We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Aqua Oceanfront Resort and Residences at Redonda Bay

Save
Share
1 Redonda Bay, Playa Redonda, Tola 48500 Nicaragua
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Booking.com
US$131
View deal
Free cancellation until 27/01/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
US$140
View deal
Free cancellation until 23/01/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.comUS$182
TravelocityUS$140
StayForLong
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (905)
Room & Suite (332)
Pool & Beach (185)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 21/05/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Aqua Oceanfront Resort and Residences at Redonda Bay
Updated 21/05/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Located in the beautifully wild landscape of Nicaragua’s Pacific “Emerald Coast” with a private white-sand beach, our 44 luxurious treehouse villas dot Aqua’s forested hillside, which overlooks a private, white sandy beach. Some of the Tree House accommodations feature kitchens, and incredible plunge pools that make it difficult to even consider leaving the deck. The lush forest that envelops Aqua is alive with spider and howler monkeys, and a wide variety of colorful tropical birds. Aqua is the perfect spot for a destination wedding, a honeymoon, an active family vacation -- or a serene getaway where you can enjoy nature and one of the most idyllic beaches in Nicaragua. Wellness services such as spa treatments, yoga, and meditation, coupled with fresh and tasty international and Nicaraguan fare in our restaurant and beach bar, create an enjoyable “barefoot luxury” experience for guests. Eco-friendly practices are well ingrained in the Aqua experience, and for those who appreciate and support sustainable, environmentally friendly travel, this is where you want to book. Aqua surpasses the standards and services of other luxury resorts while operating in an environmentally responsible manner. The staff is accommodating and friendly. While Aqua’s peaceful seclusion is perfect for an off-the-grid escape, the resort offers adventure as well: You can hike a 300-foot cliff and rappel down, or learn to surf on neighboring Playa Gigante, both within walking distance of Aqua. If you want to venture out for a day, we can arrange for a boat excursion to one of Nicaragua’s best surf breaks for surfing, or to its deep-sea waters for fishing. Perhaps a round of golf, horseback riding, exploring Nicaragua’s famous lakes and volcanoes, or its colorful colonial city of Granada, just an hour and a half away. When you return to the resort just in time to enjoy a spectacular ocean sunset, you’ll discover why Aqua is Central America’s premier luxury resort.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Rooftop pool
Yoga classes
Bar / lounge
Beach
Boating
Books, DVDs, music for children
Valet parking
Wifi
Pool with view
Private pool
Plunge pool
Yoga room
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Canoeing
Diving
Hiking
Horseback riding
Snorkelling
Water sport equipment rentals
Windsurfing
Aerobics
Bicycle tours
Canoeing offsite
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Patio
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hammam
Hand massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Massage chair
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
Waxing services
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
Doorperson
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Additional bathroom
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Dining area
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Safe
Seating area
Separate living room
Sofa
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Chinese and 3 more
795Reviews27Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 491
  • 160
  • 65
  • 33
  • 46
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Nica L wrote a review 12 Jan
Massachusetts2 contributions1 helpful vote
Great resort for American families. Staff is super helpful, speaks English and unlike other resorts we have visited smiles and truly cares about the guests. The villas are well appointed and beach is spectacular with kayaks, comfortable lounge furniture and the beach bar with nightly bonfire and live entertainment. We will definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
robertjbh wrote a review Dec 2021
17 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
Aqua is fantastic. The setting is mind-blowing. It sits within a large tract of coastal tropical dry forest teeming with wildlife such as howler monkeys, raccoons, iguanas, hummingbirds, butterflies, raptors and all sort of other birds and animals. Word of warning though, if you are an wildlife enthusiast like me, DO NOT BRING BINOCULARS TO NICARAGUA. Customs will confiscate them on arrival and it is extremely difficult to get them back. The villas and cabins at Aqua sit on pillars within this forest so you feel immersed in nature, secluded (from the outside world and other guests) and there is a very tranquil atmosphere. The exception to this was the Friday and Saturday nights we were there, when there were a couple of weddings with loud, amplified music, though not so loud that we couldn't sleep. The beach at the bottom of the resort is just as beautiful as it appears in pictures, is clean, peaceful and great for swimming etc. There's plenty of wildlife to see from the beach too, including pelicans, vultures, frigate birds, hermit crabs and of course turtles (depending on hatching dates). There was a turtle hatch out while we were there. This was so special and memorable. I was really impressed with how the general manager and security team sprung into action to collect the baby turtles so that they didn't get lost on the rocks and could be released further down the beach.  I would, however, suggest that if possible they try to find a way to minimise light sources on the beach during evenings when turtles are hatching as they are confused and misdirected by the lights. The cabins and grounds are well-kept so everything is neat, tidy and clean and there is absolutely minimal contact with less desirable creepy-crawlies, which is particularly impressive given the natural setting. There are plenty of activities. Horseriding over to Gigante was good fun, massages in the spa were excellent and very good value and private yoga lessons on the deck were superb. The food at the beach bar was delicious and reasonably priced given the quality and the fact that they have a monopoly on the location. I have been to hotels where you feel they are exploring their 'captive' audience - this was definitely not the case at Aqua. The staff were all extremely polite, friendly and helpful (as with pretty much everyone we came across in Nicaragua). Communication from the front desk was a little sporadic - sometimes very responsive and proactive, sometimes requiring follow up from us. This didn't compromise our enjoyment of our stay though, and all the desk staff were very nice like everyone else. The final thing to say us that Aqua is absolutely incredible value. As far as a can tell the offer is comparable to other places in Nicaragua and Costa Rica that charge twice or three times the nightly rate, or the same as places where the experience couldn't possibly match that at Aqua. Thanks again for a wonderful stay!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Aqua Reservations, Ventas at Aqua Oceanfront Resort and Residences at Redonda Bay
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Robert, Thank you for choosing Aqua Oceanfront Resort for your getaway in the Emerald Coast. We’re glad we were able to accommodate you. I know your time is valuable and it means a lot that you took your time to share your experience and feedback with us, we are glad that you had a great time and we really appreciate when customers like you share their Aqua Experience with the world. We are sorry about your binoculars and the complicated process to get them back from customs; we know how important and valuable they are for you. Your comments will be shared with the team and taking in consideration in our efforts to continue working for the excellence in customer service. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future! Aqua Team
Read more
cfrenz2015 wrote a review Nov 2021
New York City, New York30 contributions13 helpful votes
Myself and 7 friends went down for a 4 night stay at Aqua and had a fantastic time - the staff could not have been more friendly, including the GM Martin. Aqua does a great job with nightly activities on the weekend, including live music on Saturday's and a fire pit with marshmallow roasting a few days of the week. The accommodations were great - both of ours (Kinkajou and Yucca) had private pools and multiple bedrooms. The AC worked fantastic as well in the bedrooms which was a big plus. Aqua offers on-site activities which included a hike to the top of a nearby mountain that the group very much enjoyed. Additionally they set up a number of other activities including deep sea fishing, spa treatments (everyone in the group raved about them), and a private beach dinner. I would recommend Aqua to anyone traveling to the area and look forward to making it back, hopefully sometime soon!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Aqua Reservations, Ventas at Aqua Oceanfront Resort and Residences at Redonda Bay
Responded 10 Nov 2021
Dear valued customer Thank you for sharing your positive feedback regarding your stay at Aqua Oceanfront Resort and kind words for the team. We are glad that we were able to accommodate you and delighted to hear that you and the rest of the group enjoyed your stay with us. We also appreciate sharing your experience with the world and we are looking forward to welcoming you soon again, Sincerely Sales & Marketing Officer
Read more
ayalagalilea wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
The only thing it is that the people staying next to us was in our pool at noon and it was suppose to be private and because privacy and all the COVID-19 situation and we were with our baby we didn’t like that, I think that u should consider like a fence for the rooms with pool to avoid that besides that all perfect
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Aqua Reservations, Ventas at Aqua Oceanfront Resort and Residences at Redonda Bay
Responded 10 Nov 2021
Dear valued guest We are glad we were able to accommodate you, we understand your concerns, we appreciate your feedback and will definitely look into it. We hope you have a better experience in your future visit. Kind regards Aqua Team
Read more
Nae wrote a review Oct 2021
7 contributions3 helpful votes
So I did a thing. I stayed in the jungle @aquaoceanfrontresort. Definitely an experience that I didn’t know I needed. The staff was super friendly and helpful, the food was delicious. The spa services 🔥🔥🔥. My massage was amazing, I took a nap. And my mani and pedi were bomb. The view while getting your services are absolutely breathtaking. Getting to the restaurant depending on which Treehouse you stay in can be a bit, but overall definitely would go again. You can literally walk to another town if you want 25 minutes or less. If you’re looking to try something new I promise you’ll enjoy it there.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Bringing comfy shoes and for the walk to the restaurant.
See more room tips
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Aqua Reservations, Ventas at Aqua Oceanfront Resort and Residences at Redonda Bay
Responded 29 Oct 2021
Dear queennae92, , Thank you for choosing Aqua Oceanfront Resort for your vacations and for taking the time to write a review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your accommodation, as well as the natural environment of the property. the Spa services and also Im glad you enjoyed the Coconuts Beach Bar & Grill service. Our hotel aims to provide a truly unique experience, and we are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future. Sincerely, Aqua Team!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$115 - US$169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
aqua wellness hotel playa gigante
LOCATION
NicaraguaRivas DepartmentTolaPlaya Redonda
NUMBER OF ROOMS
50
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Aqua Oceanfront Resort and Residences at Redonda Bay
Which popular attractions are close to Aqua Oceanfront Resort and Residences at Redonda Bay?
Nearby attractions include Playa Redonda (0.04 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Aqua Oceanfront Resort and Residences at Redonda Bay?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Aqua Oceanfront Resort and Residences at Redonda Bay?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Aqua Oceanfront Resort and Residences at Redonda Bay?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Aqua Oceanfront Resort and Residences at Redonda Bay?
Yes, free parking, secured parking, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Aqua Oceanfront Resort and Residences at Redonda Bay?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pili's Kitchen, Casa Ananas, and Restaurante Casa Maderas.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Aqua Oceanfront Resort and Residences at Redonda Bay?
Yes, guests have access to a rooftop pool, fitness classes, and yoga classes during their stay.
Does Aqua Oceanfront Resort and Residences at Redonda Bay have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Aqua Oceanfront Resort and Residences at Redonda Bay offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Aqua Oceanfront Resort and Residences at Redonda Bay have airport transportation?
Yes, Aqua Oceanfront Resort and Residences at Redonda Bay offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Aqua Oceanfront Resort and Residences at Redonda Bay located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.03 km away from the centre of Playa Redonda.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Aqua Oceanfront Resort and Residences at Redonda Bay?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, Italian, Chinese, Portuguese, and Hebrew.