We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Pool
at Canareef Resort Maldives

Pool & Beach (222)
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Pool review highlights
... half absolutely loved it was so entertaining and funny. The pools are all clean beautiful and good temperature and toilets...
... We got to know them all quite well as we always used the pool there as it was only a minute walk to the villa. We had the...
... are the jewel in the crown here from Kumar & Hussain in the pool bar to our waiter Shafiz who anticipated our every need with...
Featured pool amenities
Outdoor pool
Poolside Bar

Reviews that mention pool

Write a review
Kathleen wrote a review Mar 2020
10 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
Amazing stay at Canareef I’ve so much to include will try to keep it as simple as I can. From arriving at Male where we were met by a rep from Canareef to the end of the trip I can honestly say all staff have been amazing. Friendly polite very helpful always smiling would go out of their way to help you for example my luggage was lost they went above and beyond to get this back. This was not their problem the luggage was in Heathrow but they dealt with it and sorted it so thank you. Again we went the the local village and came across Abdul from house keeping he showed us around the village again going above and beyond this is not part of his job nor was he even at work he was on his break thank you very much Abdul such a nice gent. Kevin the manager has been so nice and kind to us helping us with lots of things for example giving us a better bug repellent and also a room upgrade to better accommodate our family. Again not his problem but went out of his way to help us thank u Kevin. All staff are so welcoming they have manners and are all so professional and best of all they are genuinely nice people. The south beach at Canareef is beautiful you the sand is pure White the sea is pure turquoise like you would expect to see in the Maldives the buggy’s can bring you to and from there in a matter of minutes and there is a nice little bar for refreshments which beer soft drinks and some mocktails are included in all inclusive. The private beach area outside your bungalow may not be the best for swimming in however you still can do this it’s just not as clear however it is so peaceful absolutely no one around you can just chill and listen to the sound of the waves with a little breeze most relaxing feeling ever! Dolphin cruise was amazing you see hundreds of dolphins even up close when you go to the front of the boat. The spa was amazing! Look out for deals when you arrive it’s a must. All inclusive consisted of breakfast lunch dinner buffet style, different theme every day for lunch and dinner. very big variety for all 3 meals we have been here 18 days and always had different meals. There’s also many stations each day where things are cooked fresh infront of you fried eggs omelettes pancakes and waffles at breakfast many lamb and beef dishes cooked infront of you for you liking. Nan bread and lots of pastas cooked fresh infront of you to to order. The food is really tasty and never disappoints. All inclusive drinks one beer which was nice one of each wines which were decent too about 7 or 8 different cocktails and mocktails that were delicious pina colada daquari blue lagoon mai tai many more and obvs all your spirits waters soft drinks teas and coffees. Dhoni bar also does a small snack plate at certain time as well. Rooms are beautiful and spacious I would recommend jacuzzi room for a family as it’s a good bit bigger also you have a nice back area as well as front so you could go out there and sit while the kids take a little nap or watch some tv if they are too warm. Rooms made up twice a day you will always have fresh towels and sheets. Entertainment very good although We have not been out late but the band are amazing singers and are very outgoing and fun, the crab race was really good my little boy 2 and a half absolutely loved it was so entertaining and funny. The pools are all clean beautiful and good temperature and toilets around the island very clean. All in the place is just beautiful we have had an amazing time and we have a baby and a two year old with us I can only imagine how much more relaxing this place would be if you were on honeymoon or something. I don’t want my review to come across in a way where it’s too good to be true there are a few of things personally I would change which are all really small kids club would have that grass outside cut down to make it look more appealing as the outdoor play area did actually look nice (nicer than pictures and more modern) only the tall grass put us of as like any tropical place there is bugs. A baby changing unit would be good in the toilets. I’d also do away with one of the cleans a day and have house keeping focus on a bit of a deeper clean or checking out stuff that could be better maintained with the time they would save going back and forward to each place twice and being in each place twice. Not that I think the place is unclean because it’s not just I think that extra time would make an even better standard and clear up any of those fussier reviews with pictures of basic ware a tear. I also think it would be good to put a little brush and dust pan in each room so guests could get on top of the sand they tread in. All in brilliant place definitely would come back can see the management have made a lot of changes from reviews from the past so only go on recent reviews! Also I’ve spoke to a number of different people here and no one has had a bad word to say! Thank you Canareef! your staff are a credit to the island Ickleel, Abdul, Robal all the guys in the bar and Jessica from the band thank you for your amazing hospitality and putting up with us and our children hope to come back soon!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Sandwich 1962 wrote a review Mar 2020
11 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
The 16hr travelling was forgotten the minute you arrive at the jetty via speedboat the view is paradise. Check in was very quick and we were in our villa within 15 minutes. We have a jacuzzi villa on the sunset side of the island which is the better side, the sunrise villas have the rough sea.
The villa was huge with a large 4 poster bed, outdoor bathroom with a jacuzzi and 2 sun beds and the back of the villa a big veranda with table and chairs and another 2 sun beds on the sand. We had number 508 which was roughly in the middle of the island which I was glad about
The beach by the villas is beautiful and the sea so calm and warm. We went to the far south of the island which had a beach bar and ample of sun beds and did a bit of snorkelling.
The food was very good always something that I liked and I am a very fussy eater. Our waiter Ikeel was lovely and very knowledgeable about the island and I liked the idea of having the same waiter and table throughout our stay.
We went to the Dhoni bar a few evenings but we liked the Meera bar staff amazing. We got to know them all quite well as we always used the pool there as it was only a minute walk to the villa. We had the pool practically to ourselves the first few days then maybe 6 people towards the end of the week The waiters Shahumeen , Sampack and another waiter from Bangladesh were amazing. As soon as we got to our sun beds we had drinks brought over to us and help with parasols etc. On our last night Shahumeen set up a table on the beach with lights in the trees and a sculpture of a dolphin in the sand with a message hope to see you soon I was gobsmacked did not know what to say. He was amazing a credit to the hotel. Also we only got coffee mate in the room so we asked the bar for proper milk so they delivered a big glass to our villa for us
The dolphin trip was amazing best I’ve ever been on and I do a dolphin trip every holiday, there were loads of dolphins jumping out of the water doing turns in the air fabulous. We got that trip free due to being all inclusive maximum of 18 on the boat. This is a must trip to do.
Our housekeeper was Rubel and he also was amazing. He came twice a day and always had a chat with us if we were in.
All in all a fabulous holiday where all the staff said good morning or just hello and cannot wait to go back. I even learnt to ride a bike whilst I was there but hard work in that heat. Beware the sun is very strong we sat in the shade most of the week.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
tharanh wrote a review Feb 2020
leamingtonspa39 contributions43 helpful votes
If you want to relax and chill this is the place to do it !
The staff are the jewel in the crown here from Kumar & Hussain in the pool bar to our waiter Shafiz who anticipated our every need with a smile . Such lovely lovely people ! Wherever you go on this island you are met with a cheery hello and the broadest smile from each & everyone of the staff including the lovely ladies sweeping up leaves .
Second reason to come back was the food - oh my ! I challenge you to come back at the same weight you were when you arrived - the selection & quality on the buffet is amazing. The fantastic chef is always on hand to ask you if you’re happy or if there’s anything else you would like in the vast array on offer . If you like curry you are in for a real treat - try the unusual veg curries - loofah , banana , beetroot - delicious - with freshly made naan breads , dosas & alloo parathas to die for ! The food offering if possible was even better than last year with more freshly made dishes & an amazing array of stunning salads . The biryani is the best I’ve ever tasted .
Many improvements going on round the island , which are done overnight so as not to disturb guests holidays . The guest is most definitely the number 1 priority here .
I could go on about this wonderful place but I think most things have been covered elsewhere. Anyone not happy with this resort it’s their issue and not the resorts I can assure you . The atmosphere of this island with the sunshine , smiles , bicycles & Olympic pool in my opinion will guarantee you a perfect chill out holiday .
Will be back next year & thank you to you all for making the distance travelled so very worth it !
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from KevinGTheseira, General Manager at Canareef Resort Maldives
Responded 5 Mar 2020
Dear Tharanh, Greeting from Canareef Resort Maldives and thank you for taking the time and effort to write about your stay with us. We are happy that you have and continue to be our guest. Thank you for the wonderful review on the resort, the staff , our food and facilities. We will definitely forward your comments to the staff concerned. Yes, we are constantly making changes to improve the resort and sometimes it is located in an area that can bother our guest, If this is so then we would only work at night in order to have the least disruption to guest. We look forward to welcoming you again to Canareef Resort Maldives next year and wish you all the best for the year ahead. Thank you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kym P wrote a review Feb 2020
54 contributions18 helpful votes
+1
I must admit I was wary, friends have been to the Maldives and had nothing but fabulous things to say but after I had booked I read some reviews that were not as good as the ones I had read beforehand.
