We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cheltenham Regency Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Cheltenham Regency Hotel
Cheltenham Regency Hotel
Panoramas (61)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

462 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 459: English reviews
Start your review of Cheltenham Regency Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

We fancied a week off season in the Cotswolds and opted for the Regency hotel which came recommended by trip advisor. We had booked a deal with secret escapes, the room had double aspect windows, overlooking the carpark with a king size bed. Our deal included a 3 course meal from a good choice menu, tasty and well presented. Staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Werner S
Alvechurch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Large room which was very clean good facilities and very comfortable. The room was quiet despite the Hotel being close to Staverton airport. Large double bed which was very comfortable. Temperature within the room was controllable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan P
DorianCharlton, General Manager at Cheltenham Regency Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you for your fabulous review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the room clean, comfortable and quiet. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again very soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Husband booked a night away on a spur of the moment having stayed here before! Again our stay did not disappoint - from being welcomed by Irene in reception to the staff at breakfast in the morning! There is a bus stop right opposite the hotel that has buses, I think, every 10/15 minutes that can take you right into...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gayle E
DorianCharlton, General Manager at Cheltenham Regency Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you for your fabulous review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us again. I will pass all your kind words to the relevant staff. As you say, we are very lucky to have a great bus service from outside the hotel into town every 10 minutes with the benefit of not having to work out the one...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Booked up at last minute for a trip to Cheltenham. Staff were friendly but a little laid back tbh. Breakfast was good and and good variety. The room was clean but attention to detail needs looking at. Shower light not working and bath plug not holding water. Overall a pleasant stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
DorianCharlton, General Manager at Cheltenham Regency Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you for your excellent review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank-you for your feedback. I will be passing all of your comments to the relevant departments to be dealt with immediately. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago

From the time we arrived we were greeted with the most professional and friendly atmosphere by staff.The location is brilliant, only a short drive to town and to the racecourse . Stayed on the ground floor which I was worried about but there was no noise whatsoever and had a great sleep. Room was spacious and clean, bed comfortable. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elva B
DorianCharlton, General Manager at Cheltenham Regency Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you for your fabulous review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, enjoyed the restaurant and slept well! I look forward to welcoming you back next year for the races - if you could just let us have some tips for a few winners though!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

First impression when we got here is it's a bit dated ! The booking said hotel has recently had a refurb but it's not all done ! Our room was clean and pleasant but quite dark . The staff here were amazing we had one complaint that Jose on breakfast duty Saturday was very rude asking for money before we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pithirl
DorianCharlton, General Manager at Cheltenham Regency Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry that you found Jose to be rude as this is quite out of character but will be dealt with. Our restaurant used to be closed on a Sunday. However we have recently reopened it to be open every day but need to amend...

Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

If you are a fan of bog standard Holiday Inns (and places alike) I don't think you'll like it here. However, if (like me) you embrace the different and individual, this is a great place to stay. The walls of reception and the halls are covered in drawings and photos of Cheltenham. The rooms are large with nice chunky wooden...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicola B
DorianCharlton, General Manager at Cheltenham Regency Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you for your review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the photos in all the corridors - all of which were taken by my Aunt! I am also delighted you enjoyed the breakfast. When refurbishing the rooms we decided not to put locking doors on the bathrooms as generally the rooms are occupied by either...

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Admittedly my wife and I went for a meal at the Regency using a Groupon voucher but having been we will go again without. We went because the voucher was for a Spanish tapas meal for two with a selection of three tapas each and a litre of sangria included. The selection of tapas was excellent and we chose three...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Oakley P
DorianCharlton, General Manager at Cheltenham Regency Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you for your fabulous review. I am delighted you enjoyed our Tapas. We have recently started this menu and decided to launch it on Groupon. However we are still running a similar special offer if booked direct so I look forward to welcoming you back soon - where I hope the standard of food and service to be at least...

The New Forest, Hampshire
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were very impressed with our overnight stay! Our room, The Prom junior suite was really lovely, spacious and spotlessly clean! It has a walk in shower which suited my husband, he's disabled, also a bath! It was on the first floor, however, there is a lift! This morning we had a very nice breakfast, buffet style, something for everyone...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denny J
DorianCharlton, General Manager at Cheltenham Regency Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you for your fabulous review. I am delighted you enjoyed The Promenade Suite and our breakfast. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were disappointed when we checked in as the hotel has the feeling of a budget hotel. The room was a bit drab, but it was comfortable, large bed, plenty of hot water, and it got better. The staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful. We stayed 2 nights on a very reasonable dinner, bed and breakfast deal and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John19662014
DorianCharlton, General Manager at Cheltenham Regency Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you for your review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed your meals in the restaurant. I will pass on your kind words about our friendly staff. Our aim is to offer the highest level of service and food at the right price and I am delighted that we achieved that and exceeded your expectations. I...

320 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (264)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Executive Suite (36)
Viewed
Junior Suite (36)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (30)
Viewed
Superior Twin Room (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (95)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staverton
1.1 km away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#9 of 22 in Cheltenham
497 reviews
4.5 km away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
5.1 km away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
39 reviews
4.6 km away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
5.7 km away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Cheltenham Regency Hotel is conveniently located only a few miles from the centre of Regency Cheltenham, yet only minutes from the motorway network. The hotel offers 47 newly refurbished en-suite bedrooms including suites, hotel bar and restaurant offering a selection of superb food from our menu. We also have a large function room, ideal for weddings, events and business conferences which holds up to 180 people for any occasion. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cheltenham Regency Hotel

Address: Gloucester Road, Staverton, Cheltenham GL51 0ST, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Cheltenham Regency Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham > Staverton
Price Range: $105 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cheltenham Regency Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cheltenham Regency Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Hotel Cheltenham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cheltenham Regency Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Worth, United Kingdom
over a year ago
West Midlands
over a year ago
11 months ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Cheltenham Regency Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“110 is a lovely room nice and quiet.”
ElvaB387, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Our visit was to the restaurant only.”
141oakleyp, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Not the ground floor, very poor rooms with little view.”
vinaybedi, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“rooms to the rear probably quietest (we have stayed there two years running and had rear ones each time) - road in front fairly busy”
E214VEmikes, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on first floor in my experience are larger than on ground floor, don't hesitate to contact hotel directly for best service.”
anitag580, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5