We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at High Lodge Leisure Ltd

Room/Suite (12)
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Room review highlights
... Retreat (willow lodge) which is advertised as a one bedroom luxury lodge. On first impressions not wowed to be honest....
... and comfortable beds. Some have big lounges and small bedrooms or vice versa. Outlook over small lake with lots of ducks...
... pub served us amazing food and we were gutted we didn’t save room for deserts! We got a taxi into Southwold on the Saturday...
Most popular question about the rooms
... to fill the fridge before I start! Want to take some frozen things but just not sure how much is suitable. Is there enough room for beer and wine as well as food in the fridge?
Answer from Highlodge
Dec 2016 |
Hi, our Claywood 2 lodges have separate normal single size fridge and freezer. Therefore you can expect to get everything in them ...
Read more

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
Dencroft wrote a review Jan 2020
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom1,332 contributions197 helpful votes
+1
My husband and myself stayed 4 nights over the New Year Period.
We needed to recharge our batteries after the run up to Christmas as its the busiest time at work for us- so we wanted to go away and chill and relax.
We always stay in Hoseasons Autograph or high edge lodges for our breaks.
Our accommodation this time was the Autograph Claywood Retreat (willow lodge) which is advertised as a one bedroom luxury lodge.
On first impressions not wowed to be honest. The lodge was clean but the seating area in the lounge had been updated from the brochure pictures and now only has a two seater sofa and a small arm chair, you couldn’t BOTH lay and sprawl out, it was so cramped and uncomfortable, clearly the owners had not spent the money... such a shame the lounge is crying out for two sofas or better still a lovely comfy L shape sofa to relax and watch tv on.
The smart tvs both worked well on our stay and the free internet was excellent to watch Netflix etc.
We cooked meals every evening and kitchen was clean and well equipped. Full size freezer, fridge, dishwasher, washing machine and good oven and hob.
The bedroom was huge but sadly we found the mattress on the bed uncomfortable (not pocket sprung) so didn’t sleep too well.
Shower room smelt very musty which in turn made the bedroom smell? no hooks to hang dressing robes or towels on either.
Outside was pleasant both front and back of the lodge had verandas with nice views.
Sadly for us after staying in other properties the hot tub area on the willow lodge was horrid, basic and we just didn’t feel like using it. When we opened the lid the smell of strong chemicals was completely overwhelming and really felt like why would you immerse your body in that??? Of course I do understand it has to have chemicals in and was checked daily Like I say, we always stay in luxury accommodation with hot tubs and have never ever felt like that and not used it - it didn’t help that the hot tub area is very overlooked by the next lodge and there’s no privacy at all! Also note to owner- hooks for robes and towels are missing?
We was aware when booking High lodge is very remote and the only place you could walk to at the end of the drive is a bakery. Southwold was around a 10 minute drive away which was excellent for us.
High lodge has a small golf course (which was closed due to being waterlogged) High lodge is mainly used for clay shooting, which brings me on to it’s not a quite retreat...
when we arrived on Monday 30th December we actually had to queue for ages with the shooters (absolute mayhem) to book in and pick up our keys (had paid £25 for early 1pm check in) apparently we managed to arrive on their busiest day!
All afternoon bang bang bang and car’s overspilling the car park and parking along the road outside our lodge..... not really “relaxed peaceful retreat” we were both hoping for.
Yes there are other Lodge’s positioned on a fishing lake further away but you could still hear the shooting as we walked around there.
My husband used the small fishing lake to the side of our lodge and had a lovely time.
All in all we had a lovely time visiting the coastal areas of Suffolk but wouldn’t return to High lodge, little things definitely need to be tweaked
So for us the Lodge was just Average.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Highlodge, Customer Relationship Manager at High Lodge Leisure Ltd
Responded 6 Jan 2020
Thank you for your review and we are very sorry to hear that our Claywood lodge Willow was not as you had expected. We have not received any comments from previous guests regarding not enough seating for 2 people but we certainly take your comments on board and will look at this the next time the lodge is due to refurbished. Our Claywood lodges all have new Hypnos mattresses so we are sorry to hear that you found the bed uncomfortable - mattresses are a very personal thing and everybody will have their own preference for mattress firmness/softness etc. We have already completed some work to the en-suite bathroom to improve the lack of air which we believe may have been the cause of the smell you describe and also hooks for robes are all due to be fitted this month so thank you for making us aware of these issues - we can only address issues once we are made aware of them. It is not unusual to notice a chemical smell when first lifting the hot tub lid, this is due to the tightness of the lid which acts as a seal to keep the heat in, but you are always welcome to speak to any member of staff whilst on site if you have any concerns regarding the hot tubs, however a chemical smell is a good sign of a clean hot tub so should not be of any concern. Christmas is a very busy period for us and unfortunately due to the recent wet weather customer parking was an issue, however we do have a plan in place for this moving forward which will be put into action ahead of our busy period this year and we have notified our booking agent so that guests looking to book are made aware of this period being busier than usual. Again we apologise that your stay was not as expected, but thank you for making us aware of the issues you experienced so we can rectify these for future lodge guests.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne M wrote a review Dec 2019
Halstead, United Kingdom796 contributions127 helpful votes
+1
Very nice lodge. Clean and comfortable beds. Some have big lounges and small bedrooms or vice versa. Outlook over small lake with lots of ducks was lovely. Nice balcony for the warm weather.
Downs - gunshot sounds quite a lot spoils the peace. No bread board, chopping board or scouter were supplied. Shower in main bathroom not hot enough.
Read more
Read less
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Highlodge, Customer Relationship Manager at High Lodge Leisure Ltd
Responded 12 Dec 2019
Thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. If you stay with us again please let us know if you need anything in your lodge that isn’t in there as we can soon provide these for you (although the items mentioned are standard so should have been in your lodge). We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robster_the_lobster wrote a review Mar 2019
Cambridge, UK10 contributions8 helpful votes
My wife and I spent Friday to Monday in Oak lodge. The lodge was huge, clean and there was nice touches like complimentary fudge and milk. The hot was amazing, had multi changing lights and a light outside for the dark evenings.

On the Friday afternoon we ate at The Queens Head in Bramfield. This was open for food all day, everyday (whereas the Adnams pubs shut for a while in afternoon). This pub served us amazing food and we were gutted we didn’t save room for deserts!

We got a taxi into Southwold on the Saturday and explored Walberswick and Dunwich on Sunday.

Amazing, relaxing break in a quite location with lots of privacy.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Highlodge, Customer Relationship Manager at High Lodge Leisure Ltd
Responded 22 Mar 2019
Thank you for your review and we’re pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. It’s also lovely to hear that you had a lovely meal at The Queens Head in Bramfield as this is a good recommendation for other guests staying at High Lodge. We look forward to welcoming you back if you stay in the area again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray R wrote a review Dec 2018
Southampton, United Kingdom116 contributions26 helpful votes
+1
Went here for a long weekend, primarily for the clay pigeon shooting on site. We hired a one bedroom “Waters Edge Lodge” ours was Greenfinch, it was superb, extremely spacious, spotlessly clean and very well equipped. Everthing was in almost new condition, the heating worked brilliantly it was faultless in every way. The clay shooting facilities are up with the very best in the country. There are most disciplines available, Sporting, Skeet, Compac, DTL, ABT and Sport trap. It is very well organised, well staffed and most importantly very safe. Onsite shop selling shooting and golf items, they even stored my gun for me in a gun safe each night. There is an on-site cafe/restaurant not open in the evenings, famed for its Sunday roasts. The staff could not be more helpful, they are a real asset to the business and genuinely seemed very happy in their work, they certainly made our stay really enjoyable, I am already planning a return visit.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: December 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Highlodge, Customer Relationship Manager at High Lodge Leisure Ltd
Responded 5 Dec 2018
Thank you for your lovely review and I will make sure the staff see your complimentary comments. We would be delighted to welcome you back again should you decide to stay in the area in again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madmanz1978 wrote a review Nov 2018
Bedford, United Kingdom2 contributions
Wonderful place to stay extremely clean lots of little touches to make it perfect. Hot tub was excellent. All the amenities you would need. Lovely views so peaceful didn’t want to come home. En suites were amazing.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: November 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Highlodge, Customer Relationship Manager at High Lodge Leisure Ltd
Responded 13 Nov 2018
We’re glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at High Lodge, and would love to welcome you back should you take a break in Suffolk again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Previous

Questions & answers about the rooms

Answer from Highlodge
Dec 2016 |
Hi, our Claywood 2 lodges have separate normal single size fridge and freezer. Therefore you can expect to get everything in them that you would get in a normal size fridge and freezer at home. Hope that helps, and look forward to seeing you soon.
1 vote
PreviousNext
1