I need not have worried.
From when we had arrived we have absolutely nothing but fabulous things to say about the resort,
Our villa was amazing, right on the beach, the most comfortable bed I’ve ever slept on, spotlessly clean and very large.
The food (which was buffet style) was plentiful and always very tasty, also a huge selection which changed daily.
Our waiter, well i could not praise him enough, Soli thank you for the wonderful service, the vast amount of knowledge shared regarding the food, the island and the history of the Maldives.
Totally recommend the dolphin cruise, great fun and amazing sights.
The bars were comfortable, clean with a good choice of cocktails. Our waiter, Kumar was fabulous, efficient with an amazing smile.
The pools were lovely, very clean (rather warm) but great.
The toilets on the resorts were absolutely spotless.
So in all nothing negative to say except (and this is out of the resorts hands) is the weed in the sea, unfortunately about 6 ft from the shore and if you are a bit squeamish then it’s not very pleasant to walk on.
So please if you want to visit The Maldives try The Canary Resort you won’t be disappointed !
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from KevinGTheseira, General Manager at Canareef Resort Maldives
Responded 23 Feb 2020
Dear 376kymp, A very Big Thank you to you for taking the time and effort to write down the details of your experience whilst staying in Canareef Resort Maldives on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate your views. We are very happy that you have found our villas amazing, the bed comfortable, clean and large. The food good and tasty. The services wonderful. The Swimming Pools and Toilets clean and you liked the island in general. Whats most important, is that you had a good holiday with us. We also thank you for the commendations given to Mr. Solih your restaurant waiter and Mr. Kumar the Bartender, we will ensure that we highlight your comments to them personally. Again thank you for being our guest and we look forward to welcoming you again to Canareef Resort Maldives.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heartofmaldives wrote a review Feb 2020
Poole, United Kingdom40 contributions19 helpful votes
We stayed here during October and November 2019 with three children aged between 5 and 10. The island is stunning, whichever room you take you have complete privacy. We stayed in all room types. Sunrise villas are on the outer atoll side so you cant swim here and there is no beach, yet watching the sunrise is a treat and it only takes a few steps to get to the lagoon side beach. Sunset villas are beach side to the lagoon and more practical if you have kids. Jacuzzi rooms are huge, four poster bed, and on lagoon side. All are very practical and pretty. Wifi very good. This place is soo long and narrow, you can hire bikes to explore the 3 miles or just call a beach buggy taxi. Beaches are gorgeous, house reef with 100% visibility. All the usual fish and nice corals. Had a turtle and manta visit our ocean right in front of villa!
Food is so varied and delicious and staff are very friendly and helpful. The in house singing duo at the disco are lovely and my daughters danced the night away with them. Water sports include banana, sup, jet ski etc and they are a fab team. Diving school offering some of the best dives in Maldives including 5 metre resident manta and the biggest shipwreck in Maldives. Olympic swimming pool and another, 2 bars and a beach bar. Gym, spa, tennis courts, kids club. This is a place where you can be as active or chilled as you like. Just a 15 minute speedboat away are four local islands where you must go and feel the love of the maldivians. Loved every minute of being on this paradise!
Pina colada excellence from the fab barmen!
Thank you Canareef and see you soon.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: October 2019
Room Tip: best rooms for a family 100's, 200's rooms near reef 600's
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from KevinGTheseira, General Manager at Canareef Resort Maldives
Responded 21 Feb 2020
Dear Heartofmaldives, Thank you for taking you precious time to write a review on Tripadvisor on your experience at Canareef Resort Maldives. We value your comments and thank you for your comments on our rooms, Beaches, Bicycles,Delicious Food, friendly staff, Diving facilities and water sports. We also are glad that you enjoyed our resident entertainers and that your children had a good time whilst here. We hope to be able to again be your host on your next trip to the Maldives and we look forward to meeting you again. Until then we wish you all the best that life has to offer. Thank you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Previous