We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Meadow House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Meadow House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

50 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Meadow House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 47: English reviews
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 7 August 2015

I booked the self-catering Apt. 14 for 10 days but after the first week had to request a refund on the remaining nights because the apartment was flea infested. They did not offer alternate accommodation or even make an apology; in fact I was told I was overreacting, and that I should have told them right away because they "would've...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Diana B
MeadowHouse, Owner at The Meadow House, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear you feel this way. It has been a long time since anybody has stayed in this apartment with dogs and after every stay the apartment is cleaned thoroughly, so I am unsure how this has happened; However we should have been alerted about this problem when it had arisen so we would have been...

North London
Reviewed 3 August 2015

We were clearly disturbing the proprietor when we arrived as she seemed more interested in the tennis on the TV than on taking us up to our room. The room iteself was a 1980s horror, cluttered with collectables, old books including two copies of the same 80s Guiness book of records, and a collection of knitted monkeys. It really needed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HighgateExigeant
Reviewed 13 July 2015

Great welcome and very comfortable stay for 9 of us in 3 separate rooms plus a self contained 'flat'; individually cooked breakfast very sensibly to a prearranged schedule, using excellent local produce (top notch sausages from Peter the butcher). All helped make the family wedding in nearby Swaffham Prior the more enjoyable. Large family size rooms, all with TV made...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Rob S
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 July 2015

I stayed here one night with my Mum. Never again. We got caught in traffic, so were slightly late. The owner was very unwelcoming. We were supposed to stay two nights, but one night was enough! The shower was dirty. I was told that my trained assistance dog would need to stay in the car when it clearly states on...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ruth G
Margate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 June 2015

Myself and my partner booked through booking.com and managed to get the last double room at Meadow House which was great as the idea was to be in the area ready for a nearby Christening the next day. When we arrived we were told we didn't let them know we were part of the christening so we were given an...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Maz91186
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 30 May 2015

When my husband and I arrived for the first of three night stays at this property only to be told by Mrs March that our fully booked pre-paid vouchers were no longer valid as we had paid this money into a Travel Company that suddenly went into receivership, and the established well known company that took over this business was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Julie C
Saint-Paul-Lizonne, France
Reviewed 4 November 2014

Not recommended. The bedroom was over cluttered ,the shower went cold half way through, breakfast table was overcrowded with people, crockery and goods from cash and carry store. . No feeling of welcome. Misleading information on phone regarding bathroom facilities which would have been shared. Only take cash in the 21st. century??? Lucky that there was a cash machine in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank john w
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 24 September 2014

Upon arrival we saw no one there but a note on the window saying key was in door . This was fine and the owner did greet us when she arrived home . Not a bad place to stay and breakfast was good . Our room kettle was not clean . Room was ok as was bathroom . Some nice...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ian K
Stowbridge, Norfolk
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Room's ok, but had to push two singles together, when we were told it was a double bed. Nice and quiet location, plenty of parking. The bin in the bathroom was full of soiled sanitary products,and consequently made the bathroom stink. Very disappointed by the breakfast. A full English does not consist of two bits of bacon, a tomato, a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank rak12jul
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I booked online with Cambridge Tourism for 2 nights midweek for 1 person ensuite. A few days after booking I received a letter from the Meadow House confirming my booking signed by Hilary Marsh. 2 weeks after booking I emailed Mrs Marsh to inform her that I would be arriving between 2-4 pm. I received an email back saying that...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MurielW408
MeadowHouse, Owner at The Meadow House, responded to this review
Google Translation

.

11 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burwell
5.8 km away
Premier Inn Newmarket Hotel
2.3 km away
Deerview Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Meadow House

Address: 2A High Street, Burwell CB25 0HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Burwell
Price Range: $134 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Meadow House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Meadow House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Meadow House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All of the five rooms that we booked were well appreciated”
 of 5 bubbles N5642TEmikep, 15 Jul 2016 | Read review
“there are other places to stay and avoid this place at all costs.”
 of 5 bubbles aryannajaphayel, 4 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Quiet and cooler on ground floor . . . all rooms very good though . . .”
 of 5 bubbles robsO830SW, 12 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Only saw our room”
 of 5 bubbles 29iank, 24 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Room 2 can take up to six people (two double beds, two single beds), in two adjoined rooms sharing a bathroom. VERY good for a family with more than two children. Or even more than one. Or even just one if you want to put the child to bed then sit and do something else (TV?).”
 of 5 bubbles TrixiesMum, 18 Feb 2013 | Read review
5 of 5