We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"}}
Add Photo Write a Review

191 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 187: English reviews
Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed 4 nights in room 277 and was impressed with the tastefully decorated 4 sleeper. We were surprised that there was a kitchenette which had the basic the necessities. Tea ,coffee, toiletries etc was refilled everyday. Enjoyed breakfast. Check-in /out was hassle free. Will definitely book there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sandranM112UE
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville, responded to this review

Dear SandranM112UE, Words cannot express our gratitude enough on your amazing review! We are sure to pass on your kind words to the rest of the TEAM. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards Albert Smit General Manager

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Dirty rooms, was in room 288, worst room ever, staff talking on top of their voices at 12 midnight. Steps not swept in the 5 nights we were there. Breakfast below average, flies flying all over the food, waited 30 minutes for a cappuccino, staff could not even poach eggs, was served overcooked poached eggs with broken yolks.... Pool area...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gugu M
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville, responded to this review

Dear Gugu, Thank you for for taking the time to provide us with constructive feedback in order to enhance our GUEST experiences. You can be assured that we will take the above mentioned feedback will be taken up seriously and acted swiftly upon. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience caused. Kind Regards Albert Smit General Manager

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A very average place to stay which belies the rating which is extremely gratuitous for what is on offer! The hotel seems to be more attuned to local sporting activities! Restaraunt service is below par and rooms face a very noisy outside area frequented by non hotel guests '

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tony_rolo
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville, responded to this review

Dear Tony_Rob, Thank you for taking the time to review Protea Hotel by Marriott Durbanville, Kind Regards Albert Smit General Manager

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked a one night stay for my partners birthday, total disaster from the moment we walked up to the reception desk. "no rooms are available" are not the words you want to hear when you arrive at the hotel which you have already been charged to stay at for the night. After hearing this we were asked to wait as...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Abbie M
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville, responded to this review

Dear Mr Abbie Scott, Thank you for constructively bringing the above mentioned to our attention. We wish to humbly apologies for the inconvenience you and your partner experienced on the 1st of January 2017. We pledge to provide the finest personal service by anticipating, meeting and exceeding GUEST expectations. It saddens me to hear that we did not come close...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stay at the Protea Durbanville often so its fair to say I can comment on the Hotel. The staff have fantastic name recognition for me and the food and beverage team are always great at remembering my order and what I like for breakfast. The GM Albert is good at checking how my stay is. I personally prefer Durbanville...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wzvk
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville, responded to this review

Dear Wzvk, Thank you for your gracious review. we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards Albert Smit General Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Booked in for 6 nights.great rooms/kitchen/showers.however , the service of cleaning the rooms was bad.no towels replaced no dishes washed and no coffee top up. "HATS OF" to i would asume the manager YOHAN.he came to the rescue at 10pm to replace the towels and top up what ever needed to be.he was extremly helpfull.another recomndation would be the breakfast.dispointing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eb786Mariam
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville, responded to this review

Dear Eb786Mariam, Thank you for taking the time to review Protea Hotel by Marriott Durbanville, we wish to apologies for the inconvenience our housekeeping department caused during the stay. We are sure to congratulate Johan on his fantastic service. Kind Regards Albert Smit General Manager

Montagu, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Nice hotel in the middle of the city. Who can believe you. Very country side surroundings you feel at home. Niceaffordable accomodation. The staff very good. You feel straight at home. I will go back and back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carl C
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville, responded to this review

Dear Carl, Thank you for your kind review! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards Albert Smit General Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a great little hotel situated on the edge of a vineyard. The rooms are more like self-contained apartments with a kitchenette. Overall the rooms are very spacious with good facilities. The shower room was massive with a double shower. The only negative point about the room was that the TV is situated in the lounge area so you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon B
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville, responded to this review

Dear Simon Thank you for taking the time to complete the trip advisor review and to write down your additional positive feedback after your recent stay with us at Protea Hotel by Marriott Durbanville. I am delighted to hear that the STAFF were so friendly and efficient. GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that we are meeting and...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

