We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ye Olde Fighting Cocks

570 reviews
Save
Traveller (141)
Room & Suite (60)
Dining (11)
Overview
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good27%
  • Average9%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“the pub”(94 reviews)
“quiz night”(8 reviews)
Free Internet
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Pets Allowed
4.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (570)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for Ye Olde Fighting Cocks
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
564 results
Traveller rating
342
153
53
9
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
342
153
53
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstony and jeanettethe pubquiz nightcartmel racesconverted barnfull englishbreakfast roommain buildingmorecambe baychristmas dinnerdressing gownsleighton mossfree upgradeestuary roomcooked breakfastlake districtbeer garden
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
51 - 55 of 564 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights with my husband & friends. My birthday break. We received a warm welcome from Tony the manager. We arrived a little early & Tony advised that one of the rooms wasn't quite ready but we were able to sit &...More

Thank Jo B
Response from TONY K, Owner at Ye Olde Fighting CocksResponded 12 June 2017

Many thanks for leaving us a review about your stay with us. I am pleased you enjoyed our new improved breakfast. The rooms do have great views and have benefited from recent upgrades We look forward to seeing you again soon

Reviewed 5 June 2017

We have stayed at the Fighting Cocks three times now over the years and situated just a few minutes walk from Arnside train station is a perfect location. It has changed hands in that time but thankfully the experience has remained the same. We have...More

5  Thank Baggy1972
Response from TONY K, Owner at Ye Olde Fighting CocksResponded 12 June 2017

Many thanks for leaving us a review about your stay with us. I have owned Ye Olde Fighting Cocks for 5 years and hope the improvement meet with your approval I am pleased you enjoyed our new improved breakfast. The rooms do have great views...More

Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

We visited Arnside and popped in for lunch. We ordered the fish pie and chicken & prawn linguine, which cost around £12-14 each. The pie was delicious, and good choice of accompanying veg. Decent portion size too. The linguine was on the specials again great...More

Thank Angie M
Response from TONY K, Owner at Ye Olde Fighting CocksResponded 12 June 2017

Many thanks for leaving us a review about your meal with us. I am pleased you enjoyed our new improved menu and our food offering. I have noted your comments about the E cig and will investigate this as it is tottly unacceptable. We look...More

Reviewed 2 June 2017

Check in was swift and friendly. the room, Cartmel in the Crown Barn was tidy, with a lovely wet room. Breakfast was nice with different coffee machines, juice, fruit, yogurts, then a full English. Great views across the bay. A good stay would go there...More

2  Thank claire s
Response from TONY K, Owner at Ye Olde Fighting CocksResponded 12 June 2017

Many thanks for leaving us a review about your stay with us. I am pleased you enjoyed our new improved breakfast. The rooms do have great views and have benefited from recent upgrades We look forward to seeing you again soon

Reviewed 1 June 2017

We only stayed for 2 nights as we were visiting Cartmel races. When we checked in we were given a free upgrade to a suite which was in the barn conversion behind the main building. The room was very nice and spacious with a lovely...More

1  Thank Louwilk24
Response from TONY K, Owner at Ye Olde Fighting CocksResponded 2 June 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am pleased you enjoyed our new beds put in only a few weeks ago, and the great views from the rooms, Arnside is a great place, and again I am pleased you enjoyed our...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
1910111213113
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Free Internet
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$65 - US$163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$65 - US$163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (141)
Room & Suite (60)
Dining (11)
Pool & Beach (5)
Family and Play Areas (3)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Jack D
19 July 2017|
Answer
Response from TheMaleys | Reviewed this property |
As a family who have visited a number of times when in the area, we've never come across a hotelier who is more helpful and thoughtful of customer care, always takes time to talk to everyone and just wants to ensure your... More
-1
Votes
Keith T
10 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from Mark A | Reviewed this property |
hi. the pub its self has a good restaraunt and simple bar meals. another pub is in walking distanst and a cafe. if u use the train to go grange 15mins. theres lots of choice. and theres lots to see . the ye old fighting... More
2
Votes
drpimento
27 May 2015|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from HRHII | Reviewed this property |
Can't tell you about the history, sorry! I'm just a regular visitor up there. I an say it is well worth staying over for a night or two! The location is superb and if you get one of the rooms on the front, you have a... More
0
Votes
PreviousNext
12
Room Tips
"ask for a room with a view of the estuary and mountains"
Read review
"As we wanted to keep eye on Car and had the dag with us the appartment at the rear overlooking car park was..."
Read review
"Rooms at the front have an amazing view"
Read review
"nice few over the rivermouth"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing