We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

KarMichael Farm Guesthouse

TripAdvisorUS$76*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$76*
US$76*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
KarMichael Farm Guesthouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

62 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for KarMichael Farm Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Showing 48: English reviews
Kloof, South Africa
Reviewed 25 September 2016

We had a group of 20 People and we were easily accommodated. The arrangements beforehand were competently dealt with. The rooms were clean, neat and tastefully furnished. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The "shed" was very convenient for our group to chat and get together.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BarryHgo
Kevin_McDonagh, Owner at KarMichael Farm Guesthouse, responded to this review

Barry we sincerely appreciated you taking time to review us. Glad that it all worked out well for your group too. The staff enjoy their work and we have often been complimented on the way they treat guests. Will pass on the kind words to them. The Shed is a great meeting area as well for groups and glad you...

Reviewed 23 August 2016

5 for Location. 5 for Room. 5 for atmosphere I had a short stay at Karmichael Farm during Splashy music festival in March 2016. It is indeed a special place in the world. So peaceful and scenic. The rooms have a glorious class about them and the staff are exceptionally warm and helpful. I travel for work and this was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BobbyAlu
Kevin_McDonagh, Owner at KarMichael Farm Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi Bobby Really appreciate your feedback on our place and glad we were able to make your stay a memorable one. Splashy Fenn was also a great time for us with a few interesting artists staying too. Our staff work hard at their jobs and will make sure that they get to hear about your great stay. Would love to...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

Wonderful accommodation with all that your heart requires and the added bonus of underfloor heating. Kevin and his staff are so friendly and helpful, we landed up here by an error of a double booking at a different guesthouse and we are so glad it happened. We will definitely be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelly F
Kevin_McDonagh, Owner at KarMichael Farm Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi Kelly Thank you for taking time to review your short stay with us. Your time is much appreciated. We are glad that we could assist at short notice and happy you enjoyed the cottage. It does get cold this time of the year so the heating does help and make it comfortable. The staff try very hard and I...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

What a gem we found when looking for a place to stay for the Choc Sani walk. On arrival we were warmly greeted by the owner. The views from our cottage were of splendid mountains covered in snow. The cottage was clean and beautifully appointed with every effort made to ensure that we'd be warm. We were kept cozy by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dhvardi
Kevin_McDonagh, Owner at KarMichael Farm Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi Dhvardi We truly appreciate you taking the time to review our place. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. It does get pretty chilly here at this time of the year and pleased that you were warm and comfortable. Full marks for making the walk up the Pass. Hopefully we get to see you again. Kind Regards Kevin

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 June 2016

Beautiful farm property with great views of the country side. The staff were friendly and accommodating. Rooms were a great size and well kept. Made a pit stop here before driving up the Sani Pass (a must for breathtaking views). Breakfast was simple and delicious - a small variety of cereals and fruit with eggs to your preference. Highly recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank schroediee
Kevin_McDonagh, Owner at KarMichael Farm Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Much appreciated. We are glad that you enjoyed your short stay with us and will pass on your comments about the staff to them too. We trust your trip up the pass went well and that the rest of your South African Adventure left you feeling positive about this wonderful place of ours.

somerset west
Reviewed 2 June 2016

We overnighted at Karmichael Farm, which was a bonus on our trip to the Eastern Cape. The Rose Cottage is delightful with lovely views across farmlands. Breakfast in The Shed was very good.. Mavis is a true gem and ever so helpful. A quick peek at their alternate accommodation proved to be very well appointed and tastefully varied. Pity to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rosemills2
Kevin_McDonagh, Owner at KarMichael Farm Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi Rose We truly appreciate your time taken in writing a review. Glad that you enjoyed your short stay. We trust that the rest of your journey went well. We will pass on your favourable comments to Mavis and are grateful for their input. Take care and hopefully see you again in the future Kevin

Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 May 2016

A very comfortab!e room, p!easant gardens and good breakfasts. Situated in nice countryside it is a convenient location for a trip over the Sani Pass into Losotho and other local activities. Good friendly service.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jillfmc
Kevin_McDonagh, Owner at KarMichael Farm Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi Jill Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you were comfortable and enjoyed the stay. Your reviews certainly help others as well when deciding on possible accommodation options. Take care and hope to maybe see you again in the future. Kevin

Umkomaas, South Africa
Reviewed 2 May 2016

I recently spent two nights at Karmichael. I stayed in the stables on a self catering basis. The room was an absolute delight. It is spotlessly clean and very charming. I found that the kitchen had every thing I needed for quick and easy meals. The bathroom is huge and tastefully decorated. Karmicheal is just outside Himeville and it is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbieholroyd
Kevin_McDonagh, Owner at KarMichael Farm Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi Debbie Thank you for taking the time to write a review about us. It is really appreciated and helps others also decide on where to stay. Glad we were able to provide you with a comfortable stay and hope it was all worthwhile for you and your photographic group. This area is certainly a photographers paradise at this time...

Meyerton, South Africa
Reviewed 19 April 2016 via mobile

After an amazing adventure through the Lesotho mountains and down Sani Pass we arrived at KarMichael Farm. Beautiful and tranquil,friendly staff and we were made to feel relaxed and at home. Stunning rooms and spectacular views! Highly recommended!! Will definitely be back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CathydaCosta
Kevin_McDonagh, Owner at KarMichael Farm Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi Cathy Thanks for taking the time to review us. It is really appreciated. Glad you enjoyed your stay and were comfortable. Pity you just missed the first snowfall of the year. I am sure the trip through Lesotho would have looked a whole lot different. Kind Regards

Wellington, NZ
Reviewed 9 February 2016

The grounds are wonderful. We stayed for 2 nights with a tour group, eating and sleeping at karMichael. It has a relaxed atmosphere and spacious grounds to explore with views up to the land of Lesotho (we went up Suni Pass). The rooms are comfortable, but no TV (and there is WiFi but it didn't work so well in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Duncan W
Kevin_McDonagh, Owner at KarMichael Farm Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi Duncan Thank you for your review. Glad you had a comfortable stay. We have specifically decided not to put TV's in the rooms, and have in fact had more positive than negative responses to that. The folk like the peace and quiet. Making WiFi available to all the rooms was an expensive exercise, but is freely available at reception...

67 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (65)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Himeville
8.7 km away
Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel
2.8 km away
Premier Resort Sani Pass
Premier Resort Sani Pass
#2 of 2 in Himeville
77 reviews
0.5 km away
Moorcroft Manor
Moorcroft Manor
#1 of 9 in Himeville
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.5 km away
Khotso Adventure Farm
Khotso Adventure Farm
#3 of 19 in Underberg
126 reviews
0.9 km away
Yellowwood Cottage
Yellowwood Cottage
#2 of 9 in Himeville
59 reviews
8.8 km away
The Old Hatchery
The Old Hatchery
#2 of 12 in Underberg
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
KarMichael is a family run farm. We are situated just outside the Village of Himeville. We have up market self catering cottages and Bed 'n Breakfast accommodation available. Access is easy along tarred roads and guests just love the peace and quiet of the place. ... more   less 

Additional Information about KarMichael Farm Guesthouse

Address: Sani Road, Himeville 3256, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Himeville
Price Range: $111 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your KarMichael Farm Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from KarMichael Farm Guesthouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The fisherman's cottage looks onto beautiful scenery with trees and fields”
, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“For access to wifi, stay in room near front office.”
travelhardandchitown, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are good”
berianm, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Check their website to see which unit suits you - they can cater for up to 30 people.”
  • Early autumn morning mists
  • Dawn awakening
rosemills2, 2 Jun 2016 | Read review
“in winter choose one with underfloor heating”
pole-pole_express, 27 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$76* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$76
Priceline
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates