We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at Road Lodge Southgate

Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
US$39
View Deal
Free cancellation until 07/11/20
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Snaptravel
TravelocityUS$39
CheapTicketsUS$39
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Room review highlights
... a night here. More motel than lodge or hotel but functional. Room small, dark but functional. Breakfast is very small...
... as well as the excessive noise coming from the floor that my room was on. The receptionist assured me that the hotel policy is...
... and there wasnt any smoking rooms available. Lovely room, not too big, just what i needed to rest and forget about my...
Featured room amenities
Laundry Service
Internet
Air conditioning

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
Glbtrttr6 wrote a review Feb 2019
London, United Kingdom101 contributions23 helpful votes
Started an overland South Africa trip with a night here. More motel than lodge or hotel but functional. Room small, dark but functional.
Breakfast is very small selection, pastries, cereal and coffee but all you need.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: November 2018Trip type: Travelled solo
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from The_CLHG_Team, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Southgate
Responded 8 Feb 2019
Thank you for staying with us and we are so glad that you had a great stay! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suvana R wrote a review Dec 2016
25 contributions22 helpful votes
I've stayed at all the Road lodges across South Africa, all of which are decently accommodating with helpful staff but this one really disappointed me. I was running late for the check in time due to my long journey and traffic. I called to inform the lodge of my slightly late arrival . They told me they cannot hold my reservation. Nonetheless when I got there I found everything in order. I had problems with noise on the first night and second night. around 1am i informed the reception of the people consuming alcohol and making a noise outside my window as well as the excessive noise coming from the floor that my room was on. The receptionist assured me that the hotel policy is no disturbances after 10pm and he will sort everything out for me. Unfortunately the noise continued till after 4am and I continously called receptionbut NOBODY ANSWERED!!!! The receptionist bluntly just ignored my calls. For me,that was disappointing and I checked out early that morning.
So if you are okay with inefficiency with regards to my issue then you will find no problems with the hotel as it is neat and well kept.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: December 2016Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Southgate
Responded 23 Dec 2016
Thank you for staying with us and for your review. We're glad you found the hotel to be neat and well maintained, but we're sorry about other aspects you raised, mainly regarding noise created by other guests/visitors. While we do try to limit these disturbances, it can sometimes be difficult to enforce. We will certainly see what can be done to improve this.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
remano_nightingale wrote a review Jun 2015
Johannesburg, South Africa1 contribution3 helpful votes
I spent a night at Road Lodge Southgate and it was a one of a kind experience.
Sad that there isnt any elevators and there wasnt any smoking rooms available.
Lovely room, not too big, just what i needed to rest and forget about my surroundings.
Friendly staff, always willing to assist and offer a lovely breakfast.

Overall i'm going back again soon.

Remano N.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: May 2015Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Southgate
Responded 24 Jun 2015
Thank you for staying with us and we are so glad that you had a great stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kgotso E wrote a review Nov 2014
Selibe-Phikwe, Botswana221 contributions20 helpful votes
Road lodge is so beautiful when you enter by the gate and you will expect a lot from the lodge but immediately you arrive by the reception it turns you off. After booking you are expected to carry your bags upstairs, they are no people who help to carry the bags nor take you to your room. The rooms are so small and the bedding is not white and one will never know whether the bedding is clean or dirty. They are no full mirrors which is also at turn off to someone who likes a mirror like I do.

The good part of it is that the people by the reception are so good and they have good smiles when helping the customers. They really made my stay at road lodge interesting even though the place was boring.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: November 2014Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: No comment
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Southgate
Responded 18 Nov 2014
Thank you for staying with us. Please note that Road Lodge is our budget brand which we believe offers good value for money to our guests. We’re glad you enjoyed the friendliness of our staff and will look into the other matters you have raised.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ENNIE B wrote a review Oct 2014
Pretoria, South Africa208 contributions32 helpful votes
First of all I DID NOT BOTHER TAKING PICTURES, wow i honestly feel insulted by this hotel, lodge looks amazing on the outside went up to my room had to walk with bags up flight of stairs, The Room was so tiny so was the TV i love my TV, bedding was not changed i could still smell the scent of the person who slept in the bed, the bed i got was old, worst part for me the room did not have bath tub only shower with a shower head that did not work properly. Room Service, I called requesting an Iron and was told to come and collect it myself, LIKE REALLY!!! I expected better from Road Lodge from what i saw outside.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: August 2014Trip type: Travelled on business
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Southgate
Responded 10 Oct 2014
We’re sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Please note that Road Lodge is our budget brand which we believe offers great value for money – this means that we do not offer facilities such as room service. We do have three other brands – Town Lodge, City Lodge and Courtyard – that offer bigger rooms and more facilities for a higher price.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC