We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge

Room/Suite (11)
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Room review highlights
... after a day in the hills. The views are stunning from every room and the unparalleled local knowledge of tracks by host Helen...
Our bedroom was clean and the place was warm, but we were expecting power so we could charge our phones. The kitchen bench had...
... with us. Super comfy beds, and the view from the glass bedroom wall to the sky was beautiful. A full vista of the stars...
Featured room amenities
Walk-in Shower
Non-smoking rooms
Non-smoking hotel

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
harv3999 wrote a review May 2020
Christchurch, New Zealand2 contributions1 helpful vote
A warm welcome and a beautifully maintained warm homely lodge was the perfect setting after a day in the hills. The views are stunning from every room and the unparalleled local knowledge of tracks by host Helen has added many adventures to my list. A great nights sleep after a home cooked meal and I was ready to tackle another peak the next day.
Can not fault my eco lodge experience and definitely recommend you to take a look.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: May 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Brian D wrote a review Apr 2016
Burswood, Australia12 contributions2 helpful votes
Our bedroom was clean and the place was warm, but we were expecting power so we could charge our phones.
The kitchen bench had crumbs and food out on it. Dishes stacked on the drain board. The kitchen wasn't clean. We would not have stayed, but it was late and there are few alternatives in this rather remote area.
There is no WiFi or phone coverage here, which the hostess (Fern) did tell us.
If we had clicked trough the details on TripAdvisor to her web page we would have known about the power and "no flush" toilet. I think that detail should probably be on the TripAdvisor page.
When we left, Fern asked us not to strip the bed, but to make it instead, which made us wonder whether we had slept on clean sheets.
At $160 were were expecting better.
There were lots of nice comments in the guest book, so evidently many people have enjoyed staying. Maybe this was just not a good time for our hostess. All in all we wouldn't have minded if it was clean, the toilet didn't smell and was half the price.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: April 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Helen N, Manager at Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge
Responded 28 Apr 2016
Thanks Brian for your feedback. I'm Helen, not Fern. You did made the observation that you should have checked my website. I could have charged your phone with the inverter off the solar charged batteries, had you asked. I did note that you did not complete the visitor book, as I has asked, although you had obviously perused it. The accusations of reused sheets is unfounded - most guests pull up the covers, and I service the room after work. I'm obviously not a the luxury end of the market- this is my home, but I hope you valued the experience of living off-grid.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingen, Australia8 contributions2 helpful votes
We staying for one night but wished had booked for longer. Helen is a wonderful friendly host, cooked great vego food, and happy to share her tramping knowledge with us. Super comfy beds, and the view from the glass bedroom wall to the sky was beautiful. A full vista of the stars from your bed. Great conscience effort by Helen to live ecologically friendly. Definitely be back.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: March 2015Trip type: Travelled with family
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Helen N, Owner at Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge
Responded 30 Mar 2015
I truly hope that your tramp further south has been worth the effort. And, start making a difference in your school, Robyn...gather those young people who have hope for the future and a conscience for doing something about their contribution. Till you return...
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naomi H wrote a review Jan 2015
8 contributions3 helpful votes
This was the last stop on our family tramping tour of mid-South Island, and it was truly the icing on the cake. We have 3 kids - 5yo, 7yo and 9yo - and we couldn't have come to a more welcoming home (Helen already has 12 grandkids!). Not to mention the ample range of interesting board games that Helen even spent evening time helping us to master. She was able to recommend a great family-appropriate hike for us on our stopover day, and supplied us with tasty, wholesome breakfasts and dinners like we're used to eating at home. Our kids could master the eco-toilet. The views from the lounge & bedrooms DO stop you in your tracks. And if you're lucky, you'll get a benign 6.0 earthquake experience like we did (almost fell out of bed)!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: January 2015Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Same view from both bedrooms.
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Helen N, Owner at Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge
Responded 11 Jan 2015
It was a totally lovely hosting your family, and playing "Gran" to some more grandies! Even better to have had the unique earthquake experience, although not something I can promise other guests. And you've purchased your own Zooloretto game yet?
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
small 3Q wrote a review Jan 2015
Taipei, Taiwan1,821 contributions83 helpful votes
+1
There are 2 rooms, both have 無敵景色.
No power, no socket. (回歸自然)
Shower: hot water is no problem.
無沖水馬桶, the ecological toilet (應該是使用酵素分解,沒什麼味道,但剛開始心裡覺~)
LED light by Solar. (avoid candle, because the wooden house)

溫馨的廚房,餐桌 and living room.
大陽台讓我教了 Helen 太極 (Taiji).

Breakfast: homemade break, Cream, natural Yogurt, especial home Honey.
這個天然蜂巢蜂蜜在中國是個奢侈食物.
(The bee belong Arthur’s Pass)

From Christchurch to Arthur’s Pass, 這條道路美景是最美紐西蘭.
Helen suggested us to take time to enjoy at Castle Hill (big rock).
(千萬不要只是從東岸衝到西岸趕路, take easy to enjoy the journey)

Nice dinner Helen prepared for us. White Wine 雷司令, 牛油果 Avocado Salad, Chicken Curry with rice and good good chocolate cake with Yogurt and Cream.

Helen is a very hot grandmother 溫和老人家.
貼心地讓我們睡到自然醒 10:30am.

感受一切自然 with Grandmom Helen of New Zealand.

From Esther and Phyllis of Taiwan
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: December 2014Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Helen N, Owner at Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge
Responded 7 Jan 2015
We had such a lot of fun. Thanks for staying. It was such a privilege to get to know you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Previous