We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Pool
at Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort

Pool & Beach (181)
Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Expedia.com
US$214
View Deal
Free cancellation until 07/11/20
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
US$214
View Deal
Free cancellation until 08/11/20
Reserve now, pay at stay
FindHotel
US$233
US$179
View Deal
SAVE US$54
Hotels.com
EmbassySuites.comUS$214
ZenHotels.comUS$233
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Pool review highlights
... to be so close the beach and makes for an easy walk. The pool space is nice and having to 'rent' time in the sectioned...
... tropical "grotto" like layout. This would be nice but the pools are filthy and full of algae. On the plus side, the hotel...
Pros: beach front, large heated pool, nicely landscaped property with numerous waterfalls, decent hot breakfast during COVID...
Most popular question about the pool
Hello, are the pools open now (July 16th, 2020 - during pandemic)? Also are the surrounding restaurants, beaches, and activity centers fully operational during this time? We have...
Answer from Honest_Opinion69
Jul 2020 |
... of the things that make it great are not available. If the pool is closed, (and I hard it is) and the playground in a near...
Read more

Reviews that mention pool

Write a review
Sub780lime wrote a review 14 Oct
Oxnard, ca7 contributions
+1
The wife I decided to do a little close-to-home vacation for a couple nights with our 6 year old son after having been cooped up in the house for so many months. Unfortunately, the hotel is in major need of renovation, to the point where multiple things were broken in the room. Both toilet handle had issues, with one being able to be completed pulled out of the housing. The closet doors were hanging by a thread and we couldn't close them if we wanted to. The shower in the small bathroom leaked because there was no bottom seal on the door and just covered the floor outside in water (see pictures). I reported all this to the front desk and was kindly offered a $60 credit to use on the property including the restaurant. So, we charged our meal to the room. Then, things continued downhill when I reviewed the bill after check-out and found the credit wasn't present. I've called the billing department and all you reach is a voicemail. I've left multiple messages, but never received a call back. I'm tempted to drive over and deal with this in-person since I live 15-20 miles away, but finding the time is the problem and I am sure the hotel is relying on you just giving up. It's all really unfortunately. I've had friends stay here before and have had a good experience. That was a few years ago. Things seemed to have continued to deteriorate. There is just no way I would recommend a stay right now and I can't see us returning without quite a few improvements.

If you are concerned about COVID, while it was posted that masks were required on the property, We found there was various levels of compliance and didn't observe the staff making very many efforts to resolve. While there were posted messages about sanitizer, we rarely found any bottles around the hotel and when we asked, the person told us they get taken. Still, if they have hotel policies like this, you'd like to see some efforts for compliance.

So, what positives can I say? The food from the restaurant was good and I would eat there (or take-out) again. It's very nice to be so close the beach and makes for an easy walk. The pool space is nice and having to 'rent' time in the sectioned pool due to COVID was actually really nice to have that space to yourself. I'm sure it wouldn't be so nice over a weekend (we were there during the week). The Jacuzzis looked like they would hold a decent number and one is more secluded than the other, but they were both closed during our trip due to the pandemic. The same with the day spa, so I can't really comment on these. Parking underground made it convenient to take a direct elevator up for your building and the water feature behind building 3 that goes from the ground level into the underground garage is a very nice feature.

Hopefully some improvement is made. We are members and do travel in the Hilton family a lot, but the poor business with the room credit and the lack of response from the billing department, has left a bad taste in our mouths.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Nanci Reyes, Other at Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Sub780lime, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am sorry to hear your stay was less than satisfactory. We will take your comments into consideration as we continuously work to improve our hotel satisfaction. Thank you again for your feedback.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Condra wrote a review Sep 2020
Los Angeles10 contributions7 helpful votes
Oxnard is essentially the poor man's Santa Barbara so I wasn't expecting much. That said, this resort is truly a dump in every sense of the word. Built in the 1970s, it appears to have been neglected in the decades since. The rooms are outfitted in worn corporate brown furniture with dirty, brown carpeting and old worn out and dinged particle board desks. The drains in the tub are slow and expect to sand in 3" of water by the end of your shower. The hallways throughout the resort are also dirty with soiled, tattered carpet. The resort has a central tropical "grotto" like layout. This would be nice but the pools are filthy and full of algae. On the plus side, the hotel if very close to the beach. Last thing: If you're a Hilton elite member, don't expect much. They refused to give me a late check out as a Diamond member even though they conceded the resort was empty claiming they were short staffed. Guess that says it all.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: September 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Sophia Frohnmayer, Guest Services / Front Office at Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Conda, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are very sorry to hear about the challenges during your stay and that we did not meet your expectations. During the past weeks we actually had been on a high occupancy and we are sorry that we were unable to provide you a later check-out as it is based upon availability for Diamond Guests. We will review your feedback in order to improve our guest experience. Stay Healthy and Safe!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kimposbl wrote a review Sep 2020
San Francisco, California69 contributions15 helpful votes
Pros: beach front, large heated pool, nicely landscaped property with numerous waterfalls, decent hot breakfast during COVID times (scrambled eggs, fried potatoes, sausage, french toast, biscuit and gravy), each 2-room suite has 2 full bathrooms, bath towels new and soft, plenty of parking in the underground parking lot on a weekday

Cons: outdated exterior and interior, not enough hand sanitizer dispensers throughout the property, happy hour limited to just soft drinks (no more alcohol), must make advance reservations for a 30 minute time slot for pool (minimizes pool crowding due to local health regulations), closed hot tub due to COVID, pool towels old and rough, Oxnard weather can be cold and foggy.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Sophia Frohnmayer, Guest Services / Front Office at Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort
Responded 21 Sep 2020
Dear kimposbl, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you had a great time with us and hope to welcome you back soon again! Stay Healthy and Safe!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rwheeler wrote a review Sep 2020
Santa Clarita, California684 contributions108 helpful votes
Looking for an escape from our COVID reality a friend of mine and I decided to venture out and we found ourselves at the Embassy Suites in Oxnard. Both of us had always heard great things about it. Maybe it was good back in the day but we were not feeling it.

The hotel is obviously a renovated older hotel. The rooms were modern and clean but were musty smelling. We found the sliding door to the hall very odd. We opened it thinking it may lead to a deck to find out it was the outdoor hall we had just been down.

Due to COVID you had to get a reservation to go in the pool. Since we missed that boat we were only able to lay by the pool. Besides being right on he beach there isn’t much else to do around the hotel. Hotel has potential but until then I will hold off on returning.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Sophia Frohnmayer, Guest Services / Front Office at Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort
Responded 21 Sep 2020
Dear rwheeler1977, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are very sorry to hear about the challenges during your stay and that we did not meet your expectations. We will review your feedback in order to improve our guest experience. Stay Healthy and Safe!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
npt4 wrote a review Aug 2020
Newbury Park, California5 contributions2 helpful votes
We had a great weekend family get away.
The hotel has good Covid policies in place..we felt safe.. front desk staff was great... pool times are by reservation and the pool staff managed that very well.. The breakfast To-Go was well set up.
My only suggestion is to offer free parking at this time to compensate for the limited hotel services and amenities due to Covid restrictions.

We have another stay booked.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Sophia Frohnmayer, Guest Services / Front Office at Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort
Responded 30 Aug 2020
Dear npt4, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you had a great time with us and hope to welcome you back soon again! Stay Healthy and Safe!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Previous

Questions & answers about the pool

Answer from Honest_Opinion69
Jul 2020 |
Hi. I haven't been there in a while. However, I read that it's not so good right now. A lot of the things that make it great are not available. If the pool is closed, (and I hard it is) and the playground in a near by park is closed as well, then this isn't a good time for the kids. All you're left with is the beach at the moment, which usually has a cold breeze blowing and the ocean is very cold.
2 votes
Show all answers
Answer from Suzanne W
Apr 2018 |
The pool certainly is big enough! But really don’t know. Call the resort directly.
1 vote
Show all answers
prachi25 asked a question Sep 2016
Cupertino, California15 contributions1 helpful vote
Do they have an Indoor heated pool for my November visit?
Answer from Chrys S
May 2019 |
They do not have an indoor heated pool, only an outdoor heated pool. But very nicely heated. I have visited there in every season and have not needed or wanted the pool to be indoors. At worst it might rain but it never got so cold that I didn't enjoy the pool and jacuzzis.
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
1