What an amazing evening! Parents thoroughly enjoyed their 28th wedding anniversary. The Food was nothing short of excellent! Accompanied by an amazing view. 5* service yet again. Well done Albert and team!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hectic89
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville, responded to this review

Dear hectic89, Thank you for your kind words, we are sure to pass your message onto the TEAM. We look forward to welcoming you for the 3rd stay! Kind Regards Albert Smit GM

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

To Albert and staff , thank you for your hospitality!! Upon check Inn, Ashley Pillay and his Team assisted us and gave us a warm welcome .Ashley went out of his way an made our stay enjoyably. Loved the room ! Pizza was excellent. House Keeping has the most helpful and very friendly . Thank you !!! Leoni Olkers

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _leoniolkers55
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville, responded to this review

Dear Leoni, Thank you for your kind words! It is always a pleasure to host you and your loved ones at Protea Hotel by Marriott Durbanville. We will pass on your message to the TEAM and look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards Albert Smit General Manager

269 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (67)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (202)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (70)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Dining (44)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (32)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durbanville
18.0 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
23.1 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#68 of 106 in Cape Town Central
286 reviews
20.4 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#55 of 106 in Cape Town Central
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#47 of 106 in Cape Town Central
688 reviews
4.2 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Tyger Valley
11.9 km away
African Pride Crystal Towers Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled amongst the vineyards of the Durbanville Wine Route, Protea Hotel Durbanville is the ideal venue for business trips, conferences, training and team building, or simply a relaxed base from which to explore the region. The hotel boasts Standard and Deluxe rooms offering extra-length king size beds, en-suite bathroom with shower and bath, executive desk with multiple electrical points, air conditioning, tea/coffee facilities, LCD flat screen TV with USB port and mini bar fridges. You are spoilt for choice as Protea Hotel Durbanville also offers one or two-bedroom apartments ideal for families, long stays or sharing business people. The apartments offer a kitchenette, luxurious lounge and private en-suite bathroom with double shower. For your convenience, the hotel also offers 11-hour room service and a complimentary shuttle service to the main office parks and shopping centres in the area. Protea Hotel Durbanville’s conference facilities are custom built to provide you with a professional and seamless event experience, with a touch of the extraordinary. Complimentary Wi-Fi broadband internet access is available throughout the hotel and conference venues while the 24-hour business alcove includes PC access and printing facilities. Add into the mix a funky pool terrace area serving the best wood-fired pizzas around, a relaxed restaurant and a warm and vibey bar lounge, perfect for after work or pre-dinner drinks. The hotel is surrounded by D’Aria Wine Estate’s award-winning vineyards and the Durbanville wine route offers an excellent choice of restaurants and wine tasting venues. Adjacent to the Magic Forest walking and mountain bike trail, the hotel is perfect for the energetic types. The area is a shopping Mecca boasting the renowned Tyger Valley and Willowbridge Shopping Centres close by. If it’s nightlife you are after, the buzzing Tyger Valley Waterfront and Edward Street will keep you entertained with cocktails and music. For those travelling with the family, there are many attractions to keep everyone busy. Protea Hotel Durbanville – Value Beyond Expectation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville

Address: 99 Jip de Jager Drive, Vineyards Office Estate | Tyger Valley, Durbanville 7530, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Durbanville
Price Range: $120 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Marriott and Booking.com so you can book your Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“make sure you are given the room you paid for.”
 of 5 bubbles 836abbiem, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“No comment”
 of 5 bubbles JeanArnall, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room overlooking the vineyards not the other rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles R8650WRpatriciar, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If the weather is conducive, you really need to enjoy the poolside with a lovely wood-fired pizzeria right next door.”
 of 5 bubbles AkiJohannesburg, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“North facing rooms has excellent views.”
 of 5 bubbles Jansteve_12, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay