We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at Goldsmith's in the Forest

Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Room review highlights
... hospitality. Delicious home cooking. 4 private en suite double bedrooms open onto a spacious and comfortable...
... from Les and Darilyn’s home. There are four double bedrooms set in pairs either side of a large lounge/kitchen/diner...
i just called to ask about their room, customer service answer and ask how many people is it for i said im not sure, about 3-5...
Featured room amenities
Hot Tub
Fireplace
Non-smoking rooms
Non-smoking hotel

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
Theresa H wrote a review Jan 2015
The Netherlands47 contributions29 helpful votes
Warm and welcoming hospitality.
Delicious home cooking.
4 private en suite double bedrooms open onto a spacious and comfortable central living/dining hall with outside deck.
Access via a well maintained gravel road - suitable for 2WD.
The B&B accommodation is surrounded by forest, with lyrebirds and kookaburras calling outside the bedroom window, crimson rosellas perching on the railings, and echidnas snuffling in the undergrowth.
Absolutely marvellous!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: January 2015Trip type: Travelled solo
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
carianmac wrote a review Jan 2014
Reading, United Kingdom79 contributions41 helpful votes
Located 6Km off the Prince’s Highway down unsurfaced roads, Goldsmiths in the Forrest was an island of peace and tranquillity during our drive from Sydney to Melbourne. The guest accommodation is in a purpose built block separate from Les and Darilyn’s home. There are four double bedrooms set in pairs either side of a large lounge/kitchen/diner that overlooks the forest. Everything was extremely comfortable and Les and Darilyn were excellent hosts who went out of their way to make our stay memorable and enjoyable. Unfortunately, due to lack of time, we were unable to take up Les’ offer of a forest nature walk. Rooms were well furnished ad comfortable and breakfast was excellent. If we are ever in the area again we will certainly return - and take up Les’ offer of the nature walk!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: January 2014Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
dim612 wrote a review Dec 2013
Melbourne, Australia1 contribution3 helpful votes
i just called to ask about their room, customer service answer and ask how many people is it for i said im not sure, about 3-5 people and i said i just need a room with 2 queen size bed, then she chuckled a bit and said 'no no no no no no, ok goodbye'
the worst phone conversation with receptionist ever!!!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: December 2013Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Goldsmithsforest, Owner at Goldsmith's in the Forest
Responded 4 Jan 2014
We are a romantic/ rainforest B & B not a motel or backpackers, we do not have rooms with 2 queen beds, The answer to that request has to be no, he is asking for something we do not physically have. While the caller was unsure of how many people would be in his party it was not possible to tell him if we had vacancies for an unknown number. Being a small B and B we limit the number of guests on the property to ensure they all get fair access to the Spa and Sauna thus we need to know how many guests are inquiring. We offered queen and single rooms and would have suggested other places to try had the caller been cooperative rather than talking over the owner.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikey wrote a review Jul 2013
Oxfordshire63 contributions23 helpful votes
So, we wanted something to counter the two city trip we were doing, and we could not have found better.

You know you must have something pretty unusual when you have to drive for 15 minutes off the highway to get there.....once we arrived we found a wonder haven of tranquility.

Lovely log fire burning and lovely greeting from Les and Darylin. Things just got better - lovely lounge area and very comfortable bedroom - everything you could need, plus views into the forest.

We had noted that as it was a little of the beaten track we should consider having dinner there and wow, was that a good move. Darylins cooking is superb - it would put many good restaurants to shame. Wonderful rack of lamb with a lovely sauce and fresh local veggies. Home made bread too, followed by a desert to die for.

Utterly quiet nights sleep and then an equally fine breakfast from Darylin. Les then gave us the tour of the forest area - really great to see to native flora and fauna.

All in all just superb - if you fancy getting away from it all then this is the place for you - highly recommended.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: June 2013Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: All are great!
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Aotearoa_fan wrote a review Jan 2013
Darmstadt, Germany44 contributions27 helpful votes
This accommodation is beautifully located in the middle of the forest, just a few km away from Lakes Entrance. It is the ideal place to get away from a busy tourist place and enjoy fascinating birds in their natural habitat, while still very close to spectacular beaches. Getting up early in the morning and watching the forest come to life was a highlight in our trip to Australia.
The 4 rooms are part of a separate building, designed and built only for the guests. There are numerous spots you can watch the surrounding forest from: the deck, the comfortable seating by the lounge window, the kitchen window, the breakfast table, or just your bed.
The room was clean and nice, with en-suite bathroom and all facilities we needed. Darylin and Les came over every morning and Darylin prepared awesome breakfasts. We also chose to have Darylin cook for us dinner twice and and greatly enjoyed her delicious meals, especially the lamb and the seafood.
Les took us on a walk on their property, explaining all about the trees and the plants and the birds. We were astonished about how knowledgeable he was and also about the marvellous pictures he had taken over the years. Darylin and Les were great hosts, not only they spoiled us while we were there, but they also helped us with our further planing and accommodation booking. It felt more like visiting family rather than staying at a B&B. We liked the place so much, that we extended our original stay of 2 nights with 1 more night.
We highly recommend not only the accommodation, but also Darylin's home made meals.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: December 2012Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Previous
12