We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at Hartwood Inn

Room/Suite (3)
Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.comUS$76
Orbitz.comUS$76
TravelocityUS$76
CheapTicketsUS$76
TripadvisorUS$76
ZenHotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Room review highlights
... better and better by the day! I stayed 3 nights, and my room was clean, water was hot in shower, breakfast was great, tv...
... we could just book the rooms directly, Once she booked the room we went to the rooms to find that they were very dirty and...
... wedding started at Hartwood Inn for one night the first room air conditioner didn't work was moved to another room...

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
Jenny wrote a review Nov 2019
1 contribution
Do not mind the negative reviews, with the new management the hotel is getting better and better by the day! I stayed 3 nights, and my room was clean, water was hot in shower, breakfast was great, tv works great, wifi is fast, definitely recommend this hotel to people going through Charles City!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: December 2018Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
bmuthoni wrote a review Jul 2019
Atlanta, Georgia5 contributions7 helpful votes
We booked 2 rooms at the Hartwood Inn on arrival the receptionist advised they could not find our booking that we did on hotels.com. She took about 30 mins to troubleshoot and advised us we could just book the rooms directly, Once she booked the room we went to the rooms to find that they were very dirty and were not cleaned after the last guests. In addition, the rooms had a heavy smoke smell. I would not recommend this hotel.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Do not recommend this hotel
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 Helpful vote1 Repost
Helpful
Share
Response from GoPlaces05746448255, General Manager at Hartwood Inn
Responded 5 Oct 2019
Often, the online travel agencies require a getting-used-to period to understand how best to modify availability. This admittedly took us way too long to achieve. New management now has a year under our belt and we are getting better at this well organized reservation system. Come on back and see our new renovated rooms!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lwilliams702003 wrote a review Jul 2018
Chicago, Illinois1 contribution3 helpful votes
Went to my nephew wedding started at Hartwood Inn for one night the first room air conditioner didn't work was moved to another room carpet had bleached stains what looked like blood stains. Shower curtains had mode, blood stains and water pressure wasn't good. Rooms needs to be upgraded. Mattresses hard and uncomfortable. Appliances outdated. Wouldn't stay at this Inn and doesn't recommend this Inn to anyone. 😡🤬👎👎
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: July 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from GoPlaces05746448255, General Manager at Hartwood Inn
Responded 5 Oct 2019
Yes, there were several rooms in that building that we were not proud of. However, most of these rooms are now being renovated. More modern bedding and updated flooring makes this a place to come back and try again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
db6875 wrote a review May 2018
Myerstown, Pennsylvania19 contributions5 helpful votes
If you are traveling through Charles City, Iowa, Hartwood Inn is a great place to stay!! Free wifi, free breakfast, room service, friendly staff, clean rooms, A/C, fridge, microwave, etc. A quiet place along the Cedar River. Nothing fancy but perfect for my 3 day and 4 night stay! I would definitely stay again if the need arose!!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: May 2018Trip type: Travelled on business
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from HartwoodInn, Manager at Hartwood Inn
Responded 17 Oct 2019
We would love to have you back. Will it be a reunion with family and friends? A whitewater kyak event, a famous tractor museum, lawn tennis, or a peaceful canoe rides? We'd love to know why you love to visit our wonderful town! Thank you so much for the encouragement. The spirit of your compliment brings joy to my heart.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B A wrote a review Aug 2016
35 contributions6 helpful votes
I called to ask what the rate was and was given the rate (after I informed them of what date I would be staying there and how many people would be staying). While I was getting my card to book the room, after they knew what days I would be staying and after I verified the amount a 2nd time and was told the same rate, they then increased the amount. When I inquired about why the increase I was told "I dont believe I have to tell you that". I also notice on here that my review was deleted from here and that there was a reply that stated that I was quoted the price "assuming it was for the same night....." which they knew what night it was for from the beginning. Whenever I make reservations I ALWAYS check for availability first for the days that I want to stay before I even ask for the price. The price itself isnt what I am dissatisfied about......its the fact that when I asked why there was an increase in the rate I was rudely told "I dont think I have to tell you that". I have NEVER been told that before, I have always been told why there was an increase (whether its because of it being the weekend, a busy day in that town, etc) and now Im even more unhappy about the fact that they are lying about not knowing right away what day I was inquiring about and deleted my review from here. DONT STAY HERE!!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: April 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Natalia L, Owner at Hartwood Inn
Responded 27 Aug 2016
Your review was "deleted from here" by Trip Advisor because it violated their guidelines.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Previous