We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Glenorchy Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glenorchy
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Glenorchy Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

60 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 57: English reviews
Start your review of The Glenorchy Hotel
 Click to rate
christchurch
Reviewed 29 January 2017

Glenorchy can be a harsh environment any time of year. It is 80 minutes form Queenstown by a good road. The Gleorchy Hotel providses good meals and adequate accomodation. Accomodation however is apartan and somewhat expoensive.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paulscottfilms
TBMR, Manager at The Glenorchy Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Paul, Thankyou for your comments.Backpacker rooms are pretty standard at 85.00 per night twin share in our area and more expensive in Queenstown. Of courrse it is peak time as well.Glenorchy also has additional freight costs being 120km return trip from Frankton.

Hong Kong
Reviewed 6 January 2017

I didn't want to post this review until I saw others'. Probably the dirtiest hostel i have stayed in NZ. The linens have caused my eczema to act up. Plus the unavailability of kitchen was never mentioned before booking. Would not recommend. Sorry.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pigmoon
TBMR, Manager at The Glenorchy Hotel, responded to this review

The linens being sheets are new every day.We do not have a kitchen which you new when you booked and were informed on arrival.So pigmoon I suggest that you check your email we sent you about the kitchen.We would not recommend you either!

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

Probably the worst backpacker hostel I have stayed in NZ. Very dirty room and bed sheets look like no cleaning at all. And there is no kitchen facilities (only has drinking water and a tiny fridge) available which is not mentioned in the website or booking email at all. Avoid at all cost!!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank JiamingFeng
TBMR, Owner at The Glenorchy Hotel, responded to this review

Probably the worst guest we have had.Cheapskate expecting 5 star in backpackers that writes false reviews.You tell ""Super porkies"" The sheets are obviously new each day.All bed linen is provided.The cabins are new and have all been renovated. The cabins are cleaned each day as I check them myself.Yes me. You were informed at booking time and check in that...

Canada
Reviewed 27 November 2016

I popped into Glenorchy for a few days in order to avoid the chaos that is Queenstown. There are only a few budget accommodation providers in town, which is perhaps unfortunate because the setting is stunning. I opted for the "backpackers retreat" at Glenorchy Hotel, the hotel arguably being the social epicentre of town. Unfortunately there wasn't much to it....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Paul B
TBMR, Manager at The Glenorchy Hotel, responded to this review

The fact that you choose to visit a location or town when it is raining is up to you.It rains all around the world not just in Glenorchy. There are toilets out side the cabins and bunk rooms and the area is well lit with automatic lights and yes the doors keep unwanted cheap skates out as well. How many...

Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 July 2016

The Glenorchy Hotel is charming and has fantastic views out towards the mountains and Valley. The staff were all friendly and attentive . Our room in the hotel had plenty of room and it was warm... and we loved the mohair blanket. The bathroom was very clean and everything worked well. Once we settled in , we had a drink...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sars355
TBMR, Manager at The Glenorchy Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for choosing to stay at our hotel.The views are very special in Glenorchy and it was good to see that you enjoyed our food and hospitality. We were pleased that the arrangements we made for you ended up being to your liking as travelling so far and organising such a trip is not easy. We were honoured to have...

Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 20 June 2016

We stayed in the backpackers cabin which looked nice and quaint. Lots of clean cutlery and dishes available, but unfortunately the stove wasn't working. It was a bit late in the night so we decided not to bother the staff and just used the microwave and kettle as well as we could to make dinner. Glenorchy has the loveliest views...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank annefrost
TBMR, Manager at The Glenorchy Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for your comments.I checked the stove and the hotplates are working so maybe ask our staff next time when you are here so we can show you which button/switch to push. We dont have single beds in the cabin they are bunks so not sure where you stayed,Maybe in the main cottage which has all been renovated. The...

seattle
Reviewed 2 June 2016

Since Glenorchy was one of my favorite locations in New Zealand it's tough to see anything negative. This hotel was standard. The rooms and shower were a bit small but that didn't stop me from sleeping well. The location is fantastic! The staff were friendly and willing to offer recommendations when we asked questions. I cannot speak for the food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DeneMiles
TBMR, Manager at The Glenorchy Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for choosing to stay at our hotel.Nice to see that you slept well on our new great beds! We are in the Centre of town so good to see that you enjoyed the location as well. I will pass on your comments to our staff as we think they are friendly too. Thankyou.

