We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

Errigal Country House Hotel

Save
Share
Cavan Rd, Cootehill Ireland
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$178
View deal
Free cancellation until 17/03/22
Priceline
US$178
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/03/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
US$165
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/03/22
Trip.comUS$172
ZenHotels.comUS$171
StayForLong
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (106)
Room & Suite (7)
Dining (5)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Errigal Country House Hotel is an elegant refurbished 18th Century Georgian House cushioned among the Drumlins of Cavan and Monaghan. We combine luxury with tranquillity and a warm Cavan Welcome. We offer the perfect backdrop when enjoying good food, drink and company in one of our relaxing dining areas. A visit to Riverside Spa will leave you feeling revitalized and deeply relaxed. All Guestrooms come complete with complimentary Wi-Fi access, tea/coffee making facilities, iron & ironing board, hairdryer, interactive TV system.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Sauna
Free breakfast
Horseback riding
Fishing
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Massage
Salon
Steam room
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Telephone
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
605Reviews7Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 347
  • 156
  • 58
  • 31
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Roisin M wrote a review Dec 2021
Maguiresbridge, United Kingdom8 contributions5 helpful votes
This is our third time staying at the hotel. We have always had first class service from the staff and find the hotel very accommodating. The rooms are lovely, food in the restaurant is beautiful and the hotel has a nice homly feel. We also received very good value, staying 2 nights with an evening 4 course meal. We booked ourselves afternoon tea, which was beautiful, and also booked ourselves massages in the Riverside spa which were also beautiful. There is a hair salon, where I got a wash and curly blow dry after our massages. I left the hotel extremely relaxed.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Plenty of parking at the door
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
James A wrote a review Dec 2021
13 contributions14 helpful votes
I cant highly recommend this hotel, room was beautiful, staff was absolutely fantastic, everyone was so nice, and kind, nothing fake, just genuine nice,kind and so friendly, and the food was A1, best breakfast i and my partner have ever had at any hotel, definitely be going back in new year, thank you again for such a nice evening
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
RMid5 wrote a review Dec 2021
Sheffield, United Kingdom8 contributions6 helpful votes
We visited Ireland recently for a few days to see family and stayed at the errigal for one night as we were visiting a cousin in Cavan. We sailed over from Holyhead to Dublin so as to take the car for convenience. Unfortunately, due to storm barra a day or two prior to our trip the ferries were rather disrupted, and our early sailing was cancelled and we were put on the next one. Then that one was delayed 3 hours. After boarding we were then another 2 hours before we sailed. We kept in touch with the errigal via several emails to update them and informed them we were going to be very late, which they said was fine and assured us someone would be available to check us in however late, which was reassuring. After the long drive from Dublin, we arrived at 12.30am. The hotel was in virtual darkness and seemingly deserted. We pressed buzzers and intercoms, even called the phone number, to no avail. We walked around and found an open door and entered. No one at reception. No one to be found anywhere. We walked all over, looking for someone to speak to. Eventually someone appeared. It was the night porter who was doing a job elsewhere in the hotel. After some explaining, he gave us the room key and showed us to the lift. He was very nice, but the whole experience was a bit strange. We couldn’t find or contact anyone even though they knew we were arriving and we were able to find our way in (eventually) and walk around unchallenged. However, apart from that glitch, we found the errigal warm and comfortable with everything we required. The breakfast next morning was delicious, and all the staff were friendly and helpful. Good value for money too. A good, if brief stay. Would have given five stars but for the hassle on our arrival. However, it didn’t spoil our stay. Would recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
LightPacker618857 wrote a review Nov 2021
4 contributions
We as a family stayed 1 night after a family wedding.. meal was fabulous and plenty offered.. The check in was warm and friendly and the staff couldn’t do enough for us.. I ask the young lady about getting a bouquet of flower she went out of her way to accommodate me.. Thank you so much we would definitely recommend and stay again.. Marie❤️
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Restaurant was busy for breakfast I would leave to around 10am..
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Mary C wrote a review Nov 2021
Dublin, Ireland2 contributions6 helpful votes
Very disappointed with Lodge Accommodation more 2* than 4* First impression lasts and our first wasn’t good. Grounds outside house overgrown and with weeds growing through cobblelock, lodge in need of a paint. On arrival no shower gel, shower caps etc or bin in bathroom. Asked at reception who said she would call house keeping. We returned later to room to find a half used bottle of imperial shower gel, one mini shampoo, shower caps bin but no bin bag/liner had been left. Carpet is a pale color and covered in stains with bits of fluff on it didn’t seem to have been hoovered. Lights full of dust. Bathroom light and vent filthy. Tiles in bathroom missing grout and cracks in them. Cobwebs on the light in landing outside door. Worst of all was the noise it was like sharing a house, very noisy from other rooms, doors banging no sound proof. Also with fans Or air con not sure which in house coming on and off from 6.30am. We informed receptionist on checking out of our disappointment with the room and response was Manager is unavailable and Lodges are not used during week and normally just over flow for wedding guests. This is not a good response as room should be to a standard no matter who guests are and we weren’t wedding guest and I was weekend. Hotel was lovely, food nice, Bar Manager lovely man. Unfortunately for us the hotel was full for weddings so we were only guest in bar but we’ll looked after. I can’t comment on Hotel rooms but definitely would not recommend staying in the Lodges.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Pat Kelly, Owner at Errigal Country House Hotel
Responded 24 Nov 2021
Dear Mary, Thank you kindly for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at The Errigal Country House Hotel. First and foremost, I am truly sorry to hear of your disappointing visit with us. I understand you had a number of concerns during your recent visit; regrettably there were clear lapses in service and in customer care. I fully appreciate the inconvenience caused to you. I am incredibly sorry that you were let down by Housekeeping / Maintenance team, your experience did not reflect the high standards of a hotel of our calibre; we receive many wonderful comments from our guests, which make it all the more heart-breaking when we do not manage to exceed a guests expectations. I can assure you we have acted on the concerns you had raised External walls and drives have been power washed, flower beds have been weeded. Housekeeping has carried out a thorough deep clean. I am grateful that you took the time to write about your experience; it gives my team and I the opportunity to learn and ultimately improve our service and our product. Kind regards, Pat Kelly General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$111 - US$169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
errigal country hotel
LOCATION
IrelandCounty CavanCootehill
NUMBER OF ROOMS
41
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Errigal Country House Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Errigal Country House Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Erica's Fairy Forest (2.4 km) and Tir na n-Óg (1.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Errigal Country House Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Errigal Country House Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Errigal Country House Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Errigal Country House Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Seans' Diner, Reynards Restaurant, and Side Street Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Errigal Country House Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Errigal Country House Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Errigal Country House Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Errigal Country House Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Drumlane Abbey (8.8 km).
Is Errigal Country House Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.