We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at Oaklands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK

Room/Suite (7)
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Room review highlights
... kitchen, and plenty of space in the fridge and freezer. Bedrooms were also clean. We didn't book for linen so I can't...
... fact to other residents that you can see from my daughter bedroom into the opposite living room! no dedicated parking, the...
... outsiders, almost as if we had walked into someone's living room. We were gutted there was no pool on site, but that was our...
Featured room amenities
Microwave
Flatscreen TV

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
Nicola W wrote a review Oct 2016
London, England, United Kingdom55 contributions25 helpful votes
My heart sank when I read the reviews for this place.
So it was with a certain amount of trepidation I arrived at Oaklands.
Greeted warmly at reception hoping to check in early. Arrived 2:45 (check in was 4:30)
Got keys immediately.
We stayed in a bronze two bed caravan. It was spotlessly clean and smelt lovely.
Very impressed with the remote controlled fire. ( kids took turns nightly to turn it on). Made the van very cosy.
All equipment was in place in the kitchen, and plenty of space in the fridge and freezer.
Bedrooms were also clean. We didn't book for linen so I can't comment. The beds were comfortable with adequate pillows and duvets provided.
So very happy with accommodation.
On our first night we headed to the club house we ordered fish and chips which was delicious.
The entertainment in this park is very limited i.e. there is no kids club or characters etc. However Brian did a sterling job of occupying my two girls providing hula hoops and colouring in.
We were the only family there but it was ok we had a quiet drink and a game of bingo.
We did the same on the second night and my girls enjoyed themselves playing with one other child.
Brian put on a fun quiz for the adults and we had a nice evening.
There is a small play area at the front of the park which is ok to play in but that's about it really.
Thursday of our weeks visit we attended the kids club for a pumpkin carving session followed by a movie with popcorn. Girls really enjoyed this and the staff were very attentive.
I'm dismayed at the horrible reviews of this park. Yes it's small and there is little to do but you do have the option of two other parks.
In fact my family enjoyed coming back to this quiet park after the hustle and bustle of the other parks.
I would say ignore most of the reviews on here, use this park as a handy base for trips to Clacton and Walton as well as Colchester.
If you want a bit of excitement head to the other parks which are 5 mins down the road by car.
If I had to make a small complaint it would be the horrendous parking. Particularly difficult if you have a caravan at the back of others.
Other than that I would be happy to return to oaklands.
Many thanks for a great holiday Brian and team. :)
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: October 2016Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Oaklands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK
Responded 8 Nov 2016
Dear Holiday Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Its always a pleasure to receive great feed back.I will pass on your comments to Brian. I do hope you and your family will come and stay with us again in the near future. Kind regards Leanne Trangmar General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie_House wrote a review Oct 2016
8 contributions1 helpful vote
A family caravan which was parked lengthways on the road, so close if fact to other residents that you can see from my daughter bedroom into the opposite living room! no dedicated parking, the 'play area' were a patches of grass and you can't walk around the lake if you are in a wheelchair/scooter. A single play park which doesn't make up for the others and the staff are unhelpful and not friendly
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: March 2016Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: If you get a lakeside caravan you might be in luck
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Oaklands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK
Responded 8 Nov 2016
Dear Holiday Guest I was sorry to read that you and your family did not enjoy your stay here with us at Oaklands. Our lake is only accessible by a floating pontoon and is not suitable for guests who have mobility issues. This is mentioned on our website. With regards to parking next to our holiday homes, we only have designated parking on a select few of caravans. I am only sorry that you did not bring theses issues to our attention at the time of your stay with us, as it would have given us the opportunity to possibly rectify some of the issues you were experiencing. I do hope you will visit our parks in the near future. Kind regards Leanne Trangmar General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
babysmit wrote a review Sep 2016
Harlow, United Kingdom5 contributions7 helpful votes
Myself, my husband and our 3 children came to Oaklands late August. We stayed in a gold 3 bed caravan, it was lovely and roomy. A bit dusty in places (maybe it had been standing empty a while), nothing major. The receptionist on arrival was lovely (I didn't get her name) as was Harmony. We had a problem with the toilet seat on arrival and this was fixed at the earliest opportunity, so thumbs up guys. The entertainment is very basic for children, the disco is just tv show soundtracks so that was very disappointing, though my 2 youngest loved the bouncy castle. We had dinner at the clubhouse/bar/arcade/restaurant once and didn't really like the atmosphere. There are a lot of people that live on site and while they were mostly all friendly enough, we felt like outsiders, almost as if we had walked into someone's living room. We were gutted there was no pool on site, but that was our fault as we had looked at so many parks, by the time we came to book we couldn't remember what each one had! The neighbouring parks are only a short drive away. We visited the one with the indoor pool and found it quite unclean, but the kids enjoyed it.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: September 2016Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Oaklands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK
Responded 13 Sep 2016
Dear Holiday Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I was pleased to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. I do hope you will come and visit us again in the near future. Kind regards Leanne Trangmar General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jean m wrote a review Jun 2016
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom22 contributions9 helpful votes
As previously reviewed this site been going there for the last 6 years.
Never again the van we booked gold plus was so small couldn't even open bedroom door, asked if any 3 bedrooms available told wait until Monday or look at a bronze private owned,which was much larger so we took that.
No offer of refund after paying 350.00 .the prices in clubhouse were so overpriced and can't even drink the larger ugh ugh, so many things wrong with this site this year never again. Sent off 4emails too complaints never had a reply back not very good customer service.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: June 2016Trip type: Travelled with family
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Oaklands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK
Responded 28 Jun 2016
Dear Holiday Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I understand that you are one of our many returning guests. At the time you spoke to my Holiday Sales Manager, Harmony, and unfortunately she did not have another gold caravan to offer you as they were already booked out. Harmony was however able to offer you a bronze caravan which was a bigger, you said you required more hanging space for your clothes. I have since checked our records and I have not received any emails regarding the issues you have raised. I’m only sorry that you did not bring them to our attention during your stay with us. Kind regards Leanne Trangmar General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracie T wrote a review Jun 2016
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom10 contributions8 helpful votes
We arrived back from here yesterday from a monday to friday stay.
On first impressions everything was fine until we settled down into our caravan for the eve only to realise the the lounge floor was coated in a layer of white dog hairs! I understand dogs are allowed in the bronze caravans but surely they should be cleaned through before next guests arrive?
The bar was very welcoming and we enjoyed a few drinks in here and the lady behind the bar was always very pleasent, however we only ate there once as the food was very overpriced for what it was (out of a microwave) ???
Theres not much to do in or around the site and the sister sites are to far to walk to. So you need to be prepared to drive!
We made the best out of not a great situation and spent most our time down in clacton and at the pier, which is def worth a visit with plenty to do for all ages!
I wouldn't use this holiday park again and think theres alot of room for improvement.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: June 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Oaklands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK
Responded 28 Jun 2016
Dear Holiday Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I was sorry to read that your caravan was not up to the standard that It should have been. I have passed on your comments to the cleaning contractors. I do hope you gave us the opportunity to rectify the problem so that you could have a more enjoyable stay. Kind regards Leanne Trangmar General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Previous