We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at Hotel Cortez

Room/Suite (78)
Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
US$121
US$107
View Deal
SAVE US$14
Free cancellation until 06/11/20
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
US$121
View Deal
Free cancellation until 07/11/20
Booking.comUS$107
TravelocityUS$121
Agoda.comUS$107
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Room review highlights
... and gave us great advice about places to visit, etc. The room was clean and cosy, the food great, and the location really...
... good location with good restaurants nearby, I got a fancy suite, the staff, very professional and polite, service in...
... when I e-mail it to make sure was asked if i need another room, i can not guess if you never sent me my reservation number....
Featured room amenities
Suites
Room service
Housekeeping
Safe
Minibar
Laundry Service
Soundproof Rooms
Telephone
Refrigerator in room
Internet
See all room amenities (22)

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
Carla R. H. wrote a review Apr 2019
London, United Kingdom1 contribution
We stayed for one week and were very happy with the overall service provided.
The reception staff were always helpful and gave us great advice about places to visit, etc.
The room was clean and cosy, the food great, and the location really convenient for getting around.
We will definitely be staying there again next time we're in Santa Cruz!!!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from HotelCortezBolivia, Marketing Digital at Hotel Cortez
Responded 11 Apr 2019
Dear Guest, thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. At Hotel Cortez we value the opinions, observations or suggestions that our guests leave us.At Hotel Cortez we work to satisfy our guests and improve every day to provide them the best. It will be a pleasure to welcome you in another opportunity you visit Santa Cruz. Kindest regards, HOTEL CORTEZ!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wes wrote a review Apr 2019
1 contribution
I've been at this hotel, recently, and I was very pleased with everything: very good location with good restaurants nearby, I got a fancy suite, the staff, very professional and polite, service in general, outstanding!!!, I got a delicious breakfast, and enjoyed the beautiful swimming pool, with my favorite drinkl!!, I couldn't ask for more, and definitely looking forward to stay at this amazing place again!!!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: January 2019Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: choose the highest room to see the beautiful city at night
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from HotelCortezBolivia, Marketing Digital at Hotel Cortez
Responded 11 Apr 2019
Dear Guest , thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay. At Hotel Cortez we work to satisfy our guests and improve every day to provide them the best. It will be a pleasure to welcome you in another opportunity you visit Santa Cruz, to enjoy one more time the experience of being an Hotel Cortez Guest. Kindest regards and thank you for the preference, HOTEL CORTEZ!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mosino58 wrote a review Apr 2019
Washington DC, District of Columbia3 contributions
I had stay at the hotel cortez too many times and I think that this was the last one, the customer service declined to the lowest point, reservation never answer with my reservation number and when I e-mail it to make sure was asked if i need another room, i can not guess if you never sent me my reservation number. portes and bellman just keep talking and socializing among themselves and ignoring guests when they are coming not opening the car door not even the entrance door, I got a surgery when I was coming back to the hotel 3 of them where at the podium just talking no doors opening and no offering to help me to carry my bag, my room was on the second floor with no elevator access, while going up the stairs I felt down and broke the "manjarblanco" and spreed all over my medications. The food at the restaurant still the same menu forever, I had to returned the food because was raw even that I said well done, a sausage was spread with black stuff that even the waiter told me that the grill is dirty. Nancy the manager at the restaurant was nice that help me to carry some stuff to my room, I had 2 flan that were removed from my room, as well, I complained to a guy that act like is the front desk manager regarding the door staff but, was even worst the next day that i had to contract a taxi to take me to the airport and help me to carry my suitcase to the car due to my condition and having the portes actitud. I guess that the legacy of the founder Mr. Martin Cortez is down. I usually go to Sta. Cruz but, this is my last stay at this hotel, hope you fix it and train to the employees about providing a good customer service, but, thank you for the too many prior stays. MIGUEL MOSINO
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from HotelCortezBolivia, Gerente at Hotel Cortez
Responded 5 Apr 2019
Dear Mr. Mosino, We feel very concerned after receiving your observations and comments about the service you experienced in your last staying at the Hotel, please receive our sincere apologies on the behalf of the Hotel. I commit myself to solve them as soon as possible. My best regards, Carolina Peralta Hotel Cortez CEO
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luciano F wrote a review Feb 2019
Curitiba, PR13 contributions1 helpful vote
First time I visit Bolivia and stayed on this hotel . Very good room , nice pool, staff very kind .Around hotel you can find some restaurants and supermarket . I really enjoyed to stay there and recommend.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: February 2019Trip type: Travelled on business
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from HotelCortezBolivia, Marketing Digital at Hotel Cortez
Responded 28 Feb 2019
Dear Mr. Antunez , thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay. At Hotel Cortez we work to satisfy our guests and improve every day to provide them the best. It will be a pleasure to welcome you in another opportunity you visit Santa Cruz, to enjoy one more time the experience of being an Hotel Cortez Guest. Kindest regards and thank you for the preference, Sincerely, HOTEL CORTEZ.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
latinontyne wrote a review Feb 2019
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom23 contributions7 helpful votes
Near one of Santa Cruz's landmarks - El Cristo -, Hotel Cortez is one of the city's oldest and most respected businesses.

I stayed for one night in mid-January 2019. Although I arrived early - around noon - the reception staff made no fuss and checked me into my room.

The room was spacious, clean, bright and with a view of the city. I had both lunch and dinner at the hotel. The restaurant is a no-frills affair, with a limited menu which could do with overhauling. The waiting staff in the evening stood out for the quality of the service.

One waiter in the evening, a very kindly man, took an interest in the fact that I was on a gluten-free diet, and, thinking ahead, he went out of his way to advise me about my options for breakfast. He went in and talked to somebody to ask them to make sure there would be arepas the following morning, as well as the usual cuñapés, which are made from maize flour. He even gave me the name of the person I should speak to the following morning. Alas, at breakfast the following day there were no arepas and the person in charge looked blankly when I asked for the designated purveyor of arepas. I had to make do with the cuñapés, which were not the best in town. Never mind, the intention was good.

Returning to my evening meal, I took it at a table by the pool, which makes for a pleasant view. The weather in Santa Cruz is pretty perfect this time of the year - as most times of the year, so long as it is not raining.

The bed was exceptionally comfortable. I think I might go back there just to enjoy the excellent night's sleep I experienced at Hotel Cortez.

To my eventual embarrassment, after checking out, back at my destination, I found that some cash was missing and I wrongly suspected the staff at Hotel Cortez. The Head of Quality Control heard my complaint over the phone with courtesy and patience, and he handled it very professionally, phoning me back the following day with the outcome of his enquiries. It took me several days to find the cash, all present and correct, albeit in a place different from where I remembered putting it. I phoned the Hotel back to apologise and they were gracious about it. If you stumble upon a review on the website hoteis.com - trading in some countries as expedia.com - and you read a review which mentions the suspicion of missing cash, it is mine, and it is wrong. I am trying to have it removed, but it is not proving easy.

Thank you for everything, Hotel Cortez! And sorry for the unfounded suspicion. I hope we are still friends.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: January 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from HotelCortezBolivia, Marketing Digital at Hotel Cortez
Responded 15 Feb 2019
Dear Mr. Guest: We are very glad that you had an enjoyable staying in the Hotel and we thank you for your comments, qualifications and also we value the observations and congratulations you have given us. About the "Arepas" issue, we have analized our process of communication, so we will commit our service quality. It will be a pleasure toreceive you in another time. Please receive our best regards! Best Regards! Hotel Cortez.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Previous
1234568