We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at The Cottage

Room/Suite (44)
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Room review highlights
The Moonlight treehouse was perfect for us. Room to stretch out and windows all around to see the trees. We had the most...
... was quaint and had tons of natural lighting. The loft bedroom provided a fun throwback to my youth, and the relaxing...
... allowing us to purchase one of their mugs straight from our room. We were confused by the lack of a trash can anywhere but...

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
Jeurop wrote a review Sep 2020
Jefferson City, Missouri11 contributions6 helpful votes
The Moonlight treehouse was perfect for us. Room to stretch out and windows all around to see the trees. We had the most relaxing time in this space. We loved the breakfasts (pre-made in mini fridge) and personal service. The kahuna chair massage in the shared space was wonderful! It was quiet and serene. Yes, you are by a road and occasionally hear vehicles driving by but mostly when you're outside, not inside. We highly recommend this experience.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: August 2020
Room Tip: Blinds on every window are nice. Also, the water usage is "loud" but doesn't last...
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Keely Pettijohn, Owner at The Cottage
Responded 6 Sep 2020
Ahhhhh, we are so glad that you guys enjoyed your time on the property. We hope you will remember us for future trips, and that we’ll actually get to visit with you when you come. Cheers!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skyler S wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
Stayed at the Sunrise treehouse, which was quaint and had tons of natural lighting. The loft bedroom provided a fun throwback to my youth, and the relaxing "nook" was wonderful for reading and kicking back. Breakfast was delicious and accommodating of dietary needs, with personable and professional service. Our host gave us a wonderful breakdown of the points of interest the first night, and they have binders explaining things in greater detail. It's quiet, tucked away behind a hill or (in our case) up above the road, but still minutes from downtown Hermann and the wineries. Was verbally recommended to us by multiple friends and we're telling everyone we know about it. Excellent B&B!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: March 2020
Room Tip: The Sunset cabin has a ladder, so only choose it if you're comfortable with a tall climb.
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Keely P, Owner at The Cottage
Responded 21 Mar 2020
Ahhhhh, thanks guys! We are so glad that you chose to stay with us while you were in town. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Gather up all those friends and come commandeer the entire property. 🥳
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tory wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
Almost everything about our experience was excellent. Very good staff, atmosphere, & amenities. Very accommodating to our needs including flexible check in time, continental breakfast in our fridge, and allowing us to purchase one of their mugs straight from our room. We were confused by the lack of a trash can anywhere but the bathroom & slightly mildewy towels. Still, would definitely recommend for a unique & memorable experience. We'll definitely be back!

P.S. They have an awesome ADA accessible cabin, too! Definitely a place worth spending your money at.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Keely P, Owner at The Cottage
Responded 6 Jan 2020
Hi Tory, and thank you for taking the time to write a review. I’m glad you guys enjoyed your time on the property and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Because of the size of the tree houses, we have one trashcan in the bathroom and larger trash cans down on the ground. I don’t know why you thought the towels smelled, but I promised they were fresh that morning. My own two hands can attest to it. Maybe I’ll buy a different fragrance of dryer sheets next time. Cheers!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydia T wrote a review Sep 2019
12 contributions7 helpful votes
+1
I could write all day about how much my husband and I enjoyed everything about our stay at The Cottage. Instead I will just list our favorite things! 1. The customer service was PHENOMENAL. The owners were extremely friendly, helpful, etc. I can easily say staying here I’ve had the best costumer service I’ve EVER had. The owners daughter-in-law was so accommodating, she literally had us checked in in less than minutes. Due to an unfortunate circumstance she got us a place with less than 4 hours notice. She texted several times to make sure our stay was perfect and was open and available to questions the whole time. 2. The Cabin In The Woods was so DARLING and cozy. We had a hot tub, bottle of wine and rose petals on the bed. It was so romantic and relaxing. 3. The breakfast was fantastic! The dinning room was very pretty and decorated so nice. The other customers at breakfast were also raving about how lovely their stay was.
We will be staying in Hermann a lot due to a family member moving to eastern Missouri recently. We will ONLY be returning to The Cottage for all of our visits. I cannot wait to visit the Tree Houses next with our children. I have literally no complaints- and that’s pretty rare for me. Don’t believe a single bad review you read about this place; they have a 5.0 rating on Facebook by 198 people. That’s almost unheard of.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Lee P, Owner at The Cottage
Responded 21 Sep 2019
Ahhhhh thanks. I’m so glad we were able to accommodate your needs on short notice. We look forward to seeing you many times again in the future and are honored that you would choose us again. Until next time-cheers! -Keely
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan H wrote a review Sep 2019
Winfield, Missouri20 contributions7 helpful votes
I was disappointed. I was given a gc from my daughter to stay there one night. When I reserved my room I was told I would have to pay an additional 50 to stay. I asked if the prices had changed since my daughter bought the gc but was told no that taxes were high. I went to their webpage the day before my stay and found the prices were 50 dollars lower than what they were charging us. I asked for the 50 dollar credit since the price was lower but she refused and even lied to us and said the price was never lower. I then showed her a print out with the lower price but then Keeley tried to blame it on taxes. All in all it was an unpleasant experience just trying to be fairly treated. I knew my daughter would be disappointed knowing they charged us 50 more. I would have waited until the day before to reserve a room if I knew the price was different. Keeley was rude and wasted our time arguing and even said she wasn't concerned about our review. It was an unpleasant experience.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Lee P, Owner at The Cottage
Responded 16 Sep 2019
Thomas- The gift certificate that was purchased was for $200. The room that you booked well in advance was our standard rate of $250 per weekday night. Our treehouses are in high demand so many choose to book in advance (as you did) to insure getting the date that works for you. We have a promotion going that we will rent out an available treehouse for $200 if you book one day prior to coming. That is not what you did, therefore you didn’t qualify for the discount. We make every effort to make our guests comfortable and their stay amazing.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Previous