We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Twitchen Farm

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Twitchen Farm
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

123 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 123: English reviews
Start your review of Twitchen Farm
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed for three nights. Beautiful location and comfortable stay. Great for walks straight from the farm and great not to have to use the car. In the evening, you. Can have a great meal at the Black Venus, a short walk through the fields from the farmhouse. It's a pity the B and B will close in late September...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
Helen A, Owner at Twitchen Farm, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind words, we are glad you enjoyed staying at Twitchen Farm.

Redditch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 February 2017

High standard of accommodation and dining room. We had a very nice double room with an interconnecting single room with a very large bathroom in between. The place is dog friendly which is great. The breakfast was also lovely. Surrounded by lovely countryside and a very nice pub a few mins away.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank easytiger1607
Helen A, Owner at Twitchen Farm, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We've had a bit a snow in the last few days that has made for some lovely views if a mighty cold wind. We hope to see you again.

Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Short break for walking on the beautiful North Devon Coast. Friendly welcome, comfortable room on the ground floor, choice of wholesome food for breakfast. Good wifi and TV (who needs them!) and a lovely area to explore

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bissell2
jaynej, Owner at Twitchen Farm, responded to this review

Thank you, so pleased that you enoyed your stay at Twitchen Farm and got out and about walking in the Exmoor National Park, it is especially lovely at the moment with the autumn colours and the Stags rutting.

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 October 2016

I was offered a corner room with a view which turned out to be a view of the hedge...beyond which there was the car park. To make a cup of tea you will need to boil the kettle on the floor because the cord is too short. So is everything else, short: Breakfast, the hospitality the willingness to provide information....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank diglon
jaynej, Owner at Twitchen Farm, responded to this review

I am sorry that your stay at Twitchen Farm did not meet your expectations. As your visit was so long ago (Nov 2015) I can not answer specific points. I can only say that Helen and I always try to take great care and have pride in the high quality of our rooms and customer care. There are full details...

Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Stayed for four nights at Twitchen Farm and fell in love with the area. Truly stunning views from our bedroom and bathroom. We took our sons dog with us on the holiday and it is a really dog friendly place. Very comfy, clean room. Excellent breakfast, very very good quality produce- sausages in a class of their own! Very friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lynnej1949
Helen A, Owner at Twitchen Farm, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. The view is starting to change now that autumn is on it's way and the trees will soon be red and gold. Best wishes, Helen.

Kent
Reviewed 19 August 2016

Stayed for 1 night as a last minute booking. We booked the family room due to having a large dog with us who likes to spread out. Room very comfy & clean, shower nice with plenty of hot water. Only niggle was size of TV for room size but then you are not within area to stay in to watch...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rose063
Singapore
Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

Only stayed for one night as we were passing through but I had great memories of the lovely view, most cosy breakfast room (delicious food) Cute big doggie, hot chocolate in the room. Pretty room... nice walk through the farm with sheep roaming.... would go back again some day. The owners were extremely kind ladies too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SnowQueen85
jaynej, Owner at Twitchen Farm, responded to this review

Thank you, I have had order more hot chocolate as there has been a run on it! All the others things here all the time, come back and see us some time. Jaye

Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

Lovely place to stay. Comfy bed, good bathroom, good wifi, & very tasty tea/hot choc facilities ! Met their gorgeous friendly dog too. Breakfast was well done everyday (sausages amazing), and their one off kippers. Great place to stay to visit Exmoor, not too long a drive to anywhere. One night I went searching for stars among the awful clouds,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Inazumamazzy
jaynej, Owner at Twitchen Farm, responded to this review

If the conditions are right, this is definately one of the best places anywhere in England to see the starry night sky, or fab sunsets.

Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

My partner and I stayed for two nights, the room was great, clean, dry and a nice size. Breakfast was very good. Nice relaxed place without pages of rules and regulations. Lovely setting and lots of nice places locally. Very dog friendly and our dogs felt right at home. We will definitely visit again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracey P
jaynej, Owner at Twitchen Farm, responded to this review

Thank you Tracey, your right we don't like rules and regulations, or signs telling you what to do! Glad that you had a nice relaxing time. See you again Jaye

Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

What a lovely place! Great hosts who really look after guests, knowledgable and so helpful. Oh and cook fab breakfasts :-) We had a family room so we had space for our dogs crate & it was perfect size. Beautiful views & walks from the farm. The pub down the road is amazing so no need to do a long...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline S
jaynej, Owner at Twitchen Farm, responded to this review

Thank you Caroline, Pleased that you enjoyed the area and the great pub in the village. There is lots to explore around, the dog walks are endless.

31 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Challacombe
7.6 km away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
137 reviews
7.2 km away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
521 reviews
8.7 km away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.2 km away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
645 reviews
8.5 km away
Hillside House
Hillside House
#8 of 15 in Lynmouth
76 reviews
7.6 km away
Exmoor Forest Inn
Exmoor Forest Inn
#1 of 2 in Simonsbath
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In the Exmoor National Park, close to Challacombe village. Twitchen Farm is an 18th century courtyard farmhouse converted to offer high quality en-suite accommodation. A family business run by Helen and Jaye, Twitchen Farm takes pride in serving a fantastic breakfast, sourced from local and organic producers when possible. Enjoy the real ales and great food served in our award winning village pub the Black Venus. Well behaved dogs are welcome in some of our rooms. Farm walk and other longer routes. A great base for exploring North Devon's beaches, villages, National Trust properties, gardens etc.. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Twitchen Farm

Address: Challacombe | Devon, Challacombe, Exmoor National Park EX31 4TT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Challacombe
Price Range: $138 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Twitchen Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Twitchen Farm staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Kipscombe ideal for one or easy access. Windows on 2 sides at ground level needed curtains to be drawn if you want to change clothes”
bissell2, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Find a place that cares about its guests”
diglon, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“all rooms are good, but park near the door if it's raining!”
leanng2013, 21 Sep 2015 | Read review
“All rooms are good you wont be disappointed”
spunky66, 13 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Front rooms with greta views”
Chris648, 6 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5