We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
48-52 Aza Kabayama, Kutchan-cho, Abuta-gun 044-0078 Hokkaido
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (172)
Room & Suite (69)
Dining (20)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
A note from The Orchards Niseko
Updated 21/05/20

About

#4 of 123 Specialty lodging in Kutchan-cho
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Our community resort, The Orchards, features a unique portfolio of chalets nestled between Mt. Yotei and Mt. Niseko-Annupuri. With a selection of 2 to 6 bedroom chalets on offer, on site restaurant and attentive concierge team, The Orchards is the perfect accommodation to suit couples, large groups and families alike.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Restaurant
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Children's playground
Children's television networks
Parking
Wifi
Horseback riding
Ski school
Skiing
Canoeing offsite
Fishing
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Massage
BBQ facilities
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Clothes dryer
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Desk
Dining area
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Cable / satellite TV
Bidet
Housekeeping
Seating area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Dishwasher
Microwave
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, Japanese

Location

Full view
Contact
48-52 Aza Kabayama, Kutchan-cho, Abuta-gun 044-0078 Hokkaido
Name/address in local language
Getting there
New Chitose Airport79 kmSee all flights
Okadama Airport63 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
97Reviews0Q+A19Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 94
  • 2
  • 0
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Valerie C wrote a review Apr 2022
Chiba, Japan3 contributions
We were so lucky to be able to come back here during Spring break. Our daughters were talking about it all the time after their first visit in summer 2021, and even after coming back from this trip they are still constantly asking when we can go back to Shimai @ The Orchards Niseko again. Our second trip to Shimai and it certainly didn't disappoint. There was still enough snow around Shimai for the kids to play with and they had so much fun even on the days they didn't go skiing. Shimai was perfect! Everything was comfortable and it was very well equipped, it truly felt like home. Also, the central location meant that we were close to the ski resorts, various eateries and even the Niseko International Clinic. The MNK staff went out of their way to make our stay even more pleasant. The free shuttle service to the ski resort and areas around Hirafu was especially useful. I definitely recommend Shimai to families and groups of friends.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: request for Shimai, definitely!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from David Snowball, Guest Services / Front Office at The Orchards Niseko
Responded 25 Apr 2022
Dear Aftiel, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review, we truly appreciate your valuable feedback. We are very pleased to hear you had another fantastic stay at The Orchards and enjoyed the service provided by our staff. As you explained, The Orchard's chalets are superbly appointed with spacious living and dining areas equipped with modern furnishings so you have everything you could need on your holiday. As mentioned, The Orchards also offers a complimetary to the nearby ski slopes and restaurants. We are very happy to hear you had fun with the Spring snow and thatyou were able to enjoy all that Niseko has to offer. Once again, thank you for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards, David
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Valerie C wrote a review Sep 2021
Chiba, Japan3 contributions
After reading so many positive reviews Of Shimai at The Orchards, we were determined to stay here if we ever had a chance to go to Niseko. Our chance finally came when we moved to Japan and needed somewhere to escape from the insane summer heat during our kids’ summer holidays. We managed to book a stay for slightly over 2 weeks and it was probably the holiday accommodation we have ever stayed in. Shimai was truly a home away from home. It had pretty much everything we needed, and more. We were spoilt for choice with the various kitchen equipment available. There were induction cookers, a KitchenAid Mixer, a hotpot set, a rice cooker, a Nespresso Machine, an automated water flask and a toaster, amongst other items. We actually brought a travel booster seat along for our younger daughter to use during meal times but were pleasantly surprised that Shimai was already equipped with it’s own high chair. And our children were absolutely thrilled to have their own kids’ cutlery sets. Everything down to the little details of the place were evidently designed with a lot of thought. There were board games for family time, kids’ story books (all the classics!), a Nintendo Wii for the older kids, a billiard table for the adults. This was perfect as Hokkaido was uncharacteristically hot this summer so we stayed in mostly. We also loved the huge wooden bathtub and the kids enjoyed “swimming” in it. Tables in all the bedrooms also meant that there was ample space for my husband to work in one room while my elder daughter had her online classes in another, and I could do my facial routine with my younger daughter having her nap in the last. The flowers and plants around Shimai were always carefully chosen and perfectly pruned, it was such a joy to come back to and open the curtains every morning. All in all, the vacation house was nothing short of perfect and our kids are still constantly asking when we can go back.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from David Snowball, Guest Services / Front Office at The Orchards Niseko
Responded 9 Sep 2021
Dear Aftiel, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review, we truly appreciate your valuable feedback. We are very pleased to hear you had a fantastic stay at The Orchards. As you explained, The Orchard's chalets are superbly appointed with spacious living and dining areas equipped with modern furnishings so you have everything you could need on your holiday. Once again, thank you for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards, David
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PF V wrote a review Mar 2021
Singapore, null, Singapore12 contributions2 helpful votes
This is our second stay at Shimai, this time for skiing, we spent a very relaxing time, everything is there to enjoy yourself after a long ski day: the big Japanese bath, very warm and comfy living room, great beds. The local food is delicious you can find a great selection of wine and amazing ingredients to cook in the super well equipped kitchen. Didn't feel the need to go out although the MNK crew was letting us know they could drive us anywhere if we wanted to enjoy an evening outside. There was more snow we knew what do do with, the MNK crew again helped us get out after a night of snowfall a couple of times 🙂 Again a great experience, could disconnect from work, re-center, rest and most importantly have fun skiing in one of the best ski resort of the planet (defo best powder snow!).
