We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at Chalet Grand Pre Cottages

Room/Suite (9)
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Room review highlights
... which helped control the mosquitos at night as well. The room was spacious for the 7 of us who stayed here and we were...
... were hard as a rock. Not enough seating for 4 in the living room, chair was rickety. No grab bars in the shower. Bathroom...
... what we thought was a 7 night stay. We walked into our 2 bedroom standard cottage and wished we could have turned around...
Featured room amenities
Kitchenette
Hair Dryer
Laundry Service
Refrigerator in room
Iron
Kitchenware
See all room amenities (13)

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
Julie A wrote a review Aug 2018
27 contributions7 helpful votes
We stayed here for 4 nights for a family reunion. We were very leery about booking given some of the reviews from the last but one of our cousins did some scouting and assured us that there had been upgrades. The staff were great about accommodating our large crowd and we got a decent rate for our stay. When we arrived I was pleasantly surprised. Yes, occasionally there is an ‘aroma’ from the dairy farm next to us but it wasn’t often. The view from our executive cottage was beautiful and the location was great for getting to many tourist destinations around the island. We loved the large open grounds where we could gather and play games with the whole family, the pool was clean and there is a nice little play area for kids. The grounds are kept very well which helped control the mosquitos at night as well. The room was spacious for the 7 of us who stayed here and we were relieved that the units had air conditioners given we were in a big heat wave. The wood paneling inside was lovely. What kept this review from being a 4 star? While there clearly have been some upgrades, more will be needed to improve the overall rating and experience. Our loveseat was broken in the middle and being held together by Velcro, the beds were apparently replaced last year but ours had a complete indent on either side so either it wasn’t replaced or it was a poor quality mattress and needs to be replaced again. The drawers in the kitchen and bathrooms were not on tracks so they could fall at any moment. The decor is very dated and blackout curtains in the bedrooms would be nice. But for the price and location this was a lovely place to stay. The staff were also very helpful.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
brendielee1962 wrote a review Sep 2016
Dennysville, Maine11 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
Horrible, 4 of us stayed in #12. Bunk bed was so bad we thought it would collapse (spoke to the owner, said she knew the were loose but didn't think they would fall). All beds were hard as a rock. Not enough seating for 4 in the living room, chair was rickety. No grab bars in the shower. Bathroom curtains do not provide privacy. Right next to a cow pasture and the smell was horrible Spoke to management after first night, nothing she could do. Was told there was a continental breakfast, went down a little after 7 am to find it locked, went back to tell them we would be checking out early, when asked why, I told of all the problems in the cottage. Have since spoke to the owner and she doesn't think there is a problem with anything. Would have left after the first night if we hadn't already paid for 3 nights, left after the 2nd night.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: September 2016Trip type: Travelled with family
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Helen C, Owner at Chalet Grand Pre Cottages
Responded 23 Sep 2016
brendielee1962 We are located in rural PEI, and we are next to a dairy farm. What you were smelling was silage from the farm, and while we cannot change the direction of the wind, most days you would not even know the farm was there. When you checked in, you were told about the continental breakfast and that it started at 8 am. It has always started at 8 am, and we wouldn't have told you any differently. There is a full size sofa that seats 3 people and a swivel rocker in the living room. You said that the chair went every which way, well that is what a swivel rocker does. Hotel/Motel beds are in the middle between soft and firm, and we have had other people tell us that our beds are too soft. The bunk beds do move a bit, but are securely bolted and would not collapse. You, at no time asked about safety rails, therefore we were unaware that you required a unit that was equipped with safety bars in the bath. We feel badly that your group was so unhappy with everything. With all of our cottages being full for the first two nights, we would have willingly accommodated you in another unit for the third night. Kind regards, Helen
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katrionab wrote a review Aug 2016
Orangeville Ontario32 contributions38 helpful votes
We had stayed here 12 years ago and it wasnt bad. Last week we checked in for what we thought was a 7 night stay. We walked into our 2 bedroom standard cottage and wished we could have turned around and walked out. Where do I start? The first thing that hit us was the funky smell, it was disgusting! The wallpaper was peeling from the wall, the couch was covered in crumbs, the chair was shaggy and dirty, the beds were hard a rock and low to the ground (only a matress on a board, no box spring or proper bed frame) the sheets were old, scratchy and covered in past stains. Tiny little scratchy stained towels. There was one old small dented dirty dresser to put clothing in the masterbedroom. Almost all The plugs did not work, our chargers kept falling out. I could go on and on. We stayed only one long sleepless night and left the next day.The whole place was gross, go somewhere else!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: August 2016Trip type: Travelled with family
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Pandora W wrote a review Aug 2016
13 contributions16 helpful votes
We stopped in PEI for the night in July on our East Coast road trip and were lucky enough to snag a cancellation here. The grounds were amazing and family friendly, our kids enjoyed time in the pool as well as the hot tub. Picnic tables were scattered about and each cottage had a deck. The inside was clean and tidy and each cottage had AC.

We got a 2 bedroom cabin with a kitchenette and washroom with a small living area. The one bedroom had bunks and a single, and the other had a queen. It perfectly fit our gang of 4 kids and 2 adults!

We really enjoyed the accommodations and are looking forward to coming back next year!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: July 2016Trip type: Travelled with family
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
KarenP23335 wrote a review Jul 2014
Moncton, Canada1 contribution2 helpful votes
I recently stayed at these cottages and was less than impressed. I realize that these cottages are older and people may not want to invest in a large renovation, however a good cleaning would go a long way. The cottage was a small 2 bedroom (which is what I was looking for) and the location was good...however when I entered the cottage I was overwhelmed with a damp, wet animal smell...despite the fact that they were in the process of "cleaning" our rooms. The staff seemed very friendly, but I could not look past the not so little things. There were dead flies left on the walls and windows...and the living room area furniture was old, stained and smelled sour...at the rate of $150+ I was sick after seeing our little vacation cottage. If the cancellation rate was not so outrageous, we could have walked away and closed the door...I would never recommend this place to a friend or family member...there are lots of other places on the island to stay at...and this is not one of them...not a good bang for your buck....
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: July 2014Trip type: Travelled with family
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share