We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at Mercure Rio Badajoz

Room/Suite (32)
Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
US$55
US$49
View Deal
TripadvisorUS$49
Snaptravel
Hotels.com
eDreams
Agoda.comUS$52
ZenHotels.comUS$55
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Room review highlights
... it is certainly not up to the usual Mercure standards. The bedrooms are somewhat dated, and the decor is shabby. We were...
... at 3 am you are woken up by nocturnal activities on the next room. The WiFi speed is laughable and my room had a deep smell...
... as some comment here. Bathroom was also clean and spacious. Room climate control was hopeless and super hot and stuffy and it...
Featured room amenities
Housekeeping
Laundry Service
Internet
Wheelchair Access
Air conditioning
Flatscreen TV
See all room amenities (10)

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
nwukcop wrote a review Sep 2019
Clayton-le-Moors, United Kingdom50 contributions34 helpful votes
Spent 3 nights at the Mercure Rio Badajoz, and although overall it was not bad, it is certainly not up to the usual Mercure standards. The bedrooms are somewhat dated, and the decor is shabby.
We were initially offered a room on the third floor overlooking the main road, but declined it, due to the traffic noise. We were then given a room at the rear, which was significantly quieter, larger, and had a small balcony. It was comfortable enough, but the bathroom was a little tired, with brown water staining in the toilet bowl (not pleasant to look at, and could not be removed) and the jacuzzi bath (hurrah!) that did not work (boo!). The light therapy shower (!) was interesting .. a bit like showering in a disco!
The positives: lovely staff, nothing was too much trouble for them, and free car parking. The pool/sun area was also very well maintained.
Hint: rather than pay €8 per person for breakfast at the hotel, go to the La Alecena restaurant immediately next door .. tostada and coffees for 2 at less than €5!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Río Badajoz, Owner at Mercure Rio Badajoz
Responded 4 Mar 2020
Thanks for your comments. We inform you that we are finishing adapting the entire hotel to the Mercure brand standards. We take note of everything that exposes us to improve the service we offer.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luís A wrote a review Jan 2019
Lisbon, Portugal193 contributions23 helpful votes
An outdated hotel which offers minimum accomodation but not much more. The walls are thin, which means at 3 am you are woken up by nocturnal activities on the next room. The WiFi speed is laughable and my room had a deep smell of tobacco which didn't go away even if I left the window open for several hours. The breakfast is also one of the poorest I've ever experienced. At least the reception service was nice.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: January 2019Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Río B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Mercure Rio Badajoz
Responded 22 Jan 2019
We regret that your stay with us has not been 100% satisfactory and we want to thank you for the time you have taken to leave us your comments that help us improve the service we offer.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher Higgs wrote a review Apr 2018
Lisbon, Portugal240 contributions59 helpful votes
Indeed price/value wasnt bad at all. Rooms are at least clean and beds werent as bad as some comment here. Bathroom was also clean and spacious. Room climate control was hopeless and super hot and stuffy and it wouldnt decrease..so ends up being a very hot room...wasnt ideal. The building sound insulation is non existent...yes..you can hear everything in this hotel...everything! Breakfast room was a joke, ugly and dirty and unprofessional employees however the breakfast itself wasnt that bad.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: April 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Charlie B wrote a review Oct 2017
Plymouth, United Kingdom315 contributions83 helpful votes
We stayed here for one night as we toured this area on motorbikes. This big hotel was just ideal for us and we considered it a fair price. Our room was clean and comfortable with good service and all the normal facilities. Breakfast is served in a big modern restaurant and the food was good, including some cooked selections of egg, bacon etc. The hotel bar and restaurant also serves good evening food at a good price with good service.
The walk across the river to visit the old city takes about 15 minutes over the wonderful Roman Bridge.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: October 2017Trip type: Travelled with friends
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Sashpunk wrote a review Aug 2017
13 contributions10 helpful votes
+1
The Mercure Rio stands next to what has to be one of the busiest roads in Badajoz. And our room overlooked the roundabout so it was especially noisy.
If that wasn't enough the good was awful. Hubby and I opted for the Menu Del Dia 15€. Now granted this is an economical meal (eaten by the locals) so we didn't expect 'foie gras' (wouldn't eat it anyway if it did). But it is normally good wholesome food for the money. The lentil estofada had so much cumin in it I actually thought it was a curry. Now I cook lentil estofada and have many cookbooks in English and Spanish and not one tells you to put in cumin. But okay. It's obviously a quirk of the chef or area. Didn't make it anymore palatable thinking that way. Our second course was pork in Port sauce. I opted to have it minus the Port as I don't touch alcohol in any shape or form I wish I hadn't touched the pork. Reconstituted pork meat containing such a high amount of fat that you couldn't actually taste the meat, just fat. I Now know why they smother it in sauce. Dessert was either rice pudding or flan huevo. The latter coming just dumped on a plate straight out of its foil container. I had to ask for cream to make it a little less unappetising. Whilst the price included either wine or water we opted for the water, safest bet we reckoned and I think we were right.
Breakfast was 7€. What a rip off. We decided to give it a miss when we saw what was on offer. Rather suspect rashers of bacon (largely fat) tinned bikini bite size sausage and Tortilla all kept warm over a flame that couldn't keep the temperature stable or at the correct height to avoid potential tummy upset. Toast (diy) coffee from a machine. Slices of ham and chicken and that was it. No croissants. No danish pastries. No yoghurt and/or fruit.
Staff friendly enough. But none could help us when we enquired about the Peninsula War (3rd siege) 1812 (the reason for our visit) and neither did they have anything about it on the rack proclaiming to be tourist information.
In truth Badajoz has erased (literally) any and all mention of the siege. Even the helpful taxi drivers didn't have a clue where to take you. Yes I had done my own research but on arrival at the areas we found zero mention or anything to show you the siege had happened. Now 4000 of Badajoz' citizens died because of the conflict so if nothing else you'd think they remember them. But nope. Not a single word.
Walls great to walk on. Though a little uneven in places with steps galore and in some places virtually no barrier to stop you falling so bear this in mind.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: August 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Previous