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Great views on Mt Anapuri and Yotei, Kitchen fully equipped, All electronic comfort, Audio,...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from David Snowball, Guest Services / Front Office at The Orchards Niseko
Responded 23 Mar 2021
Dear pfV969, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review, we truly appreciate your valuable feedback. We are very pleased to hear you had another fantastic stay at The Orchards and enjoyed the service provided by our staff. As you explained, The Orchard's chalets are superbly appointed with spacious living and dining areas equipped with modern furnishings so you have everything you could need on your holiday. As you mentioned, we were lucky enough to recieve plenty of snow during your stay and we are very happy to know you were able to enjoy all that Niseko has to offer. Once again, thank you for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards, David
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sean T wrote a review Sep 2020
Singapore, Singapore35 contributions4 helpful votes
This is the 3rd time my friends and I chose to book Shimai @ The Orchards Niseko for our vacation. We stayed at Shimai for the first time back in 2015 and it charmed us so much that we returned again in 2017. Having experienced two winter vacations there, we really wanted to see what other seasons in Niseko are like; without a doubt, Shimai is our top choice for accommodation. So in Summer 2020, we visited Shimai yet again, for the 3rd time. As always, it exceeded our expectations and we were delighted to experience summer in Shimai this time round. The amenities at Orchards Niseko are top-notch; excellent service by the staff. Paula and Ariel did a fantastic job attending to our requests when we were booking for our stay there. Upon arrival, Adam took great care of us, ensured that we have everything we needed. They are always on standby at the front desk during office hours, and a phone-call away after that. Inside Shimai, there are 3 huge bedrooms, one of them with an ensuite bath. Two other bathrooms are in the common area with one of them featuring a really big Japanese-style bath. A fully-equipped kitchen. Oven, toaster, mixer, food processor, plates and cutleries in variety of sizes, wine glasses, beer mugs, sake vessels, you name it. The list goes on. There's almost nothing I couldn't find in their kitchen. Bake something, whip up meals... we did a lot this trip; made full use of the kitchen! I must also mention that I love the huge kitchen island and the long dining table. A small pool-table, retro arcade machine (with classics like Donkey Kong, Frogger, and more), game consoles, board games, Apple TV, cable TV... a lot of options for entertainment. Inside Shimai, you will also find beautiful art pieces by artists all over the world, displayed in the shelves and on the walls. Just too many things to praise about Shimai and The Orchards Niseko. It is really the best place I have stayed in Hokkaido. Will definitely return to Shimai again, and again!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Choose Shimai. No regrets.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from David Snowball, Guest Services / Front Office at The Orchards Niseko
Responded 5 Jan 2021
Dear Seantpl, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review, we truly appreciate your valuable feedback. We are very pleased to hear you had another fantastic stay at The Orchards and enjoyed the service provided by our staff. As you explained, The Orchard's chalets are superbly appointed with spacious living and dining areas equipped with modern furnishings so you have everything you could need on your holiday. Once again, thank you for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards, David
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jessicacca wrote a review Aug 2020
Hong Kong, China42 contributions126 helpful votes
It’s our second time at The Orchards, Niseko and we are just loving the accommodation more and more! The house was just as great as always - well equipped, spacious and convenient (when you have your own rental car though). It’s real great for a bunch of friends on a snowboarding and skiing trip - as it has a spacious living room and kitchen, so you could definitely hang out there after your tiring day! Also, due to the COVID-19 situation this year, we were forced to extend for 2 more nights there, although the house change, the reception team assisted us swiftly with the issue - thanks again! We definitely would love to be back next year, so let’s hope for the best!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Orchards Niseko, Guest Services / Front Office at The Orchards Niseko
Responded 28 Aug 2020
Dear Jessicacca, Lovely to hear that you have enjoyed your second stay at The Orchards Niseko! The chalets at our resort are designed to cater for families, and group of friends like yours, and we are happy to hear you have enjoyed the layout and what our resort has to offer. Our reception team would love to welcome you back at The Orchards this winter season so hopefully we can see you again very soon. Warm regards, Paula
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PF V wrote a review Aug 2020
Singapore, null, Singapore12 contributions2 helpful votes
We stayed 2 weeks at the Shimai house at The Orchards Niseko and definitely recommend it! We needed a break from Tokyo after being stuck more or less at home with for the past 4.5 months dealing with homeworks and almost non stop work during COVID-19. We needed a place where we could also continue to work from time to time so we could go away for more than a week. Shimai exceeded our expectations, it is amazingly comfortably setup, like a home (as opposed to "standard" rental setup), you feel relaxed right away. The space is huge with 3 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms on the 1st floor, a Japanese bath to relax after a day of trekking. On the 2nd floor, really spacious living place with a super well equipped kitchen (with all the utensils and even a food processors, IH cooking, Nespresso, etc.), super large counter where we were having our meals. The rest of the space is divided between the living room (TV+ BS/CS+ Apple TV - super convenient to show the day's pictures - on Living room 60" and the master bedroom, and a nintendo console), a very long dining table, and a game section with a pool table, numerous society games, table for the kids where they can play/draw and the authentic (working condition) Arcade game! (+ toilet). There is also a small dishwasher and a washing machine-dryer. The view from pretty much any window of the house is smoothing, with on one side Mt Yotei and on the other side Mt Niseko Annupuri (can check the ski field conditions in the winter!) Very convenient place to reach a number of trails, a great variety of restaurants round although we were shopping most of the time at Kutchan's Lucky supermarket (10-min drive) and other local stalls found amazing quality fresh seafood, and vegetables, so we ended up cooking and relaxing at home most of the time, didn't feel the need to go out. The Orchards Niseko also have a playground for kids, very convenient when you are busy and they still need to expend some energy after trekking Mt Niseko!!! The internet connection was good and stable, used the TV screens with the Apple TV as external monitors. Thanks to the relaxing ambiance of Shimai, we didn't feel the drag of having to work. Cleaning service was convenient, quick non intrusive and the Orchards Niseko staff was very kind and helpful, check-in and check out were a bliss. Thank you for building such an amazing place, we definitely want to escape at Shimai again!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from David Snowball, Guest Services / Front Office at The Orchards Niseko
Responded 5 Jan 2021
Dear pfV969, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review, we truly appreciate your valuable feedback. We are very pleased to hear you had another fantastic stay at The Orchards and enjoyed the service provided by our staff. As you explained, The Orchard's chalets are superbly appointed with spacious living and dining areas equipped with modern furnishings so you have everything you could need on your holiday. Once again, thank you for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards, David
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Daphne N wrote a review Apr 2020
Singapore12 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
Shimai definitely exceeded all expectations! The house catered comfortably to 6 adults and 2 kids. We were greeted with a warm reception at check in; friendly and attentive staff explaining the property, shuttle service and being just a phone call away. The house was very well maintained (with bonus heated floors!) and decorated. It had a well equipped kitchen with really fun eclectic crockery. The Japanese bath was a delight to soak in at the end of the day, after returning from the cold, body tired from snowboarding and sledding. We could keep ourselves sufficiently entertained in the evenings as there was a wide selection of DVDs to watch, Nintendo, retro arcade game machine, pool table, and board games. Bedrooms were cosy, comfy and clean. The living and dining area had a gorgeous view of Mt. Yotei. The children (and adults!) had fun, sledding, building snowman and having snowball fights just outside the house. A few minutes drive (or arrange for the shuttle!) takes you to Mt Hirafu, supermarkets and restaurants. All guests in the house voted this an incredible experience, and we’re looking forward to be back! Thank you, Shimai! xx
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Orchards Niseko, Guest Services / Front Office at The Orchards Niseko
Responded 6 Apr 2020
Dear Daphne, Great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in Shimai, one of our 3 bedroom comfort chalet at The Orchards Niseko! Thank you so much for sharing your review with us. These chalets offer spacious living conditions for big groups like yours and we are happy to know you were able to benefit from all the perks that this chalet has to offer during your holiday. Being in close proximity to Hirafu Village, the location of The Orchards is offering easy access via rental car or complimentary resort shuttle transport to the ski lifts and the restaurants and shops. Many of the properties at The Orchards are equipped with Japanese baths and DVD's or board games for the guest to be able to enjoy a relaxing night in their home away from home during their stay. Our front desk team hope to see you again soon and we would like to invite you as well to explore our on site modern izakaya restaurant Tomo on your next visit. Please do get in touch with us for redeeming your repeater discount as well. Warm regards, Paula
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
drlawrencesoh wrote a review Mar 2020
Holland Village, Singapore89 contributions75 helpful votes
Excellent location with 2 beautiful mountains views. 1 km away from Grand Hirafu. Not a busy thoroughfare at Grand Hirafu with noisy cars, skiers and drunks. Large houses with wide safe open spaces for family to enjoy.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Orchards Niseko, Guest Services / Front Office at The Orchards Niseko
Responded 9 Mar 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for the kind words! We are happy to hear you have enjoyed your stay with MnK Niseko. The location of The Orchards and the spacious scale of our chalets is what attracts group of friends, families & couples to stay with us. Please do stay in touch with us via our social media platform and we are hoping to see you return in the near future! Warm regards, Paula
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
wkbtan wrote a review Jan 2020
Singapore, Singapore20 contributions23 helpful votes
Right from check in to check out was an invaluable experience for the family. Our villa ‘ Goyotmatsu’ was nicely decorated and well maintained- with a beautiful view of mt. Yotei from our huge backyard. The kids enjoyed building snow castle & sledge slopes in the yard. The staff provided excellent service especially the drop off shuttle service- which was 5 stars! Keep it up and we’ll definitely be back for our next winter holiday.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Paula C, Guest Relations Manager at The Orchards Niseko
Responded 16 Jan 2020
Dear guest, Thank you so much for your wonderful review of your stay with MnK at The Orchards. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed staying in Goyomatsu, our 4 bedroom chalet with the spectacular view of Mt Yotei. The wide space around the chalets at The Orchards do offer our staying families a lot of opportunities for their children to play in the snow in a safe and fun environment. Thank you for choosing to stay with MnK and we are looking forward in welcoming you back in the near future! Warm regards, Paula
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AaronYeo wrote a review Jan 2019
Hong Kong, China83 contributions116 helpful votes
We were three families who stayed for a week in the 4-bedroom Goyomatsu and had a wonderfully luxurious ski holiday. The property was immaculately maintained with all the creature comforts that one could ever want, and was centrally located - so never 15-20 mins drive away from shops, restaurants and ski slopes. The property offered complimentary on-demand transfers around Niseko (but need to book in advance during peak periods) so we did not need to book a car or drive on the icy, slippery roads - though the property came with it's own covered car park. We all had lovely social gatherings (including in-house chef-cooked dinners) in the large common areas and then retreated to our cosy private rooms when it was time to rest. It never felt crowded and that is saying something when you have five young children in the house! Service was delivered with a smile by the young and enthusiastic in-house crew who offered assistance and advice in equal measures. The kids enjoyed the ski lessons organised by the property (with a company called e-Adventure I believe) - I would highly recommend the one-on-one ski lessons, and ask for Sho from ProPeak who was patient, passionate and excellent with our young sons (they were first time skiers and by the end of the week skied effortlessly). We would definitely come back - in fact are planning our next trip already! Kudos to the Orchards who are truly an oasis of hospitality in snowy Niseko!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: All the houses look fantastic!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from OrchardsNiseko, Guest Relations Manager at The Orchards Niseko
Responded 9 Jan 2019
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time and sharing your review and experience with us. We are thrilled to know that you have loved your say at Goyomatsu this year! The location of The Orchards is ideal for groups who want to enjoy spacious and luxurious chalets outside of the Hirafu area, but not too far away from all the restaurant and shops. Our on demand shuttle service offers a great opportunity to our guest to be able to get around the Niseko area if they do not have a rental car, so we are happy to know that it served your group during your stay. MnK In Chalet dining is always an excellent choice for our big group of guests as not many restaurants in the area do not take reservations for big groups and it is a nice way to enjoy the local cuisine in the comfort of your own chalet. MnK EdVenture is a unique product in Niseko, offering children amazing activities off and on the mountain. We are happy to hear that the boys had a good lesson on the slopes with their instructor and we hope to see them return next year to improve even more. We would be delighted to see you come back and stay at The Orchards next winter. Please do keep in touch and see you soon! Warm regards, Paula
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$205 - US$414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
JapanHokkaidoAbuta-gunKutchan-cho
NUMBER OF ROOMS
28
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Orchards Niseko
Which popular attractions are close to The Orchards Niseko?
Nearby attractions include Niseko Kids Club (1.2 km) and Kiyoe Gallery Niseko (1.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Orchards Niseko?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at The Orchards Niseko?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Orchards Niseko?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at The Orchards Niseko?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Orchards Niseko?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bar Gyu, Villa Lupicia Restaurant, and The Barn by Odin.
Does The Orchards Niseko have an airport shuttle?
Yes, The Orchards Niseko offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does The Orchards Niseko have airport transportation?
Yes, The Orchards Niseko offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Orchards Niseko?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Orchards Niseko?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Chinese, and Japanese.