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 22 May 2016

Glenorchy is a wonderful place to be, with stunning scenery surrounding Lake Wakatipu and in the Dart and Rees River valleys - Lord of the Rings "territory". Glenorchy Hotel is a good base - with great food in the dining room, but rooms are a bit spartan for the price. I had an en-suite room, with thin walls between adjacent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mycophile
TBMR, Manager at The Glenorchy Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at the hotel. Our lighting is Eco lighting as we are all trying to help save the planet.The lights do light the room enough once they are on as most guests leave them on. The wall heater has a thermostat on it and yes being winter it is better to be warmer than colder...

Gosford, Australia
Reviewed 23 April 2016

Scenic drive to Glenorchy from Queenstown and a great little pub. Great range of beers ciders and wine. Restaurant with both indoor and outdoor dining. Great friendly service and certainly a place to pull up and rest a while.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank peter y
TBMR, Manager at The Glenorchy Hotel, responded to this review

Hi,Thanks for taking the time to call in for a beer.Nice to also see that our staff looked after you. Thankyou.

Roleystone, Australia
Reviewed 9 April 2016 via mobile

We took a drive to Glenorchy and arrived at lunch time. This hotel looked very appealing with a natural stone wall and glass windbreak around the front garden. We had lunch looking at snow topped peaks and waterfalls, magic spot. We both ordered beer battered fish and chips, which were done to perfection. The hotel caretaker was very friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gemini2261
TBMR, Manager at The Glenorchy Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for choosing to visit us and have lunch.The beer battered fish n chips are fresh and well worth trying. Our views from the beer garden area are superb and well sheltered. Thankyou.

21 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenorchy
28.2 km away
Matakauri Lodge
Matakauri Lodge
#4 of 57 in Queenstown
211 reviews
29.2 km away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
33.5 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Kinloch Lodge
Kinloch Lodge
#2 of 5 in Glenorchy
258 reviews
5.7 km away
Glenorchy Peaks B&B
Glenorchy Peaks B&B
#1 of 5 in Glenorchy
68 reviews
1.9 km away
Blanket Bay
Blanket Bay
#1 of 5 in Glenorchy
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Glenorchy Hotel Ltd Restaurant
Glenorchy Hotel Ltd Restaurant
Cuisines: Bar, New Zealand
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Country Hotel located 47kms or 35 minutes from Queenstown at the Head of the Lake in the centre of town. Recently renovated. We have ensuite rooms with TVs and free wifi,BackPackers accommodation and parking for self contained campervans. We have a separate restaurant, with a full Gastro Pub restaurant menu, both breakfast, lunch and dinner, Bar with HAPPY HOUR FRIDAY AND SATURDAY NIGHT, and bar menu and a large terraced outside beer garden. FREE OFFSTREET CARPARKING, luggage storage and boat parking.Our Glenorchy Information Centre and Glenorchy General store provides maps, track transport bookings arrival and departure centre,bike and fishing rod hire. Free information for trout fisherman,and trampers from experienced staff.Special rates during winter.Recently renovated ensuite rooms.Self contained campervans park for FREE. Backpackers has recently been renovated. Twin rooms and bunk room cabins. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Glenorchy Hotel

Address: Mull Street, Glenorchy 9350, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Glenorchy
Price Range: $28 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Glenorchy Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Inside the hotel itself are the better rooms. There is shared bathroom facility.”
 of 5 bubbles paulscottfilms, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Paradise room or Earnslaw. I think they are all probably very good”
 of 5 bubbles sars355, 6 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Worth it to pay more to stay on the hotel side if you're looking for more luxury”
 of 5 bubbles annefrost, 19 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Recommend requesting a room with en-suite unless you're OK with shared facilities.”
 of 5 bubbles Mycophile, 22 May 2016 | Read review
“Lots of other places in town”
 of 5 bubbles khigginscc, 7 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5