We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

KarMichael Farm Guesthouse

14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
KarMichael Farm Guesthouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

62 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 48: English reviews
Start your review of KarMichael Farm Guesthouse
 Click to rate
Durban
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a slight communication problem with our booking but we were quickly & efficiently sorted out with alternate rooms. Very clean & comfortable. Loved the complimentary sherry in the rooms and the hot blankets. Beautiful gardens. The décor in "The Shed" for breakfast was stunning and the breakfast perfect.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kevcon999
Kevin_McDonagh, Owner at KarMichael Farm Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi Kevin Appreciate your time taken to write a review. Apologies for the slight misunderstanding regarding the booking but in the end I think you were well accommodated. The hot blankets will be well used for the next few months as winter settles in and unfortunately the beautiful gardens will take a bit of strain until September. We appreciate the...

Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here 2 nights on a birding tour- one of the best of all the places we were on a 3-week tour. The mountain views are incredible. The owners have taken great care with the gardens and buildings. There is a lovely patio looking out over the lawn and mountains, and a beautiful indoor bar and dining room that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lafemmederobert
Kevin_McDonagh, Owner at KarMichael Farm Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you we truly appreciate your response. Glad you found Karmichael to your liking. We try extremely hard to make the guests experience a memorable one. Your timing was great as everything is still nice and green. We heading into winter now so going to be a little cooler and once the frosts hits, it changes the place for a...

Reviewed 23 March 2017

We stopped over at KarMichael guesthouse on our way down Sani. It was all we expected it to be. The room was gorgeous, the view very good and we lacked little. The breakfast the next morning was substantial. One or two smaller niggles prevent KarMichael from getting an excellent from us.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Waldo M
Kevin_McDonagh, Owner at KarMichael Farm Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi Waldo We appreciate your positive feed back and glad we met your expectations. Your Livingstone room is pretty spacious and comfortable and has a great view as well. We happy that you enjoyed your breakfast. Sorry to hear there were a few niggles and will strive to improve upon them. Kind Regards Kevin

Fredericton, Canada
Reviewed 16 March 2017

My wife and I spent three nights recently at Karmichael and found it quite agreeable. The room was fine, the meals of the home cooked variety and very well prepared. The service really stood out and the staff were all quite friendly. We'd be happy to stay there again if we should visit the area again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Al_from_Canada
Kevin_McDonagh, Owner at KarMichael Farm Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi Al Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. Was great to have you here and we appreciate your positive feedback and will also pass onto our staff your comments. Should you ever be back we would love to have you.

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 February 2017

Stayed in Fishermans Cottage which was well serviced, clean and tidy apart from a couple of random frogs in one room! Kevin even gave us some firelighters to start the braai which was a nice gesture. Overall the single bathroom was a bit of an issue with six of staying in the cottage. The view from the property was lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank grahamd369
Kevin_McDonagh, Owner at KarMichael Farm Guesthouse, responded to this review

Graham thank you for your review and glad we could help. Frogs pretty prevalent at times but am told they are a good indication of the state of the surrounding ecology. I agree, for an older party of 6, Fisherman's was not maybe your best choice. It is our cheapest Cottage. Maybe next time reserve the B&B rooms as is...

Reviewed 8 February 2017

Firstly, upon arrival, there was a massive thunderstorm and the owner came outside in the rain and took us directly to our cottage and brought extra umbrellas. I have never experienced such hospitality. The cottage was lovely with crisp white linen, extra blankets and underfloor heating. The breakfast was excellent and as i inquired about the cheese selection, the owner...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lara J
Kevin_McDonagh, Owner at KarMichael Farm Guesthouse, responded to this review

Lara truly appreciate your response and glad you enjoyed the stay. Getting wet is sometimes part of the job. Trust Fisherman's suited you all and that you enjoyed the breakfast. More than happy to share the cheese and hope it helped quell any hunger pangs on the way to Notties.

