Royal Kalaw Hills Resort
Traveller (63)
Room & Suite (22)
Dining (8)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#8 of 17 hotels in Kalaw
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Value

Royal Kalaw Hills Resort is an excellent choice for travellers visiting Kalaw, offering a quaint environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay.

Given the close proximity to Thein Taung Pagoda Monastery (0.7 mi), guests of Royal Kalaw Hills Resort can easily experience one of Kalaw's most popular landmarks.

Royal Kalaw Hills Resort is a quaint hotel offering air conditioning, a minibar, and a desk in the rooms, and it is easy to stay connected during your stay as free wifi is offered to guests.

The hotel features 24 hour front desk, a concierge, and room service. Plus, guests can enjoy a hot tub and breakfast, which have made this a popular choice among travellers visiting Kalaw. For guests with a vehicle, free parking is available.

While in Kalaw be sure to experience local burritos favourites at Hostel Picasso.

If you are looking for something to do in the area, Shwe Oo Min Paya (0.7 mi) is a popular attraction that is within walking distance of Royal Kalaw Hills Resort.

Enjoy your stay in Kalaw!

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Sauna
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Happy hour
Horseback riding
Airport transportation
Car hire
Business Centre with Internet Access
Massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
ATM on site
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Room service
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Bath / shower
Seating area
Telephone
Bottled water
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Burmese

Location

No. 3/4, East Circular Road Ward 3, East Bo Gone, Kalaw Myanmar
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 57 out of 100
57
Heho Airport
27.7 km
See all flights
Mong Hsat Airport
282.6 km
See all flights
59Reviews1Q+A4Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 19
  • 25
  • 7
  • 8
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Trip95563 wrote a review Jul 2020
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Kalaw is the most favorite town of my life as it has full of my childhood memories. Royal Kalaw Hills Resort gives one of best memories too. The resort provides best hospitality with standard of cleanliness and friendliness from staffs. I would say that the quality of food is the best in town with talented local chefs. During my stay, I noticed that one of staffs name called “Zin Mar Oo” , who is local and taking care of all the hotel guests and visitors with her sweet smile which makes us happiness of the day. This is a very beautiful place to visit with family and friends to get away from city life.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Howard M wrote a review Mar 2017
London, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Being from the UK we thought we'd arrived home a week early on arrival at the hotel. It looks just like a very beautiful home at home. Magnificent large, tiered and peaceful gardens. When combined with the cooler temperature this is like an oasis having just left Mandalay. We had a bungalow, a very large room with lovely seating area outside which we enjoyed later in the afternoon with cocktails from room service.
The four star rating is because the hotel restaurant was a bit below par and the room is tired in layout and decorations e.g the bathroom.
The staff were most helpful and Terrence the manager did everything to give us a very warm welcome with further guidance and information during dinner.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bryan G wrote a review Nov 2015
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was my favourite hotel in the whole of Myanmar.British colonial at its best.Simply stunning rooms and such a great location at the top of the hills.I was not feeling well that day but the staff were simply amazing and looked after me so well.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Katie K wrote a review Mar 2016
Charlotte, North Carolina
5.0 of 5 bubbles
While there isn't a lot going on in Kalaw, this hotel is a peaceful and enjoyable retreat. The gardens on the property are beautiful and the restaurant had very tasty food for dinner and breakfast. The only issue was the noise of barking dogs early in the morning.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2016
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
nestcottage wrote a review Jan 2020
Wickham Bishops, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at this Hotel in January and really wished we hadn't as it was very cold in the room and the dining room no extra heaters or hot water bottles were supplied .
I was so cold I did not shower as the bathroom was even colder than the room it had no heating at all in the bathroom
There was coffee supplied but no tea bags and when we were asked for tea bags we were charged $6 for 6 tea bags when I refused to pay they created a big argument about the teabags
It was a huge room and very dark and unwelcoming the gardens are peaceful and pretty but the Hotel is dated and needs upgrading
We definitely would not stay here again if in Kalaw
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1chase wrote a review Apr 2017
New York City, New York
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This is an excellent choice in Kalaw, an underheralded and beautiful town in Shan state. We stayed here after a day at the Green Hills Elephant Sanctuary and were pleasantly surprised with its clean, spacious and comfortable rooms, extremely friendly service and verdant, beautifully manicured gardens. About a 5-10 minute taxi ride from central Kalaw on a hillside with beautiful views of the surrounding hills.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2017
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ryan J wrote a review Jan 2017
Bristol, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed one night before our trek but could have easily stayed two. Gorgeous colonial building with lovely staff and gardens to die for. We enjoyed a cup of jasmine tea in the lawn and met Terrence, a manager at the hotel, who was very welcoming and helpful.

The hotel restaurant isn't cheap but the food was tasty. Everything was beautifully presetented with great food and a range of wines. Was a little chilly though in winter.

Room was huge and beautifully presented with everything thought of.

We would stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2017
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ayoma D wrote a review Apr 2016
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had already done Yangon, Bagan & Mandalay in scorching, sweltering weather when we arrived in Kalaw Hills Resort. Accommodation was fabulous, and so was friendly staff. We spent only one night but wished it was for longer....
Read more
Date of stay: April 2016Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SUSUKHAING, Director of Sales at Royal Kalaw Hills Resort
Responded 5 May 2016
Dear Ayoma D, Greetings from Royal Kalaw Hills Resort !! Thank you for sharing this wonderful review with us on TripAdvisor. I am delight to hear that you enjoyed. We look forward to welcoming you back for another fabulous stay. Best regards, Su Su
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jim L wrote a review Apr 2016
Sydney, Australia
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Arrived with great expectations for my wife's birthday. Room is expensive by Myanmar standards $158 USD per night. Room was good and grounds lovely. Discovered we had no hot water at 2.00 pm. They kept saying wait 30 minutes and every other excuse. Real faulty towers stuff. We kept asking if we could go to another room to shower. Finally at 5.30 pm my wife walked to reception in her bathrobe saying where can I shower. We were able to shower in next room. Had dinner with family in lovely appointed dinning room. We all decided on main meal and desert as the desert menu looked lovely. After mains we asked for desert. We were told only one choice. Ok we will all have that. 5 minutes later told no deserts at all. Very disappointing again. Could not buy wine by the glass. There was no offer of any compensation or reduced rate for no hot water.
Overall this is a very beautiful property but the staff lack the ability to solve even basic problems. If you want to charge five star prices then you expect good service. If nothing needs to be fixed or changed then you should have a good stay.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2016Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SUSUKHAING, Director of Sales at Royal Kalaw Hills Resort
Responded 5 May 2016
Dear James Lloyd, Greetings from Royal Kalaw Hills Resort !! Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention. I would like to apologize for the unfortunate incidences that you experienced during your stay with us. I will look into each issue that you have noted, in an attempt to correct and improve our hotel policies and service. Please feel free to reach me directly at dos@phyuzingroupofhotels.com if you have additional information to share. Best regards, Su Su
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andrew P wrote a review Dec 2015
London, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
A nice hotel with a pleasant garden about ten minutes walk from the centre of town, though the last five minutes up a steep hill from the railway station. The rooms are in a modern block and villas behind the old house, recently built and clean if simply furnished, but blending in well with the old world ambience. The staff were exceptionally welcoming and friendly.Good breakfast and coffee.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2015
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anne B asked a question Oct 2015
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom79 contributions88 helpful votes
Do you have your own generator?
Answer from bobotunthandwe
Kalaw, Myanmar
Yes!Sir , We have Generator and applied with Automatic transfer Switch .So If the electricity is cutoff ,Our Generator will start during 1 min. Thank you for your Question,
vat_i_can2014 wrote a tip Jan 2018
Rome22 contributions9 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The rooms in the colonial house are excellent."
Read full review
mfranks911 wrote a tip Jan 2018
Edgware, United Kingdom1,010 contribution470 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Luxury Rooms in main house best - but at a price"
Read full review
Ma Amanda T wrote a tip Oct 2017
15 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Suite has 2 large beds, large sitting room, large bathroom"
Read full review
Anne B wrote a tip Mar 2016
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom79 contributions88 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"I was very happy with 701 but assume all rooms are the same. It had a nice verandah where you could sit and overlook Kalaw"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kalaw area.
PRICE RANGE
S$154 - S$156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MyanmarShan StateKalaw
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ROYAL KALAW HILLS RESORT: See 34 Hotel Reviews, Price Comparison and 86 Photos (Myanmar)

Frequently Asked Questions about Royal Kalaw Hills Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Royal Kalaw Hills Resort?
Nearby attractions include Shwe Oo Min Pagoda (1.2 km), Hi Snack & Drink (1.0 km), and Thein Taung Pagoda Monastery (1.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Royal Kalaw Hills Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Royal Kalaw Hills Resort?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Royal Kalaw Hills Resort?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Royal Kalaw Hills Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Royal Kalaw Hills Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sprouting Seeds Cafe & Bakery, New Simple Life Inn And Restaurant, and Thirigayha Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Royal Kalaw Hills Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a sauna during their stay.
Does Royal Kalaw Hills Resort have airport transportation?
Yes, Royal Kalaw Hills Resort offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Royal Kalaw Hills Resort located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Kalaw.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Royal Kalaw Hills Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Burmese.
All Kalaw HotelsKalaw Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in KalawHotels near Royal Kalaw Hills Resort
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire