of the group. If you think that bad behavior will solve your problems I will not agree with you. To show respect and do not solve your problems I consider this as unacceptable but this has not happened with your own case. to get a real support from a 3rd person this is great but you always need to be careful which one you choose. Probably this person is not the appropriate as they just do their job. The rest of your notes include hotels internal rules which we must respect for its smooth operation. I would like to add something concerning the last paragraph. Not only our location is great but you need to believe that we have the best reputation regarding our behavior and thousands of our customers can’t be wrong!!!!!! You have never given us the right to show you this but probably we will do that next time.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susan w wrote a review Sep 2018
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom3 contributions5 helpful votes
I am a returning guest so know how dated the rooms were but the treatment we received was deplorable.we were given the wrong room on late night arrival a studio apartment we had booked a one bedroom when we complained we were told tomorrow by a receptionist who could do with lessons in manners.we were eventually given the correct room the next day,towards the end we went to ask about a late check out room to my amazement I was told there wasn’t one but we could keep our room for 50 euros I checked on line it doesn’t even cost that much to rent the room for a night.
We declined as we had never been charged on the numerous previous occasions we have stayed there, we then asked about a shower and changing room which we know was the gym to be told they don’t have one we can shower using the pool side showers so couldn’t have a proper shower in full view off other guests and I made sure they knew why I was showering there.
But the best was yet to come while in reception waiting for our transport to the airport we witnessed a new guest rowing with managers about being given the wrong room and she wanted what she paid for she contacted her travel rep and demanded she come and see the room she’d been given the manager wanted 275 euros to move her to the room she had booked.
But while we were still sitting there a couple arrived who were greeted with hugs and kisses by the receptionist and the managers given there keys to which the woman said she didn’t want that room and was then offered a choice of two other rooms no charge so different rules for different people
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from HotelCorallia, Manager at Corallia Beach Hotel Apartments
Responded 5 Sep 2018
Customers see the trip advisor as a punishment against us. The customers who really face problems discuss gently their problems until they find a solution to make them happy and not threaten the hotel on trip advisor. Our slogan is <near to you always> as hundreds of our customers can’t be wrong. Also in the Corallia Beach we have a policy which says that if customers don’t respect the hotel regulations it is better to don’t stay here. It is like when you don’t like strawberry ice-cream and they offer it to you. This is exactly how it happened with the 3 ladies who added their comments on trip advisor. They booked the Corallia Beech as a package and they knew from before the whole schedule of their holiday but they demanded from us to keep the room until late free of charge. When the reply was negative they left the hotel very upset and trip advisor is the solution to their problem. The conclusion is that did they manage to resolve their problem during their stay? Definitely yes, then problems with other customers do not concern them. If customers give us a low rating to feel satiafied this docent change the image of our hotel as we are strong in the hotel business and this can be proven of our good reputation from world to mouth.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enid G wrote a review Apr 2018
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom167 contributions42 helpful votes
I've been here many times before, my grandchildren and my daughter love it here too. My husband and I took the family for one week just after Easter this year again. The weather couldn't have been better. We spend most of the time just relaxing, swimming and reading by the pool which is crystal clear. The children aged 11-14yrs entertained themselves in the sea which is calm and warm. They also were treated to a ride on sofa pulled by a jet ski and a pedelo with a slide attached. All with safety jackets provided. Great excitement for them. The breakfast, buffet style offers everything one could ask for. The evening meals are themed and offers a wide selection of dishes, a home made soup is available as is a wonderful salad bar. The desserts are a little bit repedative but the selection is there with fresh fruit if you prefer. The wine is reasonably priced and we had a musical entertainment - I believe these are more frequent as the season progresses. Wifi is available in the comfortable Reception area.
I do like a cup of coffee after my evening meal and I think I would liked to have been able to have one.
The rooms are great as is the service, everyone is cheerful. I used the free gym everyday which for me was a bonus. The Hotel faces the sea and had beautiful views the front aspect has an equally beautiful view of Cyprus Fir trees neat mown lawns and distant hills what more could you ask for.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: April 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
380keith wrote a review Oct 2016
Romford, United Kingdom23 contributions24 helpful votes
We have recently arrived home from what was our 6th or 7th holiday at Corallia Beach and it was excellent. We were welcomed by the friendly and helpful reception staff with a drink and cakes before being shown to our rooms on the 2nd floor. We were 2 couples and both had lovely spacious rooms overlooking the pool and beach. Great views. We stayed for 12 nights on a bed and breakfast basis. Breakfast was lovely, plenty of choice and on some nights we also stayed in the hotel for the evening dinner where for €10 you get an excellent 3 course buffet meal again with plenty of choice and you can eat as much as you like. If you are able to each lunch as well you can also have lunch there in either the poolside bar or at their excellent restaurant next to the beach where we would recomend the fresh fish. There is a shop within the hotel which stays open 24 hours a day which is very useful.The manager Anthi Arapi and her staff made us feel very welcome throughout our stay and even came to see us off and help with our cases on our final day. We would highly recomend this hotel for a nice relaxing break with the added benefit of a lovely pool, a sandy beach where the water is nice and calm for swiming and a gym if you do decide on doing some exercise. Wifi in reception was very good and also reached our rooms on the 2nd floor. We shall be returning next year. Thank You to all at Corallia Beach Hotel. Keith & Teresa Walker and John & Julie Hay
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: October 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Try to book a room with full sea view
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Freya G wrote a review Jul 2016
6 contributions10 helpful votes
We stayed at this complex in early July having paid around £240 for four nights. On arrival it was a positive experience with a welcome drink and piece of cake and a free upgrade from a studio to a one bed apartment.

Pros:
•Quiet location
•On the beach
•Cool rooms which is needed in the height of summer
•good water pressure in shower
•plenty of sun loungers even during the busier months
•small gym
•large selection for breakfast although poor quality in my opinion

Cons:
•The hotel listing states there is wifi in the rooms where there isn't. When I raised the issue at reception I got the impression that they receive this complaint a lot but rather than remove it as a feature they would prefer to get the bookings and deal with the complaints each day. I assume that once people have flown to Cyprus then they are stuck there and so it's better to have bookings and deal with confrontation / complaints than to lose bookings all together.
Gym has no air con so it's like working out in a sauna
• Quality of food is poor & drinks are expensive
• Serious lack of plug sockets in the apartments. We had three in the main room but none in the bedroom. Difficult as a women to get ready with no plug sockets near any of the mirrors
• Rusty bathroom
• Booking was made through a third party online. We initially booked the hotel to pay on arrival in euros however the booking was then cancelled by the hotel as they couldn't charge the card used to hold the booking (which they shouldn't have been doing anyway). Neither the hotel or the third party told us the booking had been cancelled, it was only because I checked. When I rebooked over the phone I was offered a cheaper rate to pay on the day of booking or the original option to pay in euros on arrival, which I asked for because I live in Cyprus and work in euros not pounds. A few days later my credit card was charged in pounds regardless and not at the cheaper rate!
• The hotel puts on 'special' meals /events each night and listed taramasalata as a vegetarian option, which as far as I am aware it definitely is not and raises a bit of a concern regarding their attitude to customers dietary requirements.

Overall the expression "buy cheap buy twice" springs to mind. If it hadn't been for the location and the fact we live in Cyprus and get to see the beautiful country everyday then I would have been disappointed with this hotel as a holiday destination.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: July 2016Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Previous