We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at Watsons Bay Boutique Hotel

Room/Suite (66)
Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
US$185
View Deal
Free cancellation until 31/10/20
Reserve now, pay at stay
Travelocity
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Agoda.com
Expedia.comUS$185
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Room review highlights
... delightful and I highly recommend staying in a Harbourside room. We had room 109 and it was brilliant! It might be a...
... or restaurants to suit a variety of tastes and budgets. Our room was good with a great view, there was a bit of noise from...
... to arrive at this absolutely beautiful hotel. My balcony room was large and styled to perfection. The staff were friendly...

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
TheTravelWriter161 wrote a review Jul 2020
Sydney, Australia63 contributions25 helpful votes
+1
I booked a night for my partners Birthday with dinner at the beach club that evening.
From the phone booking, to the reception staff, bar staff and everyone in between, the service was outstanding, friendly, welcoming and efficient.
The food from the beach club was delicious, copious and well priced!
The rooms are totally delightful and I highly recommend staying in a Harbourside room. We had room 109 and it was brilliant!
It might be a little noisy in summer with the evening drinkers etc but mid week was perfect with just soft chill music wafting up to our room when the door was open.
The double bath was awesome and we loved our breakfast in bed as well!
An awesome stay which will not be forgotten. Definite to be repeated!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Peter B wrote a review Jun 2020
Summer Hill, Australia468 contributions19 helpful votes
+1
A great place to stay. Parking is available, a ferry from Circular Quay or Manly brings you to the wharf in front of the hotel.
There are good local walks and cafes or restaurants to suit a variety of tastes and budgets.
Our room was good with a great view, there was a bit of noise from the beer garden below the balcony on the Sunday night we were there but it was quiet after 10pm.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Helen B wrote a review Apr 2020
Adelaide, Australia220 contributions33 helpful votes
After an overnight flight from Japan I took the train then a short ferry ride and a pleasant stroll to arrive at this absolutely beautiful hotel. My balcony room was large and styled to perfection. The staff were friendly and helpful. Having a restaurant next door that served excellent food was a great convenience.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: March 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
KlausCroissant wrote a review Mar 2020
Tbilisi, Georgia31 contributions13 helpful votes
Relaxed atmosphere, relaxed decor and dining. Service relaxed, to the point of sloppiness. Prices on the other hand, quite stiff.
Lots of minor issues and things missing in room requiring endless calls or trips to reception. Staffed by loud (so loud) and relatively young people, often travellers, who are having a great time but are poorly trained, undisciplined, distracted and don’t interact with guests in a proper fashion. Requests are met with the mild annoyance of the entitled and slightly arrogant, as if one is interrupting their more important conversations with friends, colleagues or on social media, and not coming from people who are, in the end, paying their wages.
A lack of social skill and manners can only be blamed on upbringing but a lack of professional skill and respect falls to management. Rigorous training in simple things like not speaking loudly or coarsely, not chewing gum, serving from the left, making sure rooms are fully stocked, follow through on requests etc. are certainly not too much to ask in even modest accommodation.
While the views and environs are great and the location quite convenient, improving manners, etiquette and competence of staff would make this a place once could recommend without hesitation.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Judy B, Manager at Watsons Bay Boutique Hotel
Responded 9 Mar 2020
Hi Klaus, Thank you for your very constructive feedback. Please accept my apologies for the lapses in service you experienced during your stay. Sadly I cannot find your booking, I suspect you were booked in under a friend or partners name? I would have loved to have contacted you personally to chat about your stay and apologise in person. I totally agree that the staff behaviours described above are unacceptable ... I suspect you are referring to the food and beverage staff and not the front desk? Rest assured we will follow up with further training and supervision in all areas. I notice on your profile that you stay in hotels often and have made 34 other reviews so we really value your feedback. Please feel free to contact me directly should you wish follow up further. Warmest regards Judy Beardsell Accommodation Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bwingonwoger wrote a review Feb 2020
Brisbane, Australia3 contributions1 helpful vote
I’ve held off writing this review for several weeks so that the anger I felt whilst staying at WBBH had completely subsided and I could write with an objective perspective. I stayed there over New Years for a few days in a very nice room and knew full well that a party atmosphere and some noise would be part of the proposition. Indeed, it was one of the attractions. What I didn’t expect was thirteen hours of non stop rock concert level noise on NY eve afternoon and evening and another twelve hours of the same on NY day. The music levels in this place aren’t just loud, they are bone jarring, window rattling, walls thumping, can’t hear each other talk, loud. I have difficulty in expressing the volume level of the music system but it was beyond anything I’ve experienced. Closing the windows made little difference, it was coming through the walls. There was no point trying to have conversations in the room during this time when the music system was in operation, we had to literally shout to hear each other say anything. The music started at 1.00 after lunch on NY’s Eve and went until 2.00am. The following day, 11.00am until 11.00pm. I have no idea how the resident neighbours allow sound levels of this magnitude in what is principally, a residential area. The hotel and Doyle’s next door are the only commercial properties and you can hear the music loudly many, many houses away. We had to go for a walk away from the hotel several times to get some relief from this racket and most of the closer houses seemed empty. I can understand why.

This review wouldn’t have been written had the hotel just been a pub or music venue without any accomodation. If they want to make that much noise with their business, go ahead, risk your liquor licence and annoy the neighbours all you like. However, this venue pretends to provide boutique upmarket accomodation (and it is very nice) which surely must include some consideration for those staying in-house. They are promoting the accomodation part of the business as a luxury stay as implied in the name so there’s no getting around the principal of providing that level of experience. At $800 per night you would think that hotel guest’s comfort would be the overriding consideration here but the Laundy’s and their staff clearly regard that as secondary to operating a music venue with rock concert like noise levels. After nearly a century of ownership the Doyle’s must be rueing the day they sold the place to this mob a few years ago. The effect on their own restaurant next door must be profound also.

We’ve both been to plenty of loud concerts over the years so we aren’t wowsers but the effect on the overall stay was considerable. We both felt slightly unwell towards the end of the second day of this racket, feelings which persisted for another day or so. Effectively, it just ruined what should have been a lovely few days in a special part of Sydney.

Lastly, I’ve read the other reviews centred around excessive noise and there seems to be a standard response from WBBH management expressing surprised concern over the comments and the issue. Despite this, they continue holding these music events whilst taking $800 a night from unsuspecting patrons like myself expecting a luxury experience, knowing full well that the two are completely incompatible. And for the sake of appearances, vein concern at the complaints that follow. I’m now aware that the hotel holds many of these music events over the course of the year and I’d advise anyone to check very, very carefully about possible events during your intended stay. I won’t be going back.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from JudyB2741, Manager at Watsons Bay Boutique Hotel
Responded 2 Mar 2020
Thank for your review we really appreciate your comments and welcome the discussion about New years Eve and what to expect. Sadly I don't know your details as you have not specified your name here so I can't address your concerns in person. We are very disappointed that you did not enjoy your New Years Eve experience and would have loved to address this at the time 2 months ago but understand why it took you a while to voice your concerns. We totally welcome this discussion online as we do like to discuss the noise issue head on as we want guests to be fully informed prior to booking. We in fact sent 4 emails and made 2 phone calls to each guest booked on NYE and NYD to ensure they were fully informed. If your booking is the one I suspect it is I think we may have spoken to your brother and not you and I perhaps you didn't receive our NYE confirmation information? We also sometimes find that even though we repeatedly discuss with guests that this is a big noisy event they do not fully comprehend this, we totally understand and regret this. I wholeheartedly agree with your comments about the "Rock Concert" nature of New Years Eve and New Years Day. This is definitely what we offer for this period as opposed to our normal relaxed beach side experience. It is great that you have brought this up online so potential future guests for NYE and NYD fully understand the nature of the party atmosphere they will experience. When we have the opportunity to speak to guests prior to booking NYE we carefully try to assess if the guest expectations will be met by the event and in many cases actually suggest that this event may not suit the guest ie. guests with young children or under 18 year old, and older guests ( we also try not to stereotype as many over 50's do actually love the event). Thank you so much for bringing up this topic. Those looking for a relaxed beach side experience which we are normally known for should avoid the 2 weeks prior to Christmas when we have lots of events, Boxing Day, NYE, NYD and Australia Day when we always have large party events. Please don't hesitate to contact me personally should you ever wish to discuss any concerns. Warm regards Judy Beardsell Accommodation Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Previous