We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at Cutty Sark Efficiency Motel

Room/Suite (27)
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Hotels.com
Priceline
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Booking.com
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Room review highlights
... be a big deal to me, but my kid was hot boxed in the hotel room. We slept with the balcony door open, and it seemed...
... were no outlets in the bathroom and no mirrors in the other room so there was no way to dry your hair or get ready. There...
... and easy, the attendant was very pleasant. We had a balcony room on the top floor with a queen & sofa bed, nice...

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
L Mac wrote a review Jun 2020
York, Maine5 contributions5 helpful votes
The hotel is old but clean, and the staff was very friendly.

We just stayed at the Cutty Sark with a 16 month old. We chose this motel based on the rules from the website which read no visitors. Years ago, I wouldn’t have wanted this but this time it was exactly what we needed. It emphasized “family” motel and had a strict policy of quiet time and appropriate behavior.

Unfortunately, that standard didn’t hold true. During our last day and night, our neighbors were smoking weed and it was coming in through our AC units. It was ridiculously strong. When we told the innkeeper, he did speak to them and told my husband they would be done smoking and we could move to another apartment if we wanted to.

At this point, it was way past bedtime and we would have had to move all of our bags, a pack and play, and the baby. Of course, the neighbors were not done smoking and stayed up all night to do so. Years ago, this would not be a big deal to me, but my kid was hot boxed in the hotel room.

We slept with the balcony door open, and it seemed unprofessional to not kick those visitors out the second they decided to be inconsiderate to the rest of the guests.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Faith P wrote a review Aug 2019
2 contributions1 helpful vote
This place was so dated and smelled so bad that we left. There were a microwave and coffee pot but no where to plug them in. The stove was straight out of the 70s. There was a desk and chair so old that it should have been thrown into a fire pit. There were no outlets in the bathroom and no mirrors in the other room so there was no way to dry your hair or get ready.
There was no elevator and we were on the top floor. After we schlepped everything up we decided to leave and had to carry it all back down.
The pool was the size of a dining room table and tge plastic chairs around them were broken and unusable.
It was across the street from the boardwalk so the location was good. Thats where the good ends. If they took 3 rooms a year and updated them, it would benefit them greatly. Or maybe just a total tear down and rebuild. We payed over $750 for three nights. Please update your property.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from MsJAKoch, Innkeeper at Cutty Sark Efficiency Motel
Responded 3 Sep 2019
We are sorry we did not please. I sincerely do hope you found accommodations you did like and that you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful City of Virginia Beach. There are many choices to suit differing guest. You were mistaken, however, about outlets in the bathroom. All the bathroom cabinets have electrical outlets. We are sorry you did not see it and sorry you were inconvenienced. Mirrors are certainly in all our units as well. We have for 42 years offered vacationing families,well located, clean, safe, three star accommodations to suit their budget. Again, we are sorry we did not please.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea B wrote a review Aug 2019
Connecticut3 contributions
My Son My Daughter and I stayed at Cutty Sark In July & We loved it. Check-in was quick and easy, the attendant was very pleasant. We had a balcony room on the top floor with a queen & sofa bed, nice kitchenette(fridge, stove-top, oven, toaster oven, coffee maker, dish drainer, dishes, cutlery). The beds were comfortable, Tv worked. The bathroom was clean, the AC was nice & cold, the Spacious balcony overlooking the street with a slight view of the boardwalk & ocean was a great place to have my coffee every morning.
There wasn't a lot of space to put away our clothes but we made it work.
Definitely will stay at Cutty Sark again.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: July 2019
Room Tip: No elevators, so choose a lower floor if you don't like climbing stairs.
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
larennadolce wrote a review Apr 2019
Elizabeth, New Jersey21 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
The Cutty Sark is everything it was advertised as and more. We arrived significantly later than the normal check-in time but the front desk woman was so friendly and helpful. She made it clear that parking rules were to be followed: if we did not find a spot she would handle it immediately. I like that they stick to their rules to ensure all guests are accommodated, regardless of arrival time. The owner was still awake and greeted us warmly. The kitchenette and furniture were very 1950’s-esque, comfortable, and clean. The vintage look was so cute! The bathroom was bright and well-stocked with towels. What was the real selling point was the balcony view. We requested a room with an ocean view. We didn’t think this would be possible as the motel is across the street from the beach itself and didn’t appear that tall. I have never been happier to be wrong. The view was unobstructed and beautiful. The price was unbelievably low considering how comfortable the stay was and how conveniently located we were to great restaurants and the beach. I will most definitely be back whenever I return to Virginia Beach.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: April 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Melanie M wrote a review Apr 2019
Richmond, Virginia106 contributions19 helpful votes
While I have been going to Virginia Beach for years I don't think I ever noticed these cottages before. We stayed here only one night The cottage we stayed in was built in the 1940s. Walking into the guesthouse was like walking back in time. The decor was reminiscent of going into my grandmother's home. Everything was clean and quaintt with lace curtains on the windows and vintage style furniture, The bed was cushy and the shades were not room darkening and the lights from the street shone in all night. We enjoyed the porch for a picnic supper and we could see the ocean in the morning, We also met the owner who was delightful and takes pride in her hotel and quest houses.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous