We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey

Room/Suite (223)
Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
GardenInn.com
US$152
View Deal
Free cancellation until 08/11/20
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
US$152
View Deal
Free cancellation until 08/11/20
Reserve now, pay at stay
Lol.travel
US$152
US$132
View Deal
SAVE US$20
Agoda.comUS$152
PricelineUS$152
FindHotelUS$145
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Room review highlights
Room was spacious and clean. Dog friendly. Price was great. Staff was pleasant and polite. The Hilton has always been good to...
We booked for 4 nights. Checked in to a room that smelled strongly of urine and was facing the parking lot when we had booked a...
... but the hotel is in major need of a facelift. The first room they put is in smelled like mold and mildew. The smell was...
Most popular question about the rooms
I have been given the option of a room with balcony or room with large patio, we will be a family of 4, is one better than the other for size or views.
Answer from Victoria D
Aug 2019 |
... due to the pond outside. We also a had mosquitos in our room. We weren’t able to use the balcony due to them! We had to...
Read more

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
Drewski wrote a review 5 Oct
Sacramento, California223 contributions15 helpful votes
Room was spacious and clean. Dog friendly. Price was great. Staff was pleasant and polite. The Hilton has always been good to us. Restaurant was closed due to Covid. Parking was ample. Pool was open. Good overall stay.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: October 2020
Room Tip: Park near the front desk area. Underneath is a little tight.
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Chase Ramirez, Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for the kind words and comments, and the three-star review. We appreciate your details and information, and hope to have you back again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael E wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution
We booked for 4 nights. Checked in to a room that smelled strongly of urine and was facing the parking lot when we had booked a jr suite overlooking the pool. Was advised that they had given away our room, but would give us another room and we could move the next day. The next room was in the same tired shape without the urine smell.
After a few minutes where my wife was literally in tears, we packed up and left. There was no way to make this right. When I tried to cancel the reservation, they advised that I was on the hook for the full four days and I would not be refunded for any of my stay. Even knowing that, we moved anyway.
It seems like a good property. Someone just needs to care more.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Marion Abaunza, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
Responded 12 Sep 2020
Hello-I certainly appreciate you taking the time to fill out the survey. If you can contact the hotel directly, since I believe you booked your reservation by a third party such as Expedia. We can discuss a refund since you did not stay the four night. Thank you
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRABBERGAL wrote a review Aug 2020
Seattle, Washington5 contributions2 helpful votes
We chose this property because it was dog friendly and in a convenient location. The staff was all incredibly friendly and helpful, but the hotel is in major need of a facelift. The first room they put is in smelled like mold and mildew. The smell was so strong it knocks you off your feet when you walk in! We informed the front desk and they moved us to another room, despite the hotel being sold out. The second room had water on the floor of the shower and also had a fair amount of black mold growing in between the tiles. Gross!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Chase Ramirez, Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
Responded 17 Aug 2020
Thank you so much for the information and details provided here, as it is certainly important for us collectively as a Staff to know what went well, and what did not. We will review as a Team immediately, and work on these comments. We very much appreciate your patronage and look forward to having you back in the future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKHarvey22 wrote a review Jul 2020
Los Angeles, California4 contributions1 helpful vote
In light of the COVID-19 pandemic that has caused widespread closure of hotels, restaurants, bars and businesses, it was with careful consideration that my boyfriend and I decided to take a quick trip— a mini-getaway to Monterey from Los Angeles, where we have been several times before, but not during the current unprecedented situation of a global public health crisis.

So, with our masks, gloves and other protective gear, we booked our stay at the Hilton Garden Inn. I researched all the latest COVID-19 and Hilton updates that have been enacted to keep guests safe and comfortable during this pandemic, and this hotel, with its comprehensive sanitation plan and cooperative agreement with Lysol brand sanitation products, thoroughly impressed me.

Upon our arrival, David G was super nice, friendly and helpful in checking us in, and explained everything completely about where to find open restaurants in the area, as well as details about the cleaning protocols that the hotel uses; including no contact room sanitation, check in and check out procedures, and social distancing procedures. When we arrived at our room, there was a sticker that one has to break open to get into the room, illustrating that the room had been sterilized and that none of the cleaning staff could enter the room after cleaning, until guest have checked out or, if staying for more than 7 days, until the 8th day to clean.

