We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ueno Touganeya Hotel

Rakuten TravelUS$78*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Professional photos
Ueno Touganeya Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

442 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ueno Touganeya Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 261: English reviews
Spa, Belgium
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We chose this hotel because of the reasonable price, and based on its location. the room were indeed very small, but you get the square meters you pay for... They also have bunk beds, which is a good solution for teenagers having to share a room, and will not sleep in the same 1.4m wide double bed... overall, the place...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lefthander70
TouganeyaHotel, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Ueno Touganeya Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for staying at our hotel and taking your time to write the review. We are glad to hear that you found our hotel is conveniently located and it is without noise annoyance. Thank you for having breakfast. We provide three kinds of fish for breakfast and we change it from day to day. It is pleasing...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stayed here with my husband coming back through Tokyo during a two week tour. The room is comfortable but small. Don't expect to have any extra space. The staff here was extremely helpful. They spoke great English and they talked us through directions for multiple locations. Would gladly stay here again!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TheFriz11
TouganeyaHotel, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Ueno Touganeya Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for staying at our hotel for part of you travel. It is good to hear that our staff was helpful during your stay. We will try to offer the best service as much as possible. Thank you again for saying that you will come back to our hotel. We look forward to seeing you next time.

Manama, Bahrain
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a small but functional room that has all the essentials we need in a hotel. More importantly, the room was clean, especially the bathroom. The bed was a bit small though for a double room. The staff were friendly, speak good English and were always happy to help. They tidied our room everyday even without us asking...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HaideeTravel
TouganeyaHotel, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Ueno Touganeya Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for staying at our hotel and taking your time to write a review. It is pleasing to read that you had a good impression of the room and enjoyed having a conversation with our staff. We are also pleased to hear that you spent a good time around Ueno. Our staff looks forward to seeing you...

Cairns
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This was our 5th trip to Tokyo with my husband and 7yr old and we have stayed in various spots in Tokyo in the past. It can be very difficult to get a triple room in Tokyo at a reasonable price so we found a gem. We booked the family room with 2 x singles and bunk beds and a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank MrsLatts
TouganeyaHotel, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Ueno Touganeya Hotel, responded to this review

We are honored to hear your last sentence and that you said our hotel is a gem. Thank you very much for such an in-depth review. We are glad to hear that you felt the room was clean and you had a good sleep during your stay. It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed some places around Ueno. We...

Annapolis, Maryland
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The Touganeya hotel is clean, inexpensive, and the staff are extremely helpful and friendly. This is one of my two most preferred hotels in the Ueno area, and I would not hesitate to book with them again. I notice some people have complained about the size of the rooms, but I think most travelers are simply not aware that small...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kelly T
TouganeyaHotel, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Ueno Touganeya Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the continued support of Touganeya. We are pleased to hear that the reason why you chose to our hotel. Our staff will continue to provide preferable points to meet guests' expectations. We are also glad to hear that you found our hotel is conveniently located and provided equipment was helpful for you. Thank you again...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 13 July 2014

As the other reviews reflect, this hotel is in a convenient location for hopping on to the train. Although the rooms were small (we had two double rooms for our family of four) it was pleasantly appointed and comfortable, clean and neat. Good spot for a base to travel from. The area at night didn't feel quite as safe as...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Belinda_Japan2014
TouganeyaHotel, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Ueno Touganeya Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for staying at our hotel. We appreciate that you chose to book double rooms although family rooms were not available at that time. We are pleased to hear that you gave us some good comments about for the rooms. Our staff looks forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Bogota, Colombia
Reviewed 10 July 2014

As always, Japanese people very kind and helpful. Cozy and safe place, very clean and it had everything we needed to be comfortable. It´s very close to Ueno Station (it really helps!!), Ueno Zoo, many stores and nice sushi restaurants.

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank William T
TouganeyaHotel, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Ueno Touganeya Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel from among many other hotels. We are glad to hear that you felt everything was comfortable. We look forward to your next visit and our staff would like to continue to provide helpful information.

Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I had a chance to visit Tokyo and stay with Ueno-Touganeya Hotel for 5 Nights (15 - 20 June 2014). I'm very impressive since the reservation process. Mr.Takuya is very very good staff. He always recommend and updated us all the time since reservation process till checking-out. The hotel is not so big but full of happiness. We got the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Mark-Peerapon
TouganeyaHotel, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Ueno Touganeya Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying at our hotel and giving us feed back. Thank you for inquiring by email before your arrival and it helped us serve you better. We are very glad to hear that our staff was helpful and made your stay more convenient. We sincerely appreciate that you will consider coming back again and recommend our...

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 13 June 2014

When we were booking hotel in Tokyo, we chose between location and standard, we chose location. The room we got was one of the smallest we've ever stayed in,but hey, you have the room to sleep in. Not the most luxurious room but it had a fridge. Cleaning was good but the shower curtain was in need of washing. If...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank DIF1891
TouganeyaHotel, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Ueno Touganeya Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel. As you wrote ,our hotel has been liked by a lot of people for the convenient location. Our staff has taken note of your comment about the shower curtain. We should have checked our rooms more carefully and we will try to improve cleanliness for our rooms. Thank you again for taking...

Paris, France
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This business hotel is very practical close the Ueno station and you have everything in this area: restaurantn supermarket, shopping etc... the service in this hotel is very good but the room is small, if you choose double room is more a single room. The bed is extremely small and you cannot sleep very well..anyway i recommand a big room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank monique c
TouganeyaHotel, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Ueno Touganeya Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the review. We are sorry that your room did not meet your expectations. As you wrote ,we have some big rooms so please try it next time. Our staff sincerely appreciates that you said our service was good. We look forward to welcoming you back.

478 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (219)
Viewed
Room/Suite (54)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (81)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (240)
Viewed
Amenities (5)
Viewed
Bunk Bed Twin Room (39)
Viewed
Family Room (55)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (44)
Viewed
Twin Room (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taito hotels
Ueno, Asakusa
Mitsui Garden Hotel Ueno
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Sardonyx Ueno
Hotel Sardonyx Ueno
#18 of 120 in Taito
286 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Mystays Ueno Inaricho
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Ueno Hotel
Ueno Hotel
#26 of 120 in Taito
200 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
APA Hotel Keisei Ueno Ekimae
Ueno, Asakusa
HOTEL MYSTAYS Ueno East
HOTEL MYSTAYS Ueno East
#42 of 120 in Taito
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Ueno, Asakusa

Neighbourhood Profile
Ueno, Asakusa
Traces of the history and culture of the Edo (old Tokyo) era remain vividly in Ueno and Asakusa. Spacious Ueno Park is a great place to relax and visit a variety of different museums and galleries. At Ameyoko which starts in front of Ueno station, the grocery stores and clothing shops are crammed alongside fishmongers. It gets particularly busy at the end of the year, when many people go on shopping sprees. The town of Asakusa, developed around Sensoji temple, has many shops selling goods and clothing from old Japan, making it a great place for souvenir hunting. It's also known for various annual festivals, and the whole district gets involved with the huge Sanja Festival in May.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Free Wi-Fi in all rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ueno Touganeya Hotel

Address: 3-17-5 Higashi-Ueno, Taito 110-0015, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Price Range: $102 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ueno Touganeya Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Rakuten, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ueno Touganeya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Touganeya Hotel Taito
Ueno Touganeya Hotel Tokyo, Japan
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Taito
#5 Best Value Hotel in Taito
#5 Romantic Hotel in Taito
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ueno Touganeya Hotel staff and other travellers.
29 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (29)

Questions? Get answers from Ueno Touganeya Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in a corner room with a double bed”
hwchew18, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“They provide free wifi but the room at the corner will receive low signal”
IttoWasok, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“For families, request for a family rooms. It comes with bunk beds and two full beds. Very comfortable.”
DirectorofOps400, 25 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you get a non smoking room!”
ashpe, 8 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Do your map referencing before you get here as it's not so easy to find the first time.”
AlanS656, 1 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Rakuten Travel
US$78* /night
View Deal
Booking.com
Hostelworld.com
Orbitz.com
View all 14 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates