We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Kings Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Kings Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

423 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Kings Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 423: English reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile

Shocking hotel do not stay here!! No running water or flushable toilet - staff indifferent to issues. Generally run down and decor in a poor state. Food moderate but overpriced for the quality. Rooms shabby and in a poor state. Bathrooms similarly old and in need of significant investment.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon R
Jo B, General Manager at The Kings Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are very sorry that your recent stay was affected by the water issues we experienced at the hotel. Unfortunatley, this was a Thames Water matter out of our hands which took some time to fix hence our staff were not able to give immediate reasons for the lack of water. We can assure you that the issue...

Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile

We had Sunday lunch at the King's hotel a party of 13.. The head barman I presume took our food and drink orders he was a very nice fella with good sense of humour and excellent with the children, but we were concerned as we rolled out food and drink requests one after the other and he quipped and joked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James F
Amersham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Went to my friends wedding on the Friday,absolutely lovely, staff great,wedding breakfast delicious, hotel dj the best.Stayed the night with my partner and most of wedding party.our room lovely and clean.Breakfast was good buffet style good selection could of been hotter though.staff friendly.really enjoyed my stay,will definitely be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heritage51
Dorset
Reviewed 19 September 2016

Stayed here for 3 nights for a wedding The frontage is very impressive as the hotel has lots of history and is very old but alas so is the interior,which is tired and needs some revamping. The check-in was ok as we arrived quite late at night The lift is very small and will only take 1 person with luggage,2...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank poolehornet
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 September 2016

We were at the hotel for my sons wedding.The staff were exceptional and went out of their way to make sure that the wedding went well.The wedding planner was lovely ,as were all the servers and bar staff.They were especially good with the children .Food was nice, hotel was very clean,if a little worn Brighter colours of soft furnishings would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dav1063
Buckinghamshire
Reviewed 16 September 2016

I have been staying at the Kings hotel this week on business.I like other guests had the problem with water shortage emergency (worst nightmare) I can only praise the entire staff & owner who all went over &above & beyond the call of duty to make my stay as comfortable as possible(Thank you) I think the blame lies with Thames...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colin C
Weymouth
Reviewed 15 September 2016

This hotel is wanting a big make over. The stonework, windows etc are in a poor state of repair, sash windows look pretty rotten, I'm surprised they are still in the frames. All the room I saw were pretty small, and thats after paying for a superior room, couldn't swing a cat around. Problems with the water supply a load...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tedtoop
Reviewed 15 September 2016

Stayed here overnight for a 2 day business meeting, the staff were friendly and polite. At lunchtime on the first day we were told there was a problem with the water in some of the guests room but it was being taken care of & water would be restored by the afternoon but if it wasn't the hotel would find...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anon2335
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 September 2016

We stayed here as part of a two day training course. The hotel was having issues with water supply and the way they handled it was appalling. The hotel had lost water meaning all the bathrooms on the second floor were out of action on Monday. We arrived on Tuesday and they had made no effort to let us know...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eyates2016
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

My husband and I spent two nights here to celebrate our wedding anniversary, room was clean, comfortable and adequate for our needs. The staff were warm, friendly and very attentive. The food was very nice (best seared scallops I've had) the bar was very reasonably priced, and we enjoyed our stay, and would visit again. Thanks guys! Maggie & Paul.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank margaret m

53 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stokenchurch
4.1 km away
The Lambert Hotel
The Lambert Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lewknor
539 reviews
15.5 km away
Premier Inn High Wycombe / Beaconsfield Hotel
2.6 km away
The Fox Country Inn
The Fox Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Ibstone
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 km away
Premier Inn High Wycombe Central Hotel
9.7 km away
Ambassador Court Hotel
Ambassador Court Hotel
#3 of 17 in High Wycombe
58 reviews
13.2 km away
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about The Kings Hotel

Address: Oxford Road, Stokenchurch, High Wycombe HP14 3TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > High Wycombe > Stokenchurch
Price Range: $116 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Kings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Kings Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
9 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Kings Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were in a side room and this was ideal for a family get together.”
 of 5 bubbles tjthomas1504, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“At the front of the hotel is on the main road but not overly noisy.Some in rooms at the back disturbed by the noise made by the boilers”
 of 5 bubbles dav1063, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Talk to the manager who is very understanding & helpful”
 of 5 bubbles ColinC620, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Not sure there were any good rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles tedtoop, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Our room had windows you could actually open!!! And air con,”
 of 5 bubbles piggypi, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay