We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Pool
at Orchid Hotel

Pool & Beach (19)
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Pool review highlights
... Breakfast was great. You get to enjoy the swimming pool while having your breakfast. Checking out was simple too....
... central for China Town and the Bay Area, the restaurant and pool were not in use due to works being carried out. This was not...
... third, even if using existing bedding. AC is good. Hotel pool is fine for laps, even if heavily chlorinated. There are...

Reviews that mention pool

Write a review
Ivan wrote a review Mar 2020
9 contributions6 helpful votes
Located just outside Tanjong Pagar MRT, you get this big park to enjoy.
About 3 mins walk, you will see the hotel. Greeted by friendly staffs. Hotel is very clean.

A little bit tight on the check-in due to the COVID-19, they scanned your temperature.

The room is spacious. You get 1 Queen Bed + 1 single bed.

The Toilet is very clean, amenities also great.

You get a lot of Japanese and Korean restaurants just behind the hotel. Small but great restaurants, long queue is expected.

Breakfast was great. You get to enjoy the swimming pool while having your breakfast.

Checking out was simple too. Very close to Harbour Front Ferry Terminal, about 8 mins drive.
Great location, Go-Car or Grab ranging at SGD 8 - 10 to town area.

Overall, recommended.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from OrchidHotelSingapore, Marketing Communications Manager at Orchid Hotel
Responded 16 Mar 2020
Dear ivander_ng, Greetings from Orchid Hotel Singapore! Thank you for choosing us as your choice of accommodation. We are glad that you had a great stay experience with us. Our prime location has indeed brought much convenience to our guests, we hope that you had an enjoyable time exploring the area. We also appreciate your kind understanding in the stricter measures the Hotel has to undertake in the event of Covid-19. Such measures are mandatory as it helps to ensure that the environment is safe for our guests. Thank you for endorsing us as a recommend hotel. My team and I hope to see you again! Best regards, Calista Lee Marketing Communications Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
493Sue wrote a review Dec 2019
Chelmsford, United Kingdom18 contributions30 helpful votes
Whilst the room was very good and the location is very central for China Town and the Bay Area, the restaurant and pool were not in use due to works being carried out. This was not informed to us when making the booking.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: December 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from OrchidHotelSingapore, Marketing Communications Manager at Orchid Hotel
Responded 5 Jan 2020
Dear 493Sue, Greetings from Orchid Hotel! We regret to learn that your stay with us was a lacklustre one and that we were not able to make this right for you while you were still staying with us. We have taken note of your feedback and will definitely keep it in mind for future improvements. Best regards, Calista Lee Marketing Communications Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington_wahine wrote a review Nov 2019
Seattle, Washington2402 contributions515 helpful votes
Neighborhood and Singapore often do not go together. Few downtown areas are walkable, but the Orchid Hotel is one of them. We stayed in 3 different hotels during our Singapore visit- this hotel near chinatown, and one in Orchard Rd and one in the Marina Bay area. Even though the other hotels were far more luxurious, this hotel is one I'd revisit over the others. Reasons? Location. Singapore is a beautiful city with modern infrastructure and great sightseeing, however at the end of the day, I prefer staying in a location that had easy walkability and sights that are not found at home.

The Orchid hotel is on Tanjong Pajar, just steps from countless great eateries and bars. Chinatown is a few walkable blocks away, with it's temples and night market and access to everything imaginable. There's a small but managable hawker market and fruit/veg market just across the street, where we spent a few bucks each morning for delicious breakfasts, and Maxwell center is just down the way for endless other local delicacies including the Michelin famous chicken rice. Equidistant the other way is Amoy center, with two stories of more hawker stalls including a curry puff stall that sells pure nirvana. Aside from food though, the well preserved streets (such as AnnSiang) of old chinatown facades lends to an aura of authenticity that urban Singapore sorely lacks.

The hotel itself is perfectly fine. The front desk is polite and helpful, and the facility is clean with comfortable beds. Furnishings are similar to a Courtyard from 10-15 years ago, and amenities such as soap, TP, and towels are metered out carefully. Beds are comfortable, however if you book a two queen bed room and have 3 people you will get charged $50 per night for the third, even if using existing bedding. AC is good. Hotel pool is fine for laps, even if heavily chlorinated. There are large chinese tour groups at the hotel, but really only seen in AM or PM as they are gone touring most of the day. We did not waste $22 pp on the breakfast, as the options elsewhere were plentiful and much less $.

Though the location to the "main" sights was farther, it was just as accessible from this hotel with Grab or taxi as it was from our other hotels. Costs to MBS or Gardens by the Bay were about 6-8 singapore dollars, or less than 2$ via MRT which was located just a block away out the front door.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: November 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from OrchidHotelSingapore, Marketing Communications Manager at Orchid Hotel
Responded 5 Jan 2020
Dear Washington_wahine, Greetings from Orchid Hotel! It is our pleasure to know that you had a satisfactory stay experience with us. Our prime location has indeed brought much convenience and eatery options for our guests. We are glad that you had an enjoyable time exploring the area. Thank you for taking time out to share your review with us. My team and I hope to see you again! Best regards, Calista Lee Marketing Communications Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W wrote a review Oct 2019
Wellington, New Zealand13 contributions30 helpful votes
Good hotel within easy walking distance of lots of cafes, bars, Chinatown. Reception staff were friendly and helpful, allowing us to leave bags both before check in and after check out. They also gave us a late checkout which was very much appreciated. Pool was big and a great place to cool down after a long, busy day in the Singapore heat. Wifi was included with our room, which was spacious and clean. Would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: October 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
BLaMEUK wrote a review Oct 2019
London346 contributions83 helpful votes
I stayed at the Orchid hotel during my visit to Singapore in September 2019.
This is my 5th stay at the hotel.

Location:
As mentioned in my previous mails, this is perfectly located right opposite Tanjong Pagar station. The area has slowly developed to a "japanese" themed hub so great for food, coffee and more of a chilled ambience away from the craziness of Orchard , Bugis and other areas. it is also close to couple of hawker centres as well as China town.

Check-in/Reception:
This hotel hasnt changed in image one bit since I started staying. But as always the staff are friendly and helpful always. Very respectful and accommodating

Facilites:
I used the pool and it was not busy for the time of year. It was clean and nice. I did not use the gym as it is very small and has limited machines and weights. I actually ended up joining a local anytime fitness over in the International Plaza (just 5mins walk away) Totally perfect and open 24/7. The lifts are still slow but you get used to this. I also did not eat breakfast at the hotel. TP area is now progressing and there are many options surrounding the hotel. I would recommend Dimbula or Sofi Cafe(so peaceful and wonderful here that I visited pretty much every day). Check out my review.

Room:
All rooms are similar size. Very spacious and peaceful - even though there were a heap of noisy chinese tourists. The rooms mostly have two beds that are clean. There is a seating area. TV. Power points all over the room; a desk and a huge bathroom with a walk-in shower. Just perfect. General ammenities also included in the room (inc. iron/board, complimentary water etc). I would like to say that the rooms are looking tired. I do not know if there are any plans to update this hotel, but the carpet is dusty, old and stained which ruins things. In addition, the table was sticky and the power points, light fittings and lamps were dusty as heck.

Wifi:
Not the best wifi experience this time. I had to ask the staff to reboot the router twice until i got some sort of performance. be aware it slows down with more guests.

Sleep Quality:
Wonderful and peaceful as always.

Overall:
I would considerdefinitely stay here again. Although, I think in general the 2019 prices do not reflect the star of the hotel. It is becoming pretty expensive. I can respect that there are other hotels in the area. But the Orchid is a good low budget option and should remain that way. Please do not succumb to the greed of other establishments. Also would be a great idea to get a refurbishment some time. You guys are great but need updating a bit!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: September 2019
Room Tip: Corner aspect room
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from OrchidHotelSingapore, Marketing Communications Manager at Orchid Hotel
Responded 5 Nov 2019
Dear BLaMEUK, Greetings from Orchid Hotel! Thank you for rating us with 5 bubbles. We are glad that you had a great stay experience with us. We also appreciate your time taken out to share your feedback. Our staff will be elated to know of your compliments and we hope that you had a great time exploring the area! My team and I will be looking forward to your next visit. Best regards, Calista Lee Marketing Communications Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Previous
123456