Our room was visibly spotless, and we also had a beautiful balcony overlooking the parking lot, but with a view of beautiful trees. . In addition, we had secured parking in the garage of the hotel, and since we have a handicapped placard, it was so nice to see the huge parking spaces separated by at least 10 feet. This was unexpected and amazing to us, especially in light of the pandemic.

We had my little dog with us, and since he is a service dog, David G waived the pet fee, and was so helpful in explaining the policies of having a pet in our room.

This hotel is comfortable, convenient and hassle free, as well as being extraordinarily clean, which gave us peace of mind to enjoy this little getaway in the most stress free way possible, which was our goal in traveling here. So much so that we decided to stay another night.

Since we decided to extend our stay late at night, I went down to the front desk to book the extension, and Kenny F was upfront, awesome and honest about the price difference, as well as giving helpful advice on the most cost effective way to extend our stay, Through Kenny F’s suggestions of using my original booking method, I was able to extend our stay another night with almost the same per night price as I paid before.

All in all, I am extremely happy with this hotel and the care they have taken in ensuring their guests’ safety, comfort and convenience. And, even with everything going on across the globe, the staff here have been super friendly and accommodating. I will definitely stay here again. Thank you!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: June 2020
Room Tip: I recommend a room with a balcony overlooking the parking lot and tree scape, as it’ quieter and...
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Chase R, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
Responded 1 Jul 2020
Wow, what an amazing and wonderful review to receive, we are so pleased to hear your experience here at the Hilton Garden Inn Monterey exceeded expectations! We have trained and practiced tirelessly in all ways for this uniquely difficult situation we are all facing globally today. And with comments and feedback such as yours, it REALLY does help us know we are doing right, doing it safely, and that the reception from our incredible guests is well received. Thank you so much once again for the information provided, and we certainly look forward to having you and your boyfriend back as our guests very soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla_2009 wrote a review Jun 2020
Lincolnshire, UK190 contributions94 helpful votes
We have just stayed for 5 nights, we chose a room overlooking the pool area, which was rowdy in the evenings, but not past around 9.30. Parking under the hotel keeps the car cool in the day time. We walked into town every day, it took around 20 minutes and was very pleasant through the park area and by the lake. Even in the evenings it felt safe to be out walking back. We could get on the freeway north really easily too, for sight seeing trips out.

The room are not serviced at this time, however fresh towels and extra supplies could be ordered and be left outside your room. The breakfast to go bag was fine, a grain bar and peanut butter tub, piece of fruit and 2 hard boiled eggs with a chilli sauce for $3. Free coffee in reception 6am-9pm.

The hotel indicated that the bar was only open on Friday and Saturday evenings on the letter we recieved upon check in, I was then suprised to see it was open on Tuesday evening, with a Happy Hour sign too! Given we are encouraged to not come though reception seemed a little bit ambiguous. The mask wearing policy was observed by all staff and 95% of guests and I was a little disappointed to see reception deal with a lady who was unmasked and getting rather close.

If we were to return to Monterey this would be our choice again based on price
and location.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: June 2020
Room Tip: pool rooms have more atmosphere, chose accordingly
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Chase R, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
Responded 29 Jun 2020
Thank you so much for detailed and informative review! We certainly appreciate your comments and feedback, as we are looking to provide the most safe and enjoyable experience at our Hilton property during this turbulent time. We certainly look forward to having you back again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Previous

Questions & answers about the rooms

Answer from Victoria D
Aug 2019 |
I don’t know about size but it’s really nice to have a balcony so you can step outside. But beware: there are mosquitos and knats due to the pond outside. We also a had mosquitos in our room. We weren’t able to use the balcony due to them! We had to ask manager to have ground keeper spray insecticide outside our room while we were there.
1 vote
Show all answers
Answer from Chase R
May 2015 |
Thanks for your question! We have rooms on 3 floors and no on-going spider problem, and either of the 3 floors would work equally well. The first floor sits above a parking garage so is not "on the ground" like most first floors are. We are happy to pre-block you on whichever floor you feel most comfortable.
0 votes
PreviousNext
1