We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Tupa Hotel

Booking.comUS$140*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Tupa Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

195 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Tupa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 100: English reviews
Sesto San Giovanni, Italy
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I've been very satisfied with my stay in this hotel. The hotel is located near the main attractions of Hanga Roa, that include the ocean road, a couple of ahu sites and the main restaurants. The rooms are clean and spacious and the breakfast is very plentiful with fruit, bread, ham, cheese, cakes, juices, etc. At the reception there is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Devilsoul72
Thunder Bay, Canada
Reviewed 4 August 2013

The Tupa Hotel is a family-run hotel that provides clean rooms, a meal, transportation to and from the airport, and information on anything you need while in Rapa Nui. We booked the hotel far enough in advance to follow up with further emails to insure our rooms were confirmed and they were. We were met at the airport very pleasantly,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank E H
somewhere
Reviewed 20 July 2013

It is a rather simple accomodation though staf is friendly and helpful. The first room that we were given was simple but nice - ground floor with a balcony door leading to a nice lawn. It is nice to stay there if you are a solo traveler but if not, you might experience some discomfort because there is not any...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SomewhereTraveller
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We had booked this hotel from Expedia and shortly after they emailed us to know which flight we were on. Upon arrival in Hanga Roa Airport, the shuttle was waiting for us and being in low season, we all were upgraded to rooms with view of the sea. The hotel has no pool. There is no air conditioning, but the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jean-Paul R
Seoul, South Korea
Reviewed 21 June 2013

I booked, confirmed the reservations 3 days before arrival and when my friends and I got to Easter Island it was hell. We had to beg for shuttle, since the guy didn´t have our names and when we finally got to the hotel front desk they said we cancelled the reservation and there´s nothing for them to do since there...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank SoniaLim
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Hotel room was basic and very clean. Our room faced the gardens so we didn't have to listen to the noisy roosters that seem to gather in the courtyard. My main complaint was the noisy Italians that invaded the hotel on the last two nights we were there. Got little to no sleep those nights. There didn't seem to be...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank reatpete
Mantua, Italy
Reviewed 7 April 2013

I stayed at Tupa Hotel for 4 nights over Easter 2013. I had one of their cheapest rooms which was quite serviceable for my needs. I am Argentino so I've stayed in some awful rat holes over the years. But you get what you pay for. All I need is a bed and a shower when I am traveling, and...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank 312741Juan3939
Boulder, Colorado
Reviewed 26 March 2013

While lodging is relatively expensive on Easter Island, and while there are definitely more and larger insects there than many other places, the Tupa Hotel is run-down and poorly managed. My initial impression was excellent, based on the quick response time and friendly message from reception when I booked, and throughout my stay the receptionists and guides/transfer staff were great...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank onimity
tupahotel, Director of Sales at Tupa Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We always appreciate hearing from our guests about their stay so as to improve our services for future visitors. First, I apologize you had to wait more than 5 minutes to be attended at the front desk. We are not heavily staffed, and at times our receptionists need to attend to more than one thing...

Reviewed 22 March 2013

We had been optimistic that previous reviewers complaining of building works would mean that the renovations would be complete by the time of our arrival. Wrong! The work that had been completed was low budget. Room security amounted to placing a screw through two holes in the patio door! There was no facility to make or chill drinks in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Juliet Q
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 21 February 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself is what I expected. Basic and clean. Key to note here is that everything is expensive in Easter Island and you should calibrate your expectations accordingly. The room is basic yet very clean. No airconditoning. I was a bit worried at first but that was dissipated when the weather was cooler upon sunset. Walls are paper thin....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank bankergirl1016

182 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (127)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (55)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanga Roa hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa
0.1 km away
Taha Tai Hotel
Taha Tai Hotel
#6 of 15 in Hanga Roa
372 reviews
0.3 km away
Taura'a Hotel
Taura'a Hotel
#4 of 15 in Hanga Roa
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hotel Puku Vai
Hotel Puku Vai
#2 of 15 in Hanga Roa
275 reviews
0.2 km away
Tea Nui - Cabanas y Habitaciones
0.9 km away
Hotel Rapa Nui
Hotel Rapa Nui
#8 of 15 in Hanga Roa
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Tupa Hotel sits atop a small hill looking out over the West coast of the island and the town of Hanga Roa. Free WIFI is available in the lobby of the hotel. A free polynesian breakfast buffet is offered daily in the ocean view dining room. The hotel is located in a quiet area, one block from the main street and within 5 minutes walking distance to restaurants, shopping, and the coast. Please provide flight information in order to receive a FREE transport to the hotel from the airport Mataveri. Tours, car rentals, and other activities can be arranged at the reception desk. Mataveri airport (IPC) and Pea Beach are less than 1km away. Sebastian Englert Museum and the Tahai Archeological Complex are about 2 km away. Tupa Hotel offers 3 types of rooms: Ocean View, Garden View, or Budget. All guest rooms come with private bathroom, free daily breakfast, and daily room service. Ocean View and Garden View rooms have ceramic floors and include a patio. The most affordable option is the Budget Rooms, which are somewhat smaller than the others and have restricted views. For a real treat, book one of the ocean view rooms.Double occupancy rooms can be arranged with 2 twin beds or 1 matrimonial bed. Please indicate which bed type you would prefer at the time of reservation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tupa Hotel

Address: Sebastian Engler s/n, Hanga Roa, Easter Island n/a, Chile
Region: Chile > Easter Island > Hanga Roa
Price Range: $98 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tupa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and HRS so you can book your Tupa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tupa Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Tupa Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“At our end of the complex it took quite a while for the hot water to come through so patience (and a lot of water) is needed.”
GloriaSoames, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Try to get close to WIFi router as no wifi in rooms”
651dougw, 27 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you get a room fan, or leave.”
CarlUK999, 11 Jan 2016 | Read review
“confirm an ocean view room - it's their only plus”
IpanemaGuys, 13 Aug 2015 | Read review
“To see Easter Island at your own pace, renting a car is a must. The hotel can provide this for you.”
ShanghaiArnie, 7 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$140* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUS$140
Hotels.comUS$140
PricelineUS$140
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates