We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Premier Hotel Sani Pass

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Premier Hotel Sani Pass
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

76 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Premier Hotel Sani Pass
See the most recent reviews
Showing 71: English reviews
East London, South Africa
Reviewed 28 January 2016

This hotel is expensive for what you get. It is a nice old hotel with spacious rooms and lounges. The food is above average but not great. To be fair, the weather was un-seasonally bad and we could not fully enjoy the hotels outdoor facilities. This is a nice hotel for a trip up Sani Pass.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Craig M
DDVtripadv, General Manager at Premier Hotel Sani Pass, responded to this review

Dear valued Guest Minkleyc, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel after your recent stay with us - your comments have been noted and will be attended to. It is unfortunate that the weather does influence our guests stay experience, but I am sure that with better weather conditions on your next visit, and after our renovations...

Pietermaritzburg, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Reviewed 14 January 2016

It is with a heavy heart that I write this. As a child I spent many happy holidays visiting my great-Aunt at a nearby farm. We had been up to the top of the pass and decided to stop for scones and coffee on our way back. There is a very colourful sign we had noticed on the way that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michelle S
DDVtripadv, General Manager at Premier Hotel Sani Pass, responded to this review

Dear Guest Michelle S, Thank you for taking the time to submit this review. We have indeed implemented a system of Day Visitors charges, as with most other resorts in the area, but the difference at Premier Hotel Sani Pass is that your voucher can be redeemed against any Food and Beverages purchases. I apologise if this was not explained...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 12 January 2016

We spent 3 nights here at beginning of January and were blessed with super weather which optimised the stunning location. We had rooms 5 and 9 in the main building and they were very good. Lovely new bathrooms and plenty of space with great views over the mountains. Unfortunately the pool was neon green but a short walk to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gillysafrica
DDVtripadv, General Manager at Premier Hotel Sani Pass, responded to this review

Dear Guest gillysafrica, Thank you for this review of your recent stay at the Premier Hotel Sani Pass. I am glad that, despite the challenges experienced, you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel. Your comments regarding the food and staff have been noted, and are being addressed - thank you for bringing this to our attention! We hope to...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 January 2016

A stunning location with so much to offer it is almost too easy to get this right however it would appear that every effort was taken to make a quick buck at the expense of the client. R880 for a room and R30 for a Beer! The rooms although comfortable have no air conditioning and are poorly serviced by the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JDP1984
DDVtripadv, General Manager at Premier Hotel Sani Pass, responded to this review

Dear Guest JDP1984, Thank you for this review. I believe that I have addressed your concerns and comments adequately via email last week, and hope that this has received the attention required. I trust that you will contact me directly for further comment if needed, and once again offer my apologies for any inconvenience caused during your stay. Regards, Daniel...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 7 January 2016

Yes, I agree that some of the facilities are a bit tired, but this will all be corrected next year when they close for a spell and renovate the entire resort. During our stay (new year) we had amazing and friendly service, day and night entertainment, peace and tranquility of the stunning surroundings and our cottage had been newly renovated....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey B
DDVtripadv, General Manager at Premier Hotel Sani Pass, responded to this review

Dear Lindsey B, Thank you for this wonderful validation and recommendation from your recent stay at the Premier Hotel Sani Pass - your comments are most encouraging, and will be shared with all staff! We hope that you will be back later this year when our renovations are complete, and look forward to your further reviews and comments from your...

Reviewed 4 January 2016

I'm not sure when the Premier group took over the Sani Pass Hotel, but the site is a massive work in progress. We made our booking through booking.com, and unfortunately on our arrival on Friday 18 December, there was much consternation when our booking could not be found. Eventually we were shown to two well fitted rooms close to the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rodney-Durban
DDVtripadv, General Manager at Premier Hotel Sani Pass, responded to this review

Dear Rodney, Thank you for taking the time to submit this review. We are indeed in the process of upgrading the services and facilities, which have unfortunately been left unattended for a long period prior to the takeover by Premier Hotels and Resorts. I hope that you will be a return guest later this year when our refurbishment/upgrading has begun,...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 4 January 2016

Having read the recent negative comments, we'd like to say that we were quite happy. Yes, the hotel and its facilities are a bit dated and would need some refurbishment. However, the room we got was Garden Cottage # 39, clean and spacious, with a large terrace with a view on the hills. The bathroom - a tub with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AKKAnaut
DDVtripadv, General Manager at Premier Hotel Sani Pass, responded to this review

Dear Guest AKKAnaut, Thank you for this wonderful affirmation - your comments are highly valued and much appreciated! Your comments regarding the staff and service levels are valid, and concerning, and are currently being addressed with urgency. We hope to welcome you back soon, so that you can give us more feedback after our renovation plans have begun. Warm regards,...

Reviewed 23 December 2015 via mobile

Driving in with my family with two small kids from Katse Lodge with basic amenities @ R800pn to Sani Pass Hotel, apparently with full family facilities @ R2,600 we were hoping to end off our trip comfortably. Sheeeew what a bad experience! Almost all facilities are non-functional. Golf greens and bowl greens have weeds in them, Pool is green, Fishing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GP Enroute
DDVtripadv, General Manager at Premier Hotel Sani Pass, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest GP Enroute, Thank you for taking the time to send in this review. I am extremely disappointed that your stay experience was less than satisfactorily, however, and would like to take this opportunity to sincerely apologise if we have inconvenienced you. Your comments have been noted, and are due to be addressed with our upcoming refurbishment plan...

Reviewed 22 December 2015

Our agent said we are going to stay in a wonderful room in the main building at the hotel. Instead, we were put in a owful cabin in the yard, far away from the main building. The room was dirty. The electronic plug to charge our phones was demaged and could not be used. Only a bath with no shower...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank עמי ש
DDVtripadv, General Manager at Premier Hotel Sani Pass, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to forward this review. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused by the issues you have raised in your correspondence. It is difficult for me to make any further comment regarding your feedback without any clear indication of your details, and your booking details. May I therefore request that you...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 29 November 2015 via mobile

We decided to bring our overseas friends to see the darkens berg. While our friends enjoy the trip up to the pass with an orgeniser tour from the hotel, all the rest was a big dissapointment. The rooms were specious but annecient. The bed was uncomfortable, the telephone not working. At our friends room the electronic plug to charge their...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank victorhermelin
DDVtripadv, General Manager at Premier Hotel Sani Pass, responded to this review

Dear Guest victorhermelin, Thank you for taking the time to forward this review. Your comments have been noted, and have been addressed with urgent attention - I apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused. Our product is in the process of being renovated, and you will soon be able to experience Premier Hotel Sani Pass according to the Premier...

60 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Himeville
6.2 km away
Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel
26.3 km away
Gooderson Drakensberg Gardens Golf & Spa Resort
2.3 km away
Moorcroft Manor
Moorcroft Manor
#1 of 9 in Himeville
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Premier Hotel Himeville Arms
23.9 km away
Lake Naverone Holiday Cottages
3.7 km away
Yellowwood Cottage
Yellowwood Cottage
#2 of 9 in Himeville
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Premier Hotel Sani Pass is situated at the foot of the famous Sani Pass which is only passable by 4X4 vehicle and is on the bucket list of all off road enthusiasts. The Premier Hotel Sani Pass which opened in 1958 is 1577 meters above sea level and the Pass rises 1297 meters higher to 2874 meters at the Lesotho border. The hotel is nestled at the foot of the Pass on the banks of the Mkhomazana River with its fresh water direct from the Drakensberg Mountains. The Premier Hotel Sani Pass is surrounded by the mountains with all the activities that these provide and is the base for 4X4 excursions up the Sani Pass which can be reserved by phone with the hotel. The hotel is also the base for horse trails up the mountain to Lesotho as well as shorter horse rides around the property and pony rides for the children. The hotel has its own 9 hole golf course which is free for hotel Guests as well as a host of activities which include: Swimming, Chess, Full Size Snooker Tables, Bowling Greens, Tennis Courts, Volley Ball, Squash Court, Putt-Putt Course, Fly Fishing Trout Dam and Bass Fishing Dams. More than enough to keep you busy during your holiday. The hotel with its 867Ha is surrounded by the Ezemvelo Nature Reserve with the hills populated by Eland and numerous hiking and biking trails for beginners and more advanced practitioners. A permit is needed to traverse the Ezemvelo Reserve and these are available at reception. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Premier Hotel Sani Pass

Address: Sani Pass Road | Good Hope Farm, Himeville 3256, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Himeville
Price Range: $91 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Hotel Sani Pass 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Premier Hotel Sani Pass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sani Pass Hotel And Leisure Resort
Sani Pass Hotel & Leisure Himeville
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Premier Hotel Sani Pass staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Chose a mountain view”
 of 5 bubbles MurrayHough, 22 May 2016 | Read review
“Wait until its renovated”
 of 5 bubbles patrickp680, 21 Mar 2016 | Read review
“No wheelchair access”
 of 5 bubbles JDP1984, 9 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Front row cottages, overlooking the bowling greens.”
 of 5 bubbles lindseyb770, 7 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Try another hotel unless someone else is paying for you. Stay away from the rooms in the main building - it would not be a holiday!”
 of 5 bubbles Rodney-Durban, 4 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5