We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Foreshore Motel and Tavern Hobart (Lauderdale)

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Foreshore Motel and Tavern Hobart (Lauderdale)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

106 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 103: English reviews
Start your review of Foreshore Motel and Tavern Hobart (Lauderdale)
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Enjoyed a relaxing afternoon playing keno and having a couple of beers. Very clean and staff friendly. Good service and bistro. Kid friendly and plenty of room. Didn't eat dinner but enjoyed facilities and sports bar.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Glenn K
sussex
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice accommodation, staff friendly and helpful, Restaurant serves good food. Only downside, nothing near to hotel except a small fish cafe,but. Only 20 min drive into Hobart.. I would stay again. Restaurant closes at 2000 hrs.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fmc169
EBCLeisureHotels, Marketing Coordinator at Foreshore Motel and Tavern Hobart (Lauderdale), responded to this review

Thank you fmc169 for your honest feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in the the peace and quiet of Lauderdale. Your comments will be passed onto our staff, I am sure they will appreciate your positive review for a job well done. We do hope that you are enjoying your time in Tasmania and that you have...

Sheffield, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I was in Hobart for work during Wooden Boat Festival and the available accommodation in Hobart was ridiculously expensive so ended up here. This is a very good alternative to the city, only 21 km from the CBD, but about half the price during busy periods. The rooms are in two blocks behind the Tavern, are very quiet and have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SMTas
EBCLeisureHotels, Marketing Coordinator at Foreshore Motel and Tavern Hobart (Lauderdale), responded to this review

Hi there SMTas, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for the great honest review. We were pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back when you next choose to stay on the Eastern Shore. Safe travels. Kindest regards Kathryn Lewis on behalf of the Foreshore Motel & Tavern team.

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When accommodation in Hobart was fully booked, we found this fantastic hotel/motel right opposite Ralph's Bay. The rooms were clean, well apportioned and very comfortable. A short walk and we were in the tavern enjoying a tasty, well priced meal with friendly, accommodating staff. A very pleasant end to our week in Tassie.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shelagh880
EBCLeisureHotels, Marketing Coordinator at Foreshore Motel and Tavern Hobart (Lauderdale), responded to this review

Hello shelagh880, Management and staff were delighted to read your review on the Foreshore Motel & Tavern. Thank you so much for your time and for your honest review. Please have a safe return trip home and maybe we will have an opportunity to welcome you back at sometime. Kindest regards Kathryn Lewis on behalf of the Foreshore Motel &...

Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

This place is a regular motel, rooms are of a good size with comfortable beds and a functional bathroom. Its not luxury but rooms are clean and thats all that matters. Internet does not work from the rooms, so you will need to go to the reception area which is a clear disappointment and that you will need to take...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Glam B
EBCLeisureHotels, Marketing Coordinator at Foreshore Motel and Tavern Hobart (Lauderdale), responded to this review

Hi Glam B, Thank you for your time in submitting a review. We appreciate all of our guests comments and will take action accordingly. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and found our amenities acceptable. It is unfortunate that the WiFi was unpredictable and this will be addressed when we have the NBN connected. Unfortunately we...

Cairns Region, Australia
Reviewed 19 February 2017

We have stayed here many times and Love our stays here. It is handy to the Airport, City and other nearby Attractions. Even better are the friendly locals in the Bar, which also serves great meals, nothing fancy just quality pub food. The staff are friendly and accommodating, rooms are very clean and comfortable. I am looking for ward to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tory L
EBCLeisureHotels, Marketing Coordinator at Foreshore Motel and Tavern Hobart (Lauderdale), responded to this review

Hi there Tory L, Thank you for choosing to stay at the Foreshore Motel & Tavern and for taking the time to leave a review. We were all pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you are a repeat guest. We are all looking forward to welcoming back when you next visit. Kindest regards Kathryn Lewis on behalf of...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 17 February 2017

Well surely the best compliment a property can receive is a return visit? After a pleasant stay last year, we were back again at the Best Western Foreshore for a quick weekender in Hobart. Last time we stayed here the reason for our trip had us around the eastern shore and South Arm areas, so the location was perfect. This...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jeffyg
EBCLeisureHotels, Marketing Coordinator at Foreshore Motel and Tavern Hobart (Lauderdale), responded to this review

Hello jeffyg, It was great to read that you are a return guest to Foreshore Motel & Tavern. We were delighted that you chose to stay with us again. Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and we agree that the hotel/motel is situated in a great place to explore the Eastern Shore. One can enjoy the...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 26 January 2017

The location is quite. The room is a bit smaller than expected, but clean and tidy. It is quite convenient to park the car right in front of the room. But there are not many facilities in the motel. There is nowhere to shop around as the location is quite remote.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 135dl2016
EBCLeisureHotels, Marketing Coordinator at Foreshore Motel and Tavern Hobart (Lauderdale), responded to this review

Thank you 135dl2016 for taking the time to submit a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and experienced the peaceful and quiet location away from City noise. We trust that you are having a great time whilst visiting Tasmania and enjoying the many attractions. Kindest regards Kathryn Lewis on behalf of the Foreshore Motel & Tavern team.

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 29 December 2016

Stayed for 3 days. The people in the reception are helpful and always cheerful to help. The room is new and spacious enough. Although we did not eat in the tavern, it has really long opening hours. What disappointed me were the house keeping staff: 1. They forgot to place the portable cot in my room prior to my arrival....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Derrick Y
EBCLeisureHotels, Marketing Coordinator at Foreshore Motel and Tavern Hobart (Lauderdale), responded to this review

Hi unholy666, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. Management were disappointed to read that our house keeping staff did not vacuum for 3 days. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and this issue will be dealt with. I will pass on your favourable comments to our reception staff, I am sure they will...

Brisbane Region, Australia
Reviewed 3 November 2016

Close to Aurora watching spots. Clean and comfortable, actually felt brand new. Out the front has a view over the water to Mt Wellington. Wifi wasn't the greatest and food in the hotel although it was good was expensive. But there is a bakery and IGA Express nearby. The Sand Bar down the road made awesome burgers to either eat...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ripper_Family
EBCLeisureHotels, Marketing Coordinator at Foreshore Motel and Tavern Hobart (Lauderdale), responded to this review

Hi Ripper_Family, Thank you for your review. We do hope you had success in chasing the Aurora Australis. Unfortunately our WiFi can be a tad flaky at times and we apologise for this inconvenience. The NBN will be connected shortly and this will eliminate bad connections. We trust that you had an enjoyable time in Tasmania and hopefully you and...

38 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lauderdale
38.1 km away
Lufra Hotel and Apartments
Lufra Hotel and Apartments
#1 of 1 in Eaglehawk Neck
365 reviews
39.8 km away
Stewarts Bay Lodge
Stewarts Bay Lodge
#1 of 3 in Port Arthur
555 reviews
13.0 km away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 km away
Travelodge Hotel Hobart Airport
39.7 km away
Port Arthur Motor Inn
Port Arthur Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Arthur
341 reviews
12.5 km away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Casino and Gambling
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Foreshore Motel and Tavern is a contemporary hotel on Hobart's beautiful Eastern Shore. 20 minutes to Hobart's central business district. A suitable base to visit Port Arthur, Historic Richmond, Seven Mile Beach, Roche's Beach and the many vineyards in the area. Only 12 minutes to Hobart's Airport at Cambridge. Close to Blundstone Arena without the hassle of traveling back into Hobart's CBD. Far enough away to be peaceful and quiet, yet close enough to be convenient. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Foreshore Motel and Tavern Hobart (Lauderdale)

Address: 464 South Arm Road, Lauderdale, Clarence, Tasmania 7021, Australia (Formerly BEST WESTERN Foreshore Motel and Tavern)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Clarence > Lauderdale
Price Range: $135 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Foreshore Motel and Tavern Hobart (Lauderdale) 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Foreshore Motel and Tavern Hobart (Lauderdale) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Foreshore Motel and Tavern Hobart (Lauderdale) staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Foreshore Motel and Tavern Hobart (Lauderdale) staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms at the back of the tavern and therefore all quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles shelagh880, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“It's all Good”
 of 5 bubbles toryl896, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“It's a motel and all rooms are basically the same.”
 of 5 bubbles unholy666, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“2 rows of rooms and all ground floor...”
 of 5 bubbles Ripper_Family, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“some rooms have an extra single bed, so check on that if you might need it.”
 of 5 bubbles Sharkhunter2010, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5