We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Inn at Cranborne

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Inn at Cranborne
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

153 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 151: English reviews
Newbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent a Sunday night at this refurbished very old Inn. Really delicious evening meal and comfortable night's sleep. Breakfast, cooked to order, also very good. However our visit was marrred somewhat by the dirty bathroom and the loo which had a broken flush.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank OCV51
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely country pub, great decor, easy parking, fab atmosphere and delicious food. Staff very helpful and attentive - would most definitely recommend for singles, families, couples. A really great find - would most definitely recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank enorta410
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had just flown in to Gatwick so we had a somewhat tortuous journey down the seemingly endless roadworks on the M3 en-route to Cranborne. We made good time and found the Inn very easily with plenty of parking at the rear. No fuss at check-in and Nate was on-hand to answer any questions. The room very comfortable and after...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ghostmann
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 November 2016

Lovely room in a lovely refurbished old village Inn, excellent dinner with our dog safely on her blanket under the table. Friendly attentive staff, especially caring toward the dog!Real English breakfast was a delight but better a lovely bowl of chopped sausage bacon and black pudding was served to our dog! Everything is sourced within 30 miles, so you get...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Patrick J
Jane - The Inn ... C, Manager at The Inn at Cranborne, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We thrive on the fact that we are a dog friendly Inn. We are so glad that you and your canine enjoyed your stay.

Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 November 2016

The pub is great, atmosphere décor all just right. The main problem we had was the service, we and others waited a long time for our meal. It might have been down to the party of 10 in the next room. When the food it arrived it was good. A word of apology about the delay would have helped. We...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank alastair n
Jane - The Inn ... C, Manager at The Inn at Cranborne, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am very sorry to hear your service wasn't at the standard we usually run here at The Inn. It is refreshing to hear someone say they will return and not hold one slightly underwhelming experience against us. Many Thanks again, we look forward to seeing you very soon.

Langport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 November 2016

Our children had arranged a family dinner party at a country house restaurant in Cranborne called No 10 Castle Street. We googled places to stay and found The Inn at Cranborne and booked. The Inn was easy to find, had ample parking and we were given a very friendly and professional welcome. Our room was just right, 'boutique' contemporary and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank atjs2016
Jane - The Inn ... C, Manager at The Inn at Cranborne, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. Our breakfast is indeed cooked to order. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time here. See you again soon!

Reviewed 12 November 2016 via mobile

Stopped here for a pint on the way home from the bishopstrow hotel ( separate review ) with our dog, Rufus. It was so nice that one pint turned into two and we decided to stay over. The room was lovely, roll top bath in bathroom, and really good value. The evening meal was amazingly good, we both had a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tony j
Jane - The Inn ... C, Manager at The Inn at Cranborne, responded to this review

What a lovely review, we are so pleased to hear you and your four legged friend enjoyed your stay at The Inn.

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 October 2016

Checked in here for one night with friends before golf the following morning. Check in on arrival was good as was the room. The largest disappointment of the event was the evening meal which in the end I was unable to eat. Having ordered a medium steak it arrived very rare I tried to start it but had to send...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GerryScotland49
Jane - The Inn ... C, Manager at The Inn at Cranborne, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear you had a disappointing experience at the Inn, I am however glad to hear your kind words in regards to the location, staff and atmosphere. We do hope this hasn't tainted your view of the Inn, we would love for you to have and enjoy the full Inn at Cranborne experience. Hopefully we will...

Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

I found the The Inn by accident. Fantastic country pub. I would classify it as a 'boutique' establishment. We had soup and beers. The pub serves Gastropub food. My wife and I were really impressed with the interior and very friendly welcome. We will return in the future with our family for a full 3 course meal. I can highly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ReiseScu
Jane - The Inn ... C, Manager at The Inn at Cranborne, responded to this review

Well, what can I say, thank you for your kind words!

Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 October 2016

Booked in for dinner, B&B. Rooms were great - tastefully decorated and food exceptional. They also allow for your dog to stay with you (not applicable to us) but all other guests took advantage of this.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 19072755juliev
Jane - The Inn ... C, Owner at The Inn at Cranborne, responded to this review

Oh so many thanks for your feedback. Always appreciated.

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cranborne
11.7 km away
The Langton Arms
The Langton Arms
#1 of 1 in Tarrant Monkton
253 reviews
0.1 km away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Wimborne
599 reviews
25.4 km away
The Fiddleford Inn
The Fiddleford Inn
#3 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 km away
The Grove Arms
The Grove Arms
#1 of 1 in Ludwell
173 reviews
18.4 km away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
22.5 km away
The Green House
The Green House
#3 of 69 in Bournemouth
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Within this 17th Century building, Jane Gould has brought about her own vision of a traditional English Country Inn. Amongst the wood burning stoves, cosy corners and sharing tables you will find hearty interesting food, lovingly restored bedrooms featuring large beds with snuggly duvets and a choice of pillows and fabulous en-suite bathrooms with powerful showers, some roll-top baths and Bramley products.The daily changing menu is interesting but not overwhelming and there is always great range of well-kept Real Ales, including the Inn’s own Fleur Ale, brewed specially by Hall & Woodhouse.The Inn at Cranborne is fast becoming a focal point of the delightful village of Cranborne, set as it is in the heart of Cranborne Chase with its ample opportunities for fishing and shooting. It is a short drive to the New Forest, the beautiful Jurassic Coast and the sandy beaches of Bournemouth. Winborne, Salisbury, Shaftesbury and many gardens and historic places are within an easy drive. The area is also great for cycling and walking, with Jubilee trail right on our doorstep. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Inn at Cranborne

Address: 5 Wimborne Street, Cranborne BH21 5PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Cranborne
Price Range: $85 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Inn at Cranborne 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Inn at Cranborne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Inn at Cranborne staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the rooms are upstairs and face outwards towards the road. Did not seea lift, so check before booking.”
 of 5 bubbles ghostmann, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I think all are good but some are larger than others and some overlook the main road and may therefore be noisier - best to check!”
 of 5 bubbles atjs2016, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We were shown many of the nine rooms and they all look lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles 123Aqaba, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The hotel is quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles Cheryl192, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All upstairs and not food for poor mobility.”
 of 5 bubbles 136jennyf, 30 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay