We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
Panoramas (15)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

6,722 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 6,254: English reviews
Naperville, Illinois, United States
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We just returned from a stay at the Rio Mar and while the property and location was very nice the resort lacks attention to detail and friendly service. With the exception of Juan who served us breakfast all other staff seemed uninterested in the guests. Trash was regularly left in place around the facilities and the rooms are in need...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joi H
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to detail your experience regarding your visit to our resort. Allow us to preface with an apology for your disappointment, as this is certainly not indicative of the experiences our guests usually have at our property. We do wish that we would have been able to reverse your impression prior to...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Property is about 30 min from San Juan so cannot really walk to other restaurants outside resort so they have a captive audience and food in the restaurants was mediocre at best and bad most of the time and very expensive. Plus, hotel has the nerve to charge 15% resort fee per day . That's 15% not $15 which is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ADB_MD
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your overall experience during your visit. We are glad you enjoyed the pool, beach and playground area. A resort fee is a nightly surcharge to cover the cost of certain amenities. Unlike room rates, which vary hugely according to season, the resort fee is generally a fixed...

Stuart
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Luis H
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 21 January 2014

If you would like your trip to Puerto Rico to include an overcrowded hotel, bad service, and a symphony of sound 24/7, your search has ended. Book now! If you want a peaceful resort with excellent rooms, fantastic service, and a great getaway, then RFR (run, Forrest, run) and book anywhere else but here. You'll thank yourself. Three words? Crowded,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LV_Lee
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for the gift of feedback. Your compliments to Samil are appreciated and I will share your comments with him. Allow me to preface with an apology for the service mishaps which you encountered. We can only imagine how disappointed you were. We can assure you this is highly unusual, and regret that you left with...

Danville, Illinois
Reviewed 20 January 2014

The resort was clean but old. The room had no microwave or refrigerator, for an additional fee they would bring one. Paid enough for the room already. The pool closed at 9pm come on this is an adult resort or I thought so anyway. Hike all day; come back clean up go eat come back intending to relax in hot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank iesllce4
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the facilities and nearby attractions. However, we are apologetic for the inconveniences and hope that this will not deter you from staying with us in future. We will continue to improve and make every effort to ensure that all of our guests have a great stay with...

Sacramento, California
Reviewed 20 January 2014

In terms of service this is the worst resort I have ever stayed at. The hotel staff is rude and does not understand the meaning of service. They are slow, inattentive and have poor attitudes. I was in the workout room. They were out of towels. I asked, waited 15 minutes, asked again, waited fifteen minutes and when I asked...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank DCBeard
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We will continue to improve and make every effort to ensure that all of our guests have a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us. Once we are aware of any dissatisfaction we make every effort to resolve the problem and or make amends. Please feel free to contact me anytime so that I can apologize personally and...

Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I would recommend Wyndham riomar to anyone wanting a couples weekend get away,specially now that the hotel will be undergoing a complete renovation. Food is excellent,specially at Palio's,and for the golf enthusiast there are two 18 hole courses.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marthad7
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us overall; especially the food and golf. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. GRAND regards, Danny Williams General Manager

Hubbard, Oregon
Reviewed 19 January 2014

This was an amazing getaway for me. I needed some sun and solitude to escape my stressful life at work and at home. The one VERY negative aspect of this was the fact that the resort refused to come and pick me up at the airport. They said that I failed to give them 24 hours notice. Well, my feelings...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wendy C
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review. Your compliments to Marlin, Juan, Sue and Service Request Agents are appreciated. I believe without a doubt that the team is what makes us special and a great success. We regret that you were misinformed by your travel company and apologize for the inconvenience. We look forward to your next visit. GRAND...