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 9 January 2017

The owner texted to let me know a room was available after a last minute arrival. I was about to book a room at a cheaper place in town, but he promised that his rooms were far better for slightly more money. He was absolutely right - for just a hundred rand more I received a multi-star upgrade. This is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelhardandchitown
Kevin_McDonagh, Owner at KarMichael Farm Guesthouse, responded to this review

We truly appreciate your time and effort taken to review us. Very glad we were able to accommodate you at the last minute and also get someone to take you up the Pass at such short notice and fit in with your tight schedule. It is nice and peaceful here and happy that you rested well and enjoyed a pleasant...

Reviewed 6 January 2017

I have just spent two nights at Gregg's cottage with my dad and his friend. There were dead insects on the walls,roof and floor that hadnt been cleaned. We found a packet in a draw with biscuit and popcorn from the previous guests. There were two sherry glasses on a silver tray that still hadnt been cleaned, The braai area...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ethan B
Kevin_McDonagh, Owner at KarMichael Farm Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi Ethan Thanks for the report. First time I have had such a young person respond so interesting to observe your comments. We do reside in a farming area and insects are a big part of our environment. There may have been a few around, and we tried hard to find them on the walls as you claimed. They do...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

So it seems like a lovely setting until all you can hear are the cars on the main road and the fan in the room next door. The gardens are truly stunning though. So if we dont consider the romantic setting of a farm in the underberg, lets truthfully look at whats wrong: 1. Being lied to. Book one room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RMmysay
Kevin_McDonagh, Owner at KarMichael Farm Guesthouse, responded to this review

it is always disheartening when guests send through reviews like this. We are happy to accept truthful and legitimate complaints, but blatant lies and facts that you now admit you cannot prove should not be the way you go about things. Only after 3 emails and 2 sms's to you did you respond to us regarding your headline issue of...

Ashtead
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Karmichael Farm is a beautiful setting with wonderful views. The underfloor heating was great. It was let down by a very basic breakfast served in an extremely cold barn, on the first day there was no fresh fruit. Sadly we were expecting something better.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Berian M
Kevin_McDonagh, Owner at KarMichael Farm Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi Berian Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Sorry you felt breakfast was very basic. Generally we have fruit in season, a variety of cereals, fresh home yoghurt, croissants, and wide choice of eggs. Also there is toast and tea and coffee, either instant filter or plunger. So not sure what happened in your...

67 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (65)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Himeville
8.7 km away
Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel
2.8 km away
Premier Hotel Sani Pass
Premier Hotel Sani Pass
#2 of 2 in Himeville
76 reviews
0.5 km away
Moorcroft Manor
Moorcroft Manor
#2 of 9 in Himeville
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.5 km away
Khotso Adventure Farm
Khotso Adventure Farm
#3 of 19 in Underberg
121 reviews
0.9 km away
Yellowwood Cottage
Yellowwood Cottage
#1 of 9 in Himeville
57 reviews
8.8 km away
The Old Hatchery
The Old Hatchery
#2 of 12 in Underberg
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
KarMichael is a family run farm. We are situated just outside the Village of Himeville. We have up market self catering cottages and Bed 'n Breakfast accommodation available. Access is easy along tarred roads and guests just love the peace and quiet of the place. ... more   less 

Additional Information about KarMichael Farm Guesthouse

Address: Sani Road, Himeville 3256, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Himeville
Price Range: $109 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your KarMichael Farm Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from KarMichael Farm Guesthouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The fisherman's cottage looks onto beautiful scenery with trees and fields”
, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“For access to wifi, stay in room near front office.”
travelhardandchitown, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are good”
berianm, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Check their website to see which unit suits you - they can cater for up to 30 people.”
  • Early autumn morning mists
  • Dawn awakening
rosemills2, 2 Jun 2016 | Read review
“in winter choose one with underfloor heating”
pole-pole_express, 27 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Priceline
* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisor
Booking.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates