We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at Hotel Monastery

Room/Suite (176)
Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.comUS$42
Booking.comUS$41
Expedia.comUS$42
TravelocityUS$42
Orbitz.comUS$42
CheapTicketsUS$42
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Room review highlights
... hall looks fairly traditional but the rooms and breakfast room is modern. Steps down to reception and upto the rooms. Staff...
I booked a twin room for one night to stay with my 14 yr old daughter. I advised the hotel that we would be turning up after...
... the hotel to the Charles Bridge and it’s a nice walk. The room is comfortable and the breakfast generous with a full...
Most popular question about the rooms
... book with my husband and three daughters aged 18, 26 and 12. Can we book the family room? It’s allowing me to book but I’m not sure if the room says max 4 people. My...
Answer from AVEHotels
Jan 2018 |
... Madam, thank you for your enquiry! Yes there is one family room that is for 5 persons (No.35). However we do not advertise...
Read more

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
TrickyWitch wrote a review Dec 2019
Bath, United Kingdom246 contributions55 helpful votes
+1
Situation
Situated up a hill in a lovely area next to the Strahov monastery and library, the hotel is part of the monastery building complex and away from the busy part of the city. 10 mins walk downhill to the Palace. Bit of a trek back up the hill (especially from Charles Bridge which takes about 25 mins but it is possible to get tram 22 or 23 from mid-town which drops off nearby necessitating only about 15 steps up).

Hotel
Clean, quiet, entrance hall looks fairly traditional but the rooms and breakfast room is modern. Steps down to reception and upto the rooms. Staff are lovely and very helpful. You can leave your bags there free of charge on checkout until you leave. Taxi to/from airport can be arranged with the hotel and costs about £28 payable to the driver. There is a small garden with city views. Very good breakfast - bacon, eggs, cereals, meats, bread, cheeses, croissants, fresh fruit, pastries, orange presse, yoghurts, freshly-ground coffee. Coffee is available all day should you wish it.

Room
We stayed in Room 23 which had a view of the garden and overlooked the city. The rooms are clean and modern if slightly 70s in decor but it would've been nice if they'd kept some of the original features. Firm but comfortable bed (2 singles pushed together), powerful shower with shower gel dispenser, complimentary mini toiletries (no shower cap). Hairdryer on the wall. Free safe. Mini bar. Coffee/tea-making facilities.
Restaurants
A few very nearby and also about 15 mins down the hill. We liked the Red Lion about 15 mins downhill. Don't recommend St Norbert's which is literally round the corner from the hotel - it was devoid of charm having the ambience of a works Canteen, grumpy and rushed staff and the food left a lot to be desired!

Recommendations
Changing of the Guard at Prague Palace at midday. Entry into the grounds of the Palace, along with entry into the front part of St Vitus’s Cathedral with its beautiful stained glass windows is free. You pay to go further into the cathedral but really you'll probably be satisfied with just the free part. The queue for security/bag check is very long at around midday but much shorter the earlier or later you go. There are a couple of different entrances with hardly any queues at the rear.

Medieval astronomical clock, Old Town Square - with an hourly clockwork display. Avoid early evening at Christmas - the crush of people was actually quite frightening! Lovely Christmas market (there's quite a few scattered throughout Prague but the one in the Old Town Square is the best - beautifully illuminated and our Lady of Tyn Church created a fairytale backdrop. Incredibly busy though).

Charles Bridge - statuary, street performers. Historic. Iconic.

Escape the crowds and take a train to Kutna Hora - bought tickets at the station for about £10 return each. 1 hour 20 mins pleasant journey and fairly regular train times. Get off at Kutna Hora Hln stop then go through the underpass to the other side of Kutna Hora station and take the small train to the end of the line. This will take you nearer to the town. All included in the ticket. Lovely peaceful small town with cobbled streets and little shops/cafes. Enjoy a mulled wine while gazing at St Barbara's Cathedral with its flying buttresses and the far-reaching views. There's a walkway with statues leading to it. We loved this part of our trip and highly recommend.

Petrin Tower - about a 20 min walk from hotel after which we were too lazy to climb the steps to the top and took the lift. Incredible view of the city. Lots of interesting info on the tower and funicular. Catch the funicular down, not up as the queue to come up is much larger. Cost of funicular ticket is included if you buy a tram day pass.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: December 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
chrismci2015 wrote a review Aug 2019
Limerick, Ireland5 contributions8 helpful votes
I booked a twin room for one night to stay with my 14 yr old daughter. I advised the hotel that we would be turning up after 7pm and was told that there was a remotely managed access system to enable us to gain entry to the hotel. Note, there is no reception and no service at this hotel after 7pm!!!!

On arrival, the remote access facility did not work i.e. nobody in the responsible sister hotel answered. Were it not for the chance exit of another guest we would not have been able to gain entry.

On the evening of our arrival I attempted contact via the remote system 4 times and tried to phone the sister hotel directly six times, but there was never a response. I also emailed the hotel twice but much to my surprise I still have not received a reply containing a written apology. This was all the more problematic as we had not been given the twin room that was booked but instead a tight and most unsuitable, semi converted attic 'space' on the top floor of the hotel, nothing like the photos on the hotel website. Because the hotel is unstaffed after 7pm it wasn't possible to rectify this. I think the hotel needs to review this policy.

At least the hotel admitted this was their mistake the following morning via its helpful receptionist, but by then it was too late. This was most disappointing especially as the hotel is wonderfully located overlooking Prague and I think it might have been great to stay in were it not for the serious problems with access and the allocated room.

Key learning points, if you are going to stay here do not risk turning up after 7pm and make sure you confirm your room choice directly with the hotel before arrival.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: August 2019
Room Tip: Confirm the specifics of your room booking directly with the hotel. Make it clear that you do...
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from AVEHotels, Manažer at Hotel Monastery
Responded 19 Aug 2019
Dear Sir, thank you for choosing our hotel and for your feedback, we appreciate it very much. Please let me apologize for the issues, we did forget to prepare you the requested bed setup and we do investigate the intercom problem, since it has never happened before. However let me also mention that there are pictures of your room on your travel agent´s website and that we clearly state on the agent´s website that the reception is staffed on spot only form 7 to 7. Once again, I am sorry that you weren´t able to enjoy your vacation to your expectations and I do admit that was is also our fault. We are currently working on improving the check-in and communication system. I wish you a great day, E.Aljanabi, QC Manager.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
turkerr00 wrote a review Jul 2019
Kuwait5 contributions
We have been to Prague on several occasions and stayed in little hotels but we really loved the residence Monastary hotel. Stephen at the reception is warm, professional and detail-oriented. At check-in he provided us with thorough information on where we were located, different routes to different parts of the city, and he has been extremely helpful and kind.

In addition to excellent service, I would stay here again because the location overlooking the city, and their lovely garden and the quiet green setting away from the heavily touristed area is definitely advantageous. They are 10 meters away from a beer garden/ restaurant overlooking the whole city and connected to paths through Prague forest but last night, it only took us about 5-10 minutes to walk down by the castle and maybe 15 from the hotel to the Charles Bridge and it’s a nice walk.

The room is comfortable and the breakfast generous with a full selection of fresh fruits, fresh tomato and cucumber salads, cheeses, breads, eggs,meats, cereals,fresh juice, yogurt etc. There is a lovely garden seating area under a spreading tree for breakfast and tea.

All in all a very nice hotel.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
GraverTank wrote a review Jun 2019
Veldhoven, The Netherlands3 contributions
It is situated on the hill above the castle, next to the Strahov monastery and library. It is an old monastery building, but the rooms are up-to-date and modern, with good air conditioning. The staff are very friendly, and you can even eat breakfast in the garden. It is very peaceful, and nice to get away from the busy centre. It is easy to get to with tram 22 which crosses a large portion of the city. The entrance is towards the back of the courtyard - look for a white building with a doorway marked "Residence Monasterey" and four stars.
You can walk down to the castle in about 20 minutes, or just enjoy the view from the restaurants up there. You can also walk through the park (about 15 minutes) to the cable car and one or the viewing towers.
The library is also wonderful to visit, and you are right next door, so you can get there early before it gets crowded. There is also a church, but it does not seem to be open for general admission. The front door is open, so you can look inside - I think you have to arrange a tour.
The area around it is quite hilly, so if you have mobility problems, you should check with the hotel first for a room on the ground floor. There is no lift, so you have to walk up some stairs to get to the upper floors. My room was 2-storey, with the bedroom upstairs via a small staircase.
The public transport is easy to use in Prague (buy a ticket at most stops, metro stations and in the tram using any credit card/bank atm card with contactless payment). They have Uber, but the Bolt app worked better, giving similar functionality to Uber.
Very affordable and more fun than staying in a generic, modern hotel. I will definitely stay here next time I am in Prague.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: No hotel lift - some ground floor rooms and a wheelchair lift. Church bells every 15m from early...
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
1991KEB wrote a review May 2019
Navarre, Florida1,127 contributions214 helpful votes
We were here for three days and what a pleasant stay. The location was perfect for our stay. We were located within walking distance e to all we wanted to see and if not, the tram was very close to the hotel. Next, Adam, at the front desk made us feel welcome and took time for us when we had questions. He particularly was a delight to talk too. The room itself was very nice, clean, well done with a staff that went o u t of their way to make our stay comfortable. The breakfast, where to start, best breakfast ever!!! The eggs and meats terrific, anything you want to drink, fruits that were fresh and delicious, pastry I loved. Everything was warm and tasty. I will return here and recommend this hotel to anyone.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: May 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Previous

Questions & answers about the rooms

Answer from AVEHotels
Jan 2018 |
Dear Madam, thank you for your enquiry! Yes there is one family room that is for 5 persons (No.35). However we do not advertise it, it´s a subject to availability. You can book it, but please first contact our reception monastery@avehotels.cz so with the request. My colleagues should be able to assign it you, if it´s still possible for your chosen period of stay. I hope that I was able to answer you question, If you have more, please do not hesitate to contact us again! Wishing you a great day, E.Aljanabi, QC Manager
0 votes
Answer from Lise N
Feb 2018 |
Yes it is very small but you can sleep 3 people. It is a very nice place very very clean and very good breakfast.
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
1