We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Vila Gale Santa Cruz

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Vila Gale Santa Cruz
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

958 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 519: English reviews
Start your review of Vila Gale Santa Cruz
 Click to rate
Barnsley
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Very nice hotel, only 10 minutes from airport. Yes, this means that planes fly close to hotel when landing but after first couple of planes, you'll hardly notice Them. We emailed asking for a sea view room but just received a reply saying only if we paid extra. We felt this was just money making by the hotel as almost...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PandacoBarnsley
Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My wife and I had a week here in March unusually for us we did an all inclusive deal with Thomson, mainly because we had a very good price! The hotel is very clean, well organised and efficient. The staff were all absolutely excellent with good English which makes up for our limited Portuguese. The bar staff are very efficient...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 79Mike
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

A late booking on an A/I deal with First Choice for our first trip to Madeira. First drop on the transfer coach the Vile Gale Santa Cruz proved to be an excellent choice. Check in was trouble free and we were pleased we paid the tour operator for a sea view room which was ready on arrival and well worth...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jonathan H
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely hotel,but given that there is next to nothing around about the hotel,the management need to do more for their guests.we were there last week,06/13 th 03/17.no kids in hotel at all.first nights entertainment?A parrot show.food was repetitive,and certainly not geared towards a British guest.if they can cater for an influx of polish guests,i.e.,pickle in everything,then they can do better...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank arthuraugaitis
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Return visit for a week all inclusive in February booked late via Thomson/First Choice. Our sea view double bed (2 single mattresses) room was on the 3rd of 4 floors, with good views over the pool and towards the airport (which despite it's proximity is not a problem) and the 'Deserted Islands'. Aircon is effective. Small balcony. Fridge stocked with...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jandlUk
VilaGaleHotels, Diretor-Geral at Vila Gale Santa Cruz, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you taking time to write such a detailed review on your stay at the Vila Galé Santa Cruz. It was nice to read that you enjoyed your stay. As far as the kettle is concerned and, as announced in the leaflet in your room, this service is upon request (free of charge). Hope you return to the...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel can be seen on the decent from the plane when landing and doesn't take long to get there at all. On first impressions the hotel is very modern, clean and spacious, as we went out of season in early April it wasn't busy either. The pool is huge however in April was very very cold but could imagine...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma M
VilaGaleHotels, Diretor-Geral at Vila Gale Santa Cruz, responded to this review

Dear Mrs. Emma, It was good to read that you enjoyed staying with us and that we provided you a good experience. As you well put and, as I usually say to our guests: the building with the big G on your left just before landing. Waiting for your return soon to the Vila Galé Santa Cruz. Best regards José...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent short break. A very clean and friendly hotel. Edward in the bar was outstanding he was always gave friendly warm & professional service at the bar. Likewise Daniel in the restaurant excellent. We did have a little problem with our room, faulty hot water supply, which the receptions ,(didn't get her name) sorted out by moving us to a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DerekKyte
VilaGaleHotels, Diretor-Geral at Vila Gale Santa Cruz, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Derek, We feel very proud to read that we are one of the hotels you stayed. Edward and Daniel thank you for your reference. Thanks for the trust on recommending the Vila Galé Santa Cruz. So we hope this will make you return soon. Best regards José Miguel Oliveira Martins General Manager

Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When we arrived at our apartment we were informed that we had been over booked and we were being upgraded to this hotel bed and breakfast at no extra cost. This was a great deal, the only problem was that Santa Cruz was not very busy, and not a lot of choice for eating out. We ate at the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank George E
VilaGaleHotels, Diretor-Geral at Vila Gale Santa Cruz, responded to this review

Dear Mr. George, Despite the circumstances that brought you to the Vila Galé Santa Cruz, we were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. Indeed, Santa Cruz is a very quiet town, very good to relax so if you are looking for a busy place, this is not a choice but this is what makes it very charming....

Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Myself & my partner went here on a last minute deals. We weren't disappointed. The hotel is modern & spotlessly clean. The staff are friendly, efficient and polite. The spa was a nice option on cooler days, with a heated pool, jacuzzi, steam room & sauna. The outdoor pool looked very inviting but was absolutely freezing, not surprising in February!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HellsBells39
VilaGaleHotels, Diretor-Geral at Vila Gale Santa Cruz, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First of all, thank you for the detailed review about your stay at the Vila Galé Santa Cruz. We were very pleased to know that you had a good stay at the hotel and regret that the matress was not to your like. Hope to welcome you again soon. Best regards José Miguel Oliveira Martins General Manager

Higham Ferrers
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

On most parts the holiday and hotel was up to our expectations, staff and the rooms were of a very good standard and the little touch of an incense stick left by the cleaners was a fantastic idea, however this was unlit with no matches on several occasions. This is the third Vila Gale we visited so we do have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Copperpot_uk

1,140 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (778)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (184)
Viewed
Dining (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (54)
Viewed
View from Room (65)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (123)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (302)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (323)
Viewed
Amenities (106)
Viewed
Beach (15)
Viewed
Pool (14)
Viewed
Dining (99)
Viewed
Standard Room (22)
Viewed
Suite (17)
Viewed
The Hotel (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (29)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz
5.6 km away
Four Views Oasis
Four Views Oasis
#2 of 14 in Canico
675 reviews
14.4 km away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
14.1 km away
Enotel Lido Madeira
Enotel Lido Madeira
#22 of 87 in Funchal
2,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 km away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
2,670 reviews
15.8 km away
Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel
Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel
#32 of 87 in Funchal
1,454 reviews
35.9 km away
Savoy Calheta Beach
Savoy Calheta Beach
#2 of 8 in Calheta
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This beach hotel in Santa Cruz (Madeira) is situated directly beside the sea. Funchal is just 15 minutes away, while Funchal airport is only 5 minutes from the hotel. The promenade and the aqua park are also nearby. There are also stony and pebble beaches in the area. The hotel, which was built in 2006, has a total of 262 room on 4 floors, where we feature 4 junior suites suitable for families. The hotel offers a fully air-conditioned environment with spacious lobby, lifts, 24-hour reception, hotel safe, three bars, two restaurants and parking facilities. It has congress centre (890 m²), room and laundry services, as well as a kids club and games room. All rooms with en suite bathroom, balcony, air conditioning, individually adjustable central heating, direct dial phone, clock, satellite TV, CD / DVD player, radio, safe deposit box, hair-dryer, fax / modem connection, minibar, electronic security lock and 24 hour-room service. It offers an outdoor swimming pool for adults and children, indoor swimming pool (for a fee) and spa facilities with Jacuzzi, sauna, steam room / Turkish bath, Vichy room, a gym, studio for classes, 4 massage and treatments rooms, physician's office. The nearest golf course is only 10 minutes away and the hotel provides a golf desk and clubs closet. A breakfast buffet is served each morning. Lunch and dinner may be eaten from a buffet or a la carte. The following are all accepted as methods of payment: American Express, MasterCard and VISA. There is a transfer service to Funchal available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Vila Gale Santa Cruz

Address: Rua Nova de Sao Fernando 5, Santa Cruz, Madeira 9100-173, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Santa Cruz
Price Range: $137 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Santa Cruz 4*
Number of rooms: 262
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Prestigia and Travelocity so you can book your Vila Gale Santa Cruz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Santa Cruz Hotel Santa Cruz
Vila Gale Hotel Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Vila Gale
Vila Gale Madeira
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Vila Gale Santa Cruz staff and other travellers.
72 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (72)

Questions? Get answers from Vila Gale Santa Cruz staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Most rooms very nice, many have sea view. 3055 has massive double bed and decent view.”
 of 5 bubbles PandacoBarnsley, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are good but there are some with sea views or pool views!”
 of 5 bubbles 79Mike, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“sea view worthy paying extra”
 of 5 bubbles jandlUk, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Facing the sea”
 of 5 bubbles W5608HJemmam, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms with view to the village or mountain have less privacy if you want to sit on the balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles 83Solo, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5