Berrien Springs, Michigan
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We had a great experience at the Wyndham Grand Rio Mar. Our room was spacious and comfortable with a beautiful view of the ocean. Service was excellent and breakfast (Marbella) was superb. We will definitely come back.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Myrna929
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Our goal as a team is to create memorable experiences for our guests. Thank you for the gift of feedback. We look forward to your next visit! GRAND regards, Danny Williams General Manager

Guaynabo
Reviewed 19 January 2014

There were a few outstanding things about this recent vacation at your property, but some that were actually not good at all so this is why I give a mixed review. Beach and Pool, great, room, great... restaurant not very good except the fact that there were a number of GF options on menu. Room upkeep terrible- had to call...

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Catherine I
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are glad you enjoyed the pool, beach and room. We apologize for the inconveniences. Please, rest assured that your concern has been relayed to upper management and we are currently working on improving the areas you mentioned. We look forward to your next visit! GRAND regards, Danny Williams General Manager

3,561 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2909)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (504)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (648)
Viewed
View from Room (202)
Viewed
Room/Suite (353)
Viewed
Bathroom (61)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (13)
Viewed
Dining (81)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
0:35
Videos (5)
Viewed
Other (1039)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (472)
Viewed
Activity Pool (24)
Viewed
Adult Pool (28)
Viewed
Amenities (45)
Viewed
Beach (17)
Viewed
Family Room (39)
Viewed
Ocean View Junior Suite (31)
Viewed
Ocean View Room (35)
Viewed
Pool View Room (22)
Viewed
Rainforest View Room (30)
Viewed
Dining (107)
Viewed
The Hotel (94)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (180)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (55)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (52)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio Grande
35.9 km away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 46 in San Juan
6,544 reviews
7.3 km away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
28.0 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.2 km away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
33.5 km away
Wyndham Garden at Palmas del Mar
13.9 km away
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Spa
  • Golf Course
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled between El Yunque Rainforest and a mile stretch of secluded beach, the Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa is Puerto Rico's most exotic beach, golf and spa resort destination. 500 magnificent acres with spectacular ocean, rainforest and lush tropical views serve as backdrops to 400 newly renovated guestrooms and suites and an exclusive renovated 48,000-sq.-ft. Oceanfront Conference Center. Located on the N.E. Ecological Corridor of Puerto Rico's shoreline, the Wyndham Grand Rio Mar is a haven for fun, sun and forging memorable experiences. The new guestrooms exude traditional Puerto Rican architecture and feature thoughtful indigenous touches. The resort boasts two championship golf courses & tennis center, Mandara spa, 10 lounges and restaurants with award-winning cuisine, an exciting casino, two nature reserves and a guest experience program that encompasses the beauty and nature of its magical surroundings. And since Puerto Rico is a US Commonwealth, no passports or visas are required for US Citizens. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 6000 Rio Mar Boulevard, Rio Grande 00745-4661, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rio Grande
Price Range: $278 - $545 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Mar Beach Resort And Spa, a Wyndham Grand Resort
Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, a Wyndham Grand Hotel Rio Grande
Wyndham Rio Grande
Rio Del Mar Puerto Rico
Rio Grande Wyndham
Rio Mar Puerto Rico
Westin Rio Mar Puerto Rico
Wyndham El Yunque National Forest
El Yunque National Forest Wyndham
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Rico/Rio Grande
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Rio Grande
#2 Spa Hotel in Rio Grande
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rio Grande
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rio Grande
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa staff and other travellers.
194 questions
Ask a question
Wildwood Crest, New Jersey

See all questions (194)

Questions? Get answers from Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A fabulous vacation location”
 of 5 bubbles 733lynnd, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Sea views comes with most rooms - is a "must". Upper rooms decierable”
 of 5 bubbles MortenDK123, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Atlantic suite is the best!”
 of 5 bubbles bass1344, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Choose a northeast room for a view of the lagoon pool and the ocean.”
 of 5 bubbles 716CathyR, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for 7th floor, rainforest view. 7061 was our room. We really liked the view from there.”
 of 5 bubbles ATravelGirl2013, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5