We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,533 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,527: English reviews
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 May 2015

We arrived late at the hotel, but the staff at reception were very welcoming. I had requested a spa room as we had our dog with us on holiday, and hotel policy only permits dogs in the spa rooms nowadays. When I realised that the room allocated didn't have a bath, they offered an alternative room which was much bigger...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gayle M
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 May 2015

Having stayed here many times before we were looking forward to the usual high standards we have previously experienced. This two day break did not meet those expectations. On arrival we were shown to our room we had booked a spa room and were shown to one on the first floor. I need to use a handrail to negotiate stairs...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sharon M
GMsteele, General Manager at Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, May I firstly offer my sincere apologies for the negative impressions you have received on your recent visit as I note that your previous experiences have met the usual high standards of service and hospitality Armathwaite Hall is renowned for. As with all feedback I take such constructive comments very seriously and discuss at length with the team...

Reviewed 5 May 2015 via mobile

Visited here as a wedding guest and was absolutely blown away by the everything Armathwaite Hall had to offer. We did not stay over night as we were at the Link House - as our budget we a little tighter, this is also a lovely place, but the venue offered a great ceremony with breathtaking views, sublime food - everyone...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Livvy1322
GMsteele, General Manager at Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for a glowing review of your experience at Armathwaite Hall. I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable visit as a wedding guest. It was a pleasure to read your review and I thank you for taking the opportunity to recognise the contribution of the dedicated staff who make our venue for weddings; a special...

Workington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 May 2015 via mobile

We had afternoon tea here on Saturday. The service was 'ok' but nothing spectacular. There was hardly anything on the afternoon tea at all. 4 tiny sandwiches & a couple of cakes which were nothing special & a scone which again was ok. I visited Armathwaite on many occasions for both business & pleasure but this was certainly the worst...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank DonnaNadine
GMsteele, General Manager at Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Clearly, your afternoon tea experience does not reflect the high standards of service and hospitality we strive for. I am however bemused and question if you have the correct hotel and have actually asked Tripadvisor the same question. Our full tea is rich with ingredients such as a choice of scones, cakes, pastries, fruit tarts, a selection of...

London
Reviewed 3 May 2015

I must say first I have wrote to the owners but have had no response We went for my 70th birthday garthering First all the staff were terrible not helpful at all Iasked for a coffee but was told I would have to wait to the end of our meal when coffee/tea was served Then a guest got a massive...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Milk1Sugar
Reviewed 28 April 2015

We stayed here for one night and it was a quite wonderful and magical stay. We have gone to the Lakes regularly for many years but never been here-our mistake as it's fabulous! Beautiful old hall in extensive grounds overlooking Bassenthwaite Lake. Great service, lovely room, fab views, luxury spa, etc. The restaurant and bar look out over the lake...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank John D M
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 April 2015

We recently had our wedding here in April 2015. We stayed the day before the wedding with the family and had chance to spend a relaxing day at the spa, myself and my daughter booked in for a facial. The spa facilities are excellent, very clean and the pool was lovely and warm. We were blessed with lovely weather and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 April 2015

Armathwaite Hall is a beautiful building in an idilic setting. We first stayed here a couple of years ago in the autumn during the week when it seemed constantly busy with a real buzz about it. Seeing a deal advertised on Travel Zoo we thought we would take the opportunity of visiting again for a couple of nights. We paid...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John B
Wetherby
Reviewed 26 April 2015

We had the privilege to stay here. The place is set expansive grounds overlooking the lake. The staf were very polite and welcoming. Breakfast was something to look forward to in the morning. Although the room we were allocated was clean and nicely decorated it was rather small and this was our only disappointment. We had the pleasure of using...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kwehlule
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 April 2015 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel to find it set in stunning grounds and beautiful views of the lake. We were greeted with a glass of sherry which was delicious and welcoming . I had booked via travel zoo and as the hotel had no club rooms available I paid more for a spa room with terrace however when we were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 1966englandbabe

939 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (595)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (162)
Viewed
Room/Suite (66)
Viewed
Dining (46)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (266)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (326)
Viewed
Amenities (50)
Viewed
Deluxe Spa Feature Room (46)
Viewed
Indoor Swimming Pool (9)
Viewed
Outdoor Hot Tub (10)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Spa Room (42)
Viewed
Studio Suite (47)
Viewed
The Hotel (97)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
28.9 km away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
14.8 km away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
1,969 reviews
39.6 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 km away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
566 reviews
30.0 km away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,319 reviews
0.9 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Armathwaite Hall Country House Hotel and Spa is a beautiful four red star 17th-century former stately home situated near to Keswick on the shores of Bassenthwaite Lake. The hotel and spa is private owned and features forty six bedrooms of individual character from stylish spa bedrooms to the luxury of studio suites with stunning lake views. The rosette fine dining Lake View Restaurant serves table d’hote lunches and dinners in elegant surroundings to both residents and non resident guests. The Courtyard Bar and Brasserie is a stylish modern alternative serving meals in a relaxed atmosphere. Afternoon teas are served daily and are a great way to celebrate with family and friends. Licensed to hold civil ceremonies for romantic weddings up to 150 guests. The award winning spa, offers the best in facilities from the 16 meter infinity edge pool to the luxurious outdoor spa pool, thermal suite and life fitness gym. Ten treatment rooms including a double treatment room offer relaxing and soothing treatments to guests, day spa and members. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa

Address: Bassenthwaite Lake, Bassenthwaite CA12 4RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Price Range: $345 - $525 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armathwaite Hall Hotel Bassenthwaite
Armathwaite Hall Keswick
Armathwaite Hall Hotel Keswick
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#2 Family Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bassenthwaite
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms in the new wing may be better?”
 of 5 bubbles martinb821, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Pick a lake view room for the ultimate serenity.”
 of 5 bubbles 259neilh, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We upgraded to a club room but would have no hesitation in staying in any.”
 of 5 bubbles AngelaS925, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The Club rooms in the main house have more character than the Spa Rooms”
 of 5 bubbles SunnyBagpuss, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 135 ad 132 amazing lake views.”
 of 5 bubbles pmu1892, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5