We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

The Dolphin Hotel

Show Prices
#1 of 1 Hotels in Beer
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Dolphin Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

306 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Dolphin Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 302: English reviews
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2015 via mobile

It is difficult to add to the above as we found the hotel to be excellent in all respects - but to make a list might endorse our thoughts. Choices and quality of food: Excellent Comfort of bed and quality of sleep: Excellent Drinks- quality and choices: Excellent Staff attentiveness, politeness, speed of service, cheerfulness: Excellent Cleanliness of hotel: Excellent... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MidlandsBoater
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back. More 

Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2015

The Dolphin looks gorgeous with it's hanging baskets full of flowers. The room we shared was on the small side and had no view at all. After walking 8+ miles along the south west coast road, some of which was pretty tough going I would have loved a bath, but there was only a shower unfortunately. I gather the food... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda T
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back. More 

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2015 via mobile

We had a couple of nights here for our 20th anniversary we were very impressed with our room and the breakfasts were lovely everything was presented lovely and the staff very cheerful and made you feel welcome we even had a evening meal the one night and the food was gorgeous all local and fresh we will definitely be going... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny W
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us for your 20th anniversary and we look forward to welcoming you back. More 

Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2015

Friendly, efficient and good value. Great traditional breakfasts with very good service from a well-trained team of young staff. Excellent varied dinner served patiently and gracefully to our noisy group of 13. Clean, modernish en-suite bedroom - the cheap bouncy beds could do with being replaced please.

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael A
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back. More 

Staffordshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2015 via mobile

We happened to come across the beautiful harbour village completely by accident whilst driving around the coast. The Dolphin Hotel only had 1 room for that night, so we didn't really know what to expect! It was at the end of the corridor & above the car park at the back- expecting it to be noisy & not able to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alex437
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and very happy that you enjoyed breakfast . We look forward to welcoming you back. More 

Level Contributor
121 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2015

An excellent stay. Good food (generous portions) beer and very clean rooms. The room was quiet but understand that some are over the bar! Car park at side. Breakfast very good with proper butter ( not a packet) and plenty of toast/coffee

Helpful?
Thank Frank C
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed your meal, we are known for our generous portions, we look forward to welcoming you back. More 

birmingham
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2015

Great friendly staff, and very helpful . Had a family room over the bar , big room very clean , I was warned prior to booking it may be noisy as it was over the bar , but we didn't think so . Great location and good free parking Breakfast wasn't too good the first day as bacon was under... More 

Helpful?
Thank yvon-8
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we can only apologize for the first morning about the breakfast but we are pleased that we rectified the breakfast for the following morning. We look forward to welcoming you back. More 

Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2015

Nice room, a little bit small, but overall a nice place to stay. Don't choose a room over the local bar, as the locals can get a bit noisy. The public bar with the locals can get a bit noisy and the language is a lot to be desired.

Helpful?
Thank angie g
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Hotel. We are pleased that you had a comfortable stay with us and can only apologize on the locals behalf for the language. We look forward to welcoming you back again. More 

Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2015

This hotel is in a great location and everything in on hand - just as well as once you have driven down to Beer you don't really want to drive back up until you are leaving! Didn't actually stay but had a look round; all looked nice and clean, the Sunday Carvery looks to be very good value and has... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Freemsdreams
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Hotel. We do have live music every Sunday afternoon during the summer. We look forward to welcoming you back. More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2015 via mobile

Last minute they fitted us in along with our large dog. Such friendly staff as the helpful reception lady. Parking was free everything Is nearby .pub beach fishing perfect for us :)planning another break next month.

Helpful?
Thank Emma C
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your last minute break away we look forward to seeing you on your next stay with us. More 

50 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (47)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beer
2.6 km away
Masons Arms
Masons Arms
#1 of 2 in Branscombe
573 reviews
6.7 km away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
348 reviews
3.8 km away
Swallows Eaves Hotel
Swallows Eaves Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colyford
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Anchor Inn Beer
Anchor Inn Beer
#4 of 9 in Beer
274 reviews
0.0 km away
Colebrooke House
Colebrooke House
#2 of 9 in Beer
158 reviews
0.2 km away
Durham House
Durham House
#3 of 9 in Beer
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Dolphin Hotel is an impressive historic Hotel situated in the beautiful fishing village of Beer on the Jurassic Coast. We have 22 bedrooms, a Restaurant, 2 Public Bars and a Function Room. We specialise in hearty portions of local seafood and home cooked meals. We have our OWN CAR PARK! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Dolphin Hotel

Address: Fore Street, Beer, Seaton EX12 3EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Seaton > Beer
Price Range: $129 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Dolphin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Hotel Beer
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Dolphin Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't bother.”
 of 5 bubbles skibereencork, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room as far away from the bar as possible.”
 of 5 bubbles RogerAckroyd, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Avoid rooms above the kitchen!”
 of 5 bubbles ChristopherH221, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a front room. (only 4 of them though), and you might want to avoid any over the kitchen!”
 of 5 bubbles 442ElizabethP, 25 May 2016 | Read review
“We cannot comment on the rooms; we used the restaurant only”
 of 5 bubbles grahamb860